Week 3 - 17th to 23th May 2004

• Replies 115

Tangs are not for new tanks as they are poop machines. If your tank can't cope with their waste breakdown you might be facing ammonia spike. That's one reason why I am tangless. I fear their poop. :rolleyes:

hmm... so far my tank still not too heavily stocked.... although I got quite a few fishes, but am using a H&S rated for 850L while my tank only 400L, izit okay? plus my fishes all damn small.... the biggest is only my YT about 2.5"... will it be okay for the AT? Only thing is dat my tank 3 feet... :)

Vincent Ho :thanks:

Think 3ft is too small. Tangs need alot of space. Your AT might get along with the YT at first. The problem will only arise when both grow in size and one starts becoming dominant. That is when the territorial disputes will become more serious.

anybody saw small size kole tangs around?

Me looking too... Thkz...

JS & Terryz,

just got my Kole Tang @ LCK 110 earlier 2day. there r still 2 left when i got the third 1. size iz ard 2.5" in size. veri nice coloration. veri dark brown.

Think 3ft is too small. Tangs need alot of space. Your AT might get along with the YT at first. The problem will only arise when both grow in size and one starts becoming dominant. That is when the territorial disputes will become more serious.

u mean after they have been friends for a few months, they'll start fighting meh??

basically all tangs are tough to keep, especially the surgeonfishes as they do not have scales like purple tangs....

AT is not especially difficult compared to powder blue and regal blue, but they are more expensive....other tangs are also not recommended for new tanks....but since AT is expensive, the more it is a NO-NO for new tanks....

Agree... Or you sell away your YT to have AT lor...

Aiyoh, dun like selling my LS, especially this YT, I had a for a while, always swimming so happily, see liao also shiok.... plus the fella very healthy, no whitespots problems at all... how to sell??? I rather forgo the AT.... :(

But in any case, if I add a small Chevron Tang can? Very keen to get one... more than the AT... :)

Vincent Ho

u mean after they have been friends for a few months, they'll start fighting meh??

RAV...your H&S is defintely good enough.....maybe u might wanna keep at most 2 tangs?? as recommended for my 3 X 1.5X2 (height) tank....

but i have seen small tanks with many tangs b4...my bro-in-law has a 2ft cube tank, running on lousy queen skimmer, he has sailfin,regal blue,and i think a purple tank....in tip top condition....

Aiyoh, dun like selling my LS, especially this YT, I had a for a while, always swimming so happily, see liao also shiok.... plus the fella very healthy, no whitespots problems at all... how to sell??? I rather forgo the AT.... :(

But in any case, if I add a small Chevron Tang can? Very keen to get one... more than the AT... :)

Vincent Ho

RAV-65,

CHERVON??? lagi more expensive lah... average price of a Chevy iz ard S$100~120. so how many time can u replace when it goez 2 heaven??? moreover, the smaller/younger the size, the harder the survival rate.

They might...especially if they are still growing. I have had a bad experience last time. My old 4ftX18inchX15inch. Kept 3 blue tangs before..each one around 4-5cm. All got along fine for 1-2 months. After that one of them turn crazy and hunted the other 2 down. Basically chewed them to death while the frightened fellows were being cornered. :blink: Maybe cause they belong to same species? Not sure if different species will have such a level of aggression.

RAV-65,

CHERVON??? lagi more expensive lah... average price of a Chevy iz ard S$100~120. so how many time can u replace when it goez 2 heaven??? moreover, the smaller/younger the size, the harder the survival rate.

of coz dun wan to keep replacing them lah, dat's why I'm trying to find out if i can keep maybe 2-3 tangs in my 3x2x2 tank... :) I tot Chevron about the same price as AT.... :(

Hmm... guess after all the advise, i should keep my YT and juz get another Chevron Tang... guess should be okay.... lucky thing decided to break the bank when I bought my H&S..... Hopefully the hippo tang i have now ( about 1.5" ) dun grow too big too fast.... Planning to have a 6-8 feet tank in the future, so maybe den I'll get the AT... :)

hahhaa...tell me about breaking piggy bank....i almost broke into a bank and rob them....hahahahah

of coz dun wan to keep replacing them lah, dat's why I'm trying to find out if i can keep maybe 2-3 tangs in my 3x2x2 tank... :) I tot Chevron about the same price as AT.... :(

bro RAV-65,

Chevy cost more den a AT coz it iz more rarely found. norm u will c LFS/LFF brin'z in abt 1 or 2 @ a time only unlike AT where they will ###### in a larger number.

Chevy price iz above the S$100 price pt but do come acrozz some LFS sellin' @ S$80 b4. duno if their source iz cheaper or the LS iz not in a healthy stage. anyway, Coral Farm price 4 the Chevy iz @ S$178 - 20% discount, much higher den otherz but of coz the survival rate oso increase by 40~50% az their fishez r alwayz in the the pink of health lah

hahhaa...tell me about breaking piggy bank....i almost broke into a bank and rob them....hahahahah

Wah, no need so drastic lah bro.... u building a 12x8x3 tank meh???? better if you just stand in the queue at the ATM waiting for people to withdraw $$$ den u snatch and run!!! :D:D:D

Vincent Ho

Anyone has pics of the blue lollipop tunicate available at ML? Tempted to go down..but this week rather broke.  :rolleyes:

Was at ML. Did not notice the blue lollipop tunicate. Maybe I was not observent enough. Saw the sea hare nudi, look very cute but in the end never get cos afraid that it'll climb and be be stuck in my PH. :nuke:

ok.. irwanna only got a few? :(

Aiyo...if you are going all the way to iwarna, you can go to Pacxxx Marxxx too.

Pacxxx Marxxx is just 5 min from Iwarna. :lol:

Saw a lot of yellow tang at Pacxxx Marxxx.

There are also a few at ####