HELP NEEDED : Algae & Air Bubble Problem

guyz,

hvin' thiz prob of my sandbed gettin' thiz brownish algae prob. izzit cyano??? but the color iz not purple like cyano leh... thou it trap small little air bubblez 2

not just my sandbed, even my LR got air bubblez. wat iz wrong???

plz help me 2 ID the prob & wat solution...

followin' r some picz i hv took

pic 1 : bubblez on LR

post-6-1083768903.jpg

Does it seem to appear during the day and disappear at night?

Might be dionflagalletes, i had a bout of dinoflagalletes once and they bubbled. They also seem to disappear at night and re-appear during the day.

Kalib,

dionflagalletes??? wat'z tat??? any cure???

Does it seem to appear during the day and disappear at night?

Might be dionflagalletes, i had a bout of dinoflagalletes once and they bubbled. They also seem to disappear at night and re-appear during the day.

roidan,

so wat'z the best solution 4 thiz prob???

the last pic seems to have a film like look...

can also be cyano...

u may have a combination of cyano as well as diatoms....more diatoms since u notice the browns more...

not sure.....u can ask for more opinions

roidan,

so i guezz my Phosphate iz 2 high huh??? :o:(:cry:

iz RowaPhos really tat effective??? :blink:

mine iz a 3"x1.5"x1.5" main wif 2.5"x1"x1" sump, how big of RowaPhos do i need???

yeah...

basically they are part and parcel of tank development, if they dun worsen, i would say u can leave them alone and let them die out themselves...

not just phosphates...silicates, nitrates or high DOCs can be the reasons...

yeah..rowaphos, along with other phosphate absorbing media will absorb phosphates..how effective varies from brand to brand..

i duno how much u need...u need to read off the amount in the shop before u buy...the instruction papers not with me now

Whats your photoperiod of your tank now? you may wish to reduce your photoperiod for the time being to starve your diatom and cyano. This will help reduce your bubbles and the brown filmy stuff. Get a test kit and test your phosphates and then use the phosphate removal media according to how much you need to reduce. Also may wish to reduce your feeding cycle with minimum leftovers. Ensure good water parameters. The trick is to starve these algae from watever they feed on. Light, phosphates, nitrates etc.

yup starve the algae ... follow justink's advice and u will see a improvement in ur tank ....

cant really make out your NH4, but your NO2 and NO3 looks bad... you been overfeeding? or can think of any other reasons why these readings are the way they are? Try a 20% water change to bring down your readings, think they are way high, esp your nitrates...

well nitrate above 40mg/l contribute greatly to algae growth ... i can see a lot of diatom and cyano on the rock from the pic u post ...

not to mention a lot of reefer here are trying to maintain their nitrate level below 10ppm...

do frequent small water changes to lower down the nitrate level and ya starve the algae ... hate algae !!!!

will do IMMEDIATE water change!!! :pinch:

oso, izzit recommanded 2 add in RowaPhos??? will it help???

:thanks::bow::thanks:

cant really make out your NH4, but your NO2 and NO3 looks bad... you been overfeeding? or can think of any other reasons why these readings are the way they are? Try a 20% water change to bring down your readings, think they are way high, esp your nitrates...
well nitrate above 40mg/l contribute greatly to algae growth ... i can see a lot of diatom and cyano on the rock from the pic u post ...

not to mention a lot of reefer here are trying to maintain their nitrate level below 10ppm...

do frequent small water changes to lower down the nitrate level and ya starve the algae ... hate algae !!!!

ROWAphos did wonder for mi , as for mi my phosphate level is near undetectable after two days ... will advice u to put in ya ... :P

use to have algae boom like urs , but clear liao /.... now got nice nice white sandbed without irrtating bubbles and brown stuff...

hope ur nitrate level will be down first as ur coral and fish might suffer ...yes though they are not as toxic as NO2 and NH4 but a high level still affect them...

jia you, can one ,as i think all reefer will come across the same prob as u .

Tried a number of 'rescues' before:

1. Phosguard

Seem to work but expensive.

2. Snails

Good but they also produce their own 'leftovers'

3. Tangs

These are great grazers.

4. Change water often

Best to keep algae at bay but can be tiring.

Some people use a reverse photo period in a separate sump/tank with algae to deplete the nutrients so that they were appear in the main display tank.

Just thought of one more thing...you should lots of circulation in the tank, preferably 10 to 20 times the water volume. Stagnant water will encourage the growth of such nuisance algae. ;)

1. Phosguard

2. Snails

3. Tangs

These are great grazers.

4. Change water often

Some people use a reverse photo period in a separate sump/tank with algae to deplete the nutrients so that they were appear in the main display tank.

i got the 5th solution.

keep the tank dry. :rolleyes:

1. Phosguard

2. Snails

3. Tangs

These are great grazers.

4. Change water often

phosguard works....... but ill in comparison to the others listed below......

seachem phosguard expensive??? :o

then u dun wanna know the prices of the others....... rowaphos, biophos, contraphos, etc...... ;)

phosguard works....... but ill in comparison to the others listed below......

seachem phosguard expensive??? :o

then u dun wanna know the prices of the others....... rowaphos, biophos, contraphos, etc...... ;)

i'm usin' Phosguard @ the moment, had it in there 4 abt 2mthz now. still hv the same prob. duno if it'z b'coz the amt iz not enof 2 serve my 3x1.5x1.5 + 2.5x1x1

will b tryin' RowaPhos next