SRC Member bum Posted May 8, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted May 8, 2004 now i know why some of my corals keep receding although i keep my parems good and nutrients level low! saw some of these nudis on the tank wall, then took a closer look, saw some on the corals... they look like mini hedgehogs, with liminous green 'spines' all i can do cos no dig cam did a search, think they might be a species of nudis from the family Zephyrinidae spent the better of last night picking them off with pincers (def not a good way to spent friday nights) found 7, hope thats all but...... what should i do? any natural predators? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
DeepBlue Posted May 8, 2004 Share Posted May 8, 2004 very difficult...I kept havig these problem a while back...you can see and pick them off...but the eggs are too small They will come back... in the end, I had to frag my monti and do a freshwater dip Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member bum Posted May 8, 2004 Author SRC Member Share Posted May 8, 2004 oh man... dun have montis, was waiting for a nice specimen but got some acros and stags... must have come in on the newer colony. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member ckevin Posted May 8, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted May 8, 2004 Hi, I suggest introducing a wrasse to control the nudi probelm. Worked for me . Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member AlfaRomeo Posted May 8, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted May 8, 2004 ckevin , wat kinda wrasse did you intruduced? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member sunny03 Posted May 8, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted May 8, 2004 ya wat kind of wasses eat nudi i been battle with the nudi for mths in my xoos tank Quote Selling big game fishing equipment. Stella 20k / 17k .. made in Japan jigging blue rose / kabuzu popping rod... pm for prices Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member typrobin Posted May 8, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted May 8, 2004 anybody know?? wat kind of wrasse?? Quote MY OLD 3ft!! My Latest Plan!! Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
DeepBlue Posted May 8, 2004 Share Posted May 8, 2004 many pple has recommended six-line wrasse...but linkinPark (i think) will tell you its 50/50 or even lesser..... he had to frag his montis in the end as well..... I wouldnt add any wrasse..they can potentially become problematic...a small established six-line can harress any new fishes to death quite easily Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member typrobin Posted May 8, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted May 8, 2004 deepblue....so how did u exterminate your nudis??? i still owe u the 2011....paiseh.....tomolo u at home?? i'll go check out your wonderful tank.... Quote MY OLD 3ft!! My Latest Plan!! Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Supporter ReDDeviLs Posted May 8, 2004 SRC Supporter Share Posted May 8, 2004 i think AT had this problem long ago,and he got some kind of slug from henry to eat them up,not too sure about it,but i remember about the video he posting it up watching the slug eating the pest! Quote [ ] [ ] Reef Reefing Reefed Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member typrobin Posted May 8, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted May 8, 2004 no lah tat one is flatworm http://www.sgreefclub.com/forum/index.php?...c=13592&hl=nudi Quote MY OLD 3ft!! My Latest Plan!! Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member bum Posted May 9, 2004 Author SRC Member Share Posted May 9, 2004 they only seem to come out at night, thats when i spot them on the glass walls. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
sherman Posted May 9, 2004 Share Posted May 9, 2004 Anyone has a pic to share. Regards Quote 6.5 * 2 * 2 + 3.75 * 1.5 *1.5,(Decomn on 14/9/08) 4*2*2 + 2.5*1.25*1.25 (Decomn on 1/8/09) 5*2*2 (Fully LED light system, 140 3 watt SSC leds with 60 degree lens)(Decomm) 2.5*2*2(Fully LED Light System,96 3 watt SSC leds with 60 degree lens)(Decomm) 5*2.5*2(LED only) Eheim return 1 * pump 1 HP Daikin compressor with cooling coil 2 Jebao OW40, 1 ecotech MP40, 1X6085 Tunze wm, 1 CURVE 7 Skimmer 1 DIY 80 led control by Bluefish mini 1 radion XR30W G2, 2 Radion XR15G3 Sump area lite by 5 ft T5 , 6 * SSC 3 watt red LED for refugium 1 Full spectrum E27 led light 1 CR control by bubble count Start No Water Change since 1st Dec 2016 Add new 2.5x2x 1.5 ft [/quote] Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
DeepBlue Posted May 9, 2004 Share Posted May 9, 2004 Check this out...fr LinkinPark http://www.sgreefclub.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=10910 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member ckevin Posted May 9, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted May 9, 2004 Hi, the wrasse that worked for me was a six line. It is a very fast worker. Stopped the nudi from feeding the base of my pink digitata within half a day. After that, no more receding. But as many have said, this wrasse is aggressive and it may be advisable to trap it after the problem is solved. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
sherman Posted May 9, 2004 Share Posted May 9, 2004 Thank You Bro DeepoBlue for the link Regards Quote 6.5 * 2 * 2 + 3.75 * 1.5 *1.5,(Decomn on 14/9/08) 4*2*2 + 2.5*1.25*1.25 (Decomn on 1/8/09) 5*2*2 (Fully LED light system, 140 3 watt SSC leds with 60 degree lens)(Decomm) 2.5*2*2(Fully LED Light System,96 3 watt SSC leds with 60 degree lens)(Decomm) 5*2.5*2(LED only) Eheim return 1 * pump 1 HP Daikin compressor with cooling coil 2 Jebao OW40, 1 ecotech MP40, 1X6085 Tunze wm, 1 CURVE 7 Skimmer 1 DIY 80 led control by Bluefish mini 1 radion XR30W G2, 2 Radion XR15G3 Sump area lite by 5 ft T5 , 6 * SSC 3 watt red LED for refugium 1 Full spectrum E27 led light 1 CR control by bubble count Start No Water Change since 1st Dec 2016 Add new 2.5x2x 1.5 ft [/quote] Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member bum Posted May 10, 2004 Author SRC Member Share Posted May 10, 2004 heres the best pic i can take with the palm cam. anyone wanna adopt? placed the cup containing the nudis on the bracing under the MH... no aeration, super bright light....3 days and they're still alive ever wonder why the stuff we wanna keep.... expensive stuff like sps, clams, all easily RTN or die, surgeonfish....become 'white spot tang', but things you dun like... hair algae, flatwoms, crabs, mantis shrimps.... all dun seem to wanna die? so afetr days of eye straining, and pincer picking.. there seems to be no more nudis... will wait to see if any has survived Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...