giantbicycle Posted May 3, 2004 Share Posted May 3, 2004 Hi folks, need some help here...I just bought a Black sea cuke yesterday at E-A@ur%s% yesterday and once after aclimatising , the black sea cuke just walk across my sandbed and hid in a cave .. Till now, it came up and is on the glass.. But never come to my sandbed at all since then... what is the main problem..It seems lazy ...How can i make it start working.. THANKS... Regards: EDWAN Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
giantbicycle Posted May 3, 2004 Author Share Posted May 3, 2004 Here is a pic...all replys are Welcome... THis is a pic of it now...It is on one of the highest rock in my tank..As you can see, it is near the top of the water level..what's wrong with it...Sun tenting with my T5 lights ? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
terryansimon Posted May 3, 2004 Share Posted May 3, 2004 watch out for the sea cuke. mine took a while before it started cleaning the sand. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member bum Posted May 3, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted May 3, 2004 is that a powerhead i see in the background? be careful you dun get a black cukemilkshake Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
FuEl Posted May 3, 2004 Share Posted May 3, 2004 Is there enough food in the sand in the first placE? Quote Always something more important than fish. http://reefbuilders.com/2012/03/08/sps-pico-reef/ Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member AlfaRomeo Posted May 3, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted May 3, 2004 Mine has also take up the sport of rock-climbing and its getting good at it too! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Razo Posted May 3, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted May 3, 2004 u have to train the cuke to eat... try "eating" the top layer of sand bed n " throw" out the sands.. nake sure the cuke is watching u else u have to repeat the process again... jokes aside.. my cuke takes about 3 days before he started cleaning the sandbeds.. so u only have to wait.. also make sure there is no big gap for to cuke to enter ur PH. u can expect to have sparkling clean sandbed after 1 week Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
giantbicycle Posted May 3, 2004 Author Share Posted May 3, 2004 my sandbed is having lots of CYNAO.... Of course there will be enough food... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member clowntrigger Posted May 3, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted May 3, 2004 If your sand is having Cyno, the cuke will not touch it... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
terryansimon Posted May 3, 2004 Share Posted May 3, 2004 I doubt sea cukes eat cyanobacteria? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Achilles Tang Posted May 3, 2004 Share Posted May 3, 2004 Actually, the reason why most people's sea cukes are climbing up the walls is because they are trying to avoid the cyanobacteria and to look for food elsewehere. They will never eat it as it is toxic. My seacuke has never climbed my tank walls before... and my sandbed is still cleaned by the cuke. Perhaps if you take care of your water quality issue.. use good phosphate absorbers or utilise a very good skimmer... you can get rid of cyano and give your sea cuke a nice sandbed for it to feed on? AT Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member chrislwp Posted May 3, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted May 3, 2004 my sandbed is having lots of CYNAO.... Of course there will be enough food... How come the cyano is green color? You will love ur cuke next time if it's eating on sandbed. Sparkling clean.. Quote Tank 4x2x2.5 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
giantbicycle Posted May 3, 2004 Author Share Posted May 3, 2004 ohh...really....ohh..okiee..now i know why it dosent eat .... hm...THANKS AT and the others who replied...i just bought Rowa Phos..can it solve the cynao problem..THANKS... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Achilles Tang Posted May 3, 2004 Share Posted May 3, 2004 Yes, Rowaphos/Contraphos Konzentrate will help do a good job in absorbing phosphates from the water. You should also use high quality GAC to help. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member typrobin Posted May 3, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted May 3, 2004 will sea cuke eat diatoms???juz curious.... Quote MY OLD 3ft!! My Latest Plan!! Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
giantbicycle Posted May 3, 2004 Author Share Posted May 3, 2004 ohh..THANKS very much AT ... i just put a bag of rowaphos in my filter media...will get Granular activated carbon, chemical filtration media tmk...THANKS very much .. just to confirmed, for a 3 feet tank, i just fill 1/4 the size of the bag is it correct.amount.. appericate much.. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
giantbicycle Posted May 3, 2004 Author Share Posted May 3, 2004 whao...ohh..gosh...the cynao is incereaing rapidly day by day...and now i still dont see any change after adding Rowphos.. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member ervine Posted May 3, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted May 3, 2004 slowly lah.. cannot be overnight cure.. did water change? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Nic a Jon Posted May 4, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted May 4, 2004 Hi giantbicycle, I also bot a black cuke from the same place 2 month ago. It spend its 1st 3 days climbing rocks, tank walls and hiding under gaps in between rocks. Then it started to work....& it worked real hard . Now with combo of rowa, carbon and black cuke ...my sand bed has not seen any form of algae eversince. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
giantbicycle Posted May 4, 2004 Author Share Posted May 4, 2004 slowly lah.. cannot be overnight cure.. did water change? change water?? but if i change water, i will be introducing more P04 right...and the cynao may break even more..and the rowphas will need to absorb more..so should i change water or not...THANKS Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
giantbicycle Posted May 4, 2004 Author Share Posted May 4, 2004 Hi giantbicycle,I also bot a black cuke from the same place 2 month ago. It spend its 1st 3 days climbing rocks, tank walls and hiding under gaps in between rocks. Then it started to work....& it worked real hard . Now with combo of rowa, carbon and black cuke ...my sand bed has not seen any form of algae eversince. THANKS Nic a Jon....I think it will clean up my sandbed after the cynao is cleared...Hopefully...whao..why all black cukes clean sand bed untill sparkiling clean...except mine.. haha...nvm will wait and see.hopfully it will be hardworking as the days goes by...<<a...i feed my black cuke with Marine Plankton by Liquid life leh...good food so must work hard right..haha >> Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
giantbicycle Posted May 5, 2004 Author Share Posted May 5, 2004 3 days already...no effect of black cuke and Rowphos..WHy?? And cynao is out of control....from BAd to worst...PL advice.,..PLS..thanks Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
giantbicycle Posted May 5, 2004 Author Share Posted May 5, 2004 should i do a water change? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member clowntrigger Posted May 5, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted May 5, 2004 if your cyano is so bad, when you change the water, try to siphon them out as much as possible. In the process you will remove some sand, wash the sand in fresh water and put it back into the tank. This is what I do when I have a cyano outbreak, you will see that in a week or 2, the cyano will disappear. Provided during this time you are also controlling the input of nutrient. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Tigger Posted May 5, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted May 5, 2004 ab observation, after the black cukie makan the sand and pass it out, those sand is like small lump Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...