yellow wrasse died :(

shiraz

help guys, i bought a yellow wrasse from hong leong and when it was in the bag, it was very active... i think it was too active! is this a sign of stress? i acclimated the fella and put it in the tank after awhile. The moment i put it in the tank, it darted to all the corners and suddenly stopped swimming in the middle of the tank n sank to the bottom :( when i looked at it closer, it was breathing very fast as if it's gonna die... wah like the fish kenna heart attack like that suddenly stop swimming! :blink: now it's lying near some rocks not moving... hmmm any1 experienced the same thing? any1 knows y? was it due to stress or wad? thanks. :cry:

you must have over stress the fish.

I suspect you throw it down immediate you reach home

Am i right?

poor fish ...... :cry::cry2::cry2:

dino07.gif

Most probably stress related ... sorry buddy...

These are some guidelines I read, it should include, but not limited to:

Try avoid buying inactive fish or for that matter, also one that seem may be a little too 'hopped-up'.

When they're bagged, make sure they get a good amount of air into keep the water aerated as long as it permits.

During transport, try to keep them in darkness as any sudden light does make them jumpy.

Good luck :)

drop the fish? where?! in the tank or drop the plastic on the table? ahhah :D i 1st make the temp the same then 50% change in water den after 10 mins of each step, i catch the fish and put it in the tank lor... by the way... now the wrasse is missing! dunno if it's dead or alive or not... i've got quite alot of lr stacked so cannot see behind :unsure: thanks for ur advice btw... :bow:

shiraz,

Wrasse is always my favorite fish. Problem is they like to hide in the sand. So far YW is the most hardy one I had....killed by ich spreaded by the Blue Tang.

If yr YW disappeared, u may still have 50/50 chance it will survive. My Fairy dun even have the chance to disappear. Watch out for it for the next few days. I bought 1 Pencil wrasse that hided in the sandbed for 1 week until i have to stir the whole tank to find it. Gave me a shock when it dash out :P:paiseh::whistle

Like I said, love them & hate them :pirate::kiss: When they died in the sand, they polluted the water. Like my Yellow, Green, Dragon & Pencil :cry2::cry2::cry2:

Good luck

post a experience of mine...

i had a hawaiian cleaner once it was beautiful and costly too...

the cleaner was very active in the tank and it lasted for about a month and went to date satan daughter....

:cry2:

when the day it slow down i gets worried and it did stopped moving...

:cry2::cry2:

that fish is a beauty....

i think wrasse is one of the difficult fish to keep in a small tank...

might get another hawaiian babe again if i have a chance to set a bigger tank...

happy reading

B)

[leave e plastic bag on e surface on yr tank,left it flooding on it for ard 1hr++,let e water temp to match e temp of yr tank water 1st,den release e fish.]

Thought I could refine this acclimatization process a little:

1 open the bag then leave it floating in the, ideally, Q-tank, instead of the main tank

2 after 15 mins, start dripping water slowly such that you double the original water volume over one hour

3 release the fish, but not the water, into the Q-tank

If step two is not possible, target to double water volume in one hour by pouring water in every 15 mins.