need urgent help on Milwaukee products

Problem 1:

I need urgent help on my Milwaukee pH Meter SMS122. I've tried calibrating the pH Meter today using the pH 7.0 buffer solution provided. I followed exactly according to the user manual given. but after tuning the calibration nut to the extreme with the probe submerged in pH 7.0 buffer solution, the max reading i can get from the read out was only a pH value of 6.6.......

Problem 2:

I hv tried fixing up the Milwaukee CO2 Regulator with solenoid valve & bubble counter onto a 3kg CO2 cannister i hv bought from petmart. The problem is the bee-nut on the regulator does not fit the CO2 cannister....... the sizes of the respective nuts r the same, but there is a difference in pitch. why is this so??? i thought all of these fitting r suppose to be universal. I hv check with petmart and they suggested that i get a custom made adaptor to fit both the CO2 cannister and the regulator.

I was thinking, since i m using a korallin C1501 Ca Reactor with no port for a pH probe, i might as well do without both these 2 pcs of equipments since they r giving me so much problem and get a needle valve control dual gauge regulator (Bio-Plast) instead.

need expert advice on this matter. thks a million in advance.

could be a faulty probe. try measuring tap water instead..see if it ranges from 7-8ph just to verify that the ph of ur "ph7" solution is not wrong. There is very little chance of getting an interface nut to fut the regulator or rather try not to get any interface fittings..dun play play with pressured tanks..very dangerous!

that's what i thought too bro alvy, but seems like petmart assured me that the interface nut can be done and would be safe too....... as for the pH meter, i hv tried it on tap water........ but it still gives a readout of 6.6...... :( can i hv the opinions of more experts???? thks. :(

bro lightning,

Which CO2 cylinder are you using? Did you buy the regulator from petmart too? If it doesn't fit then I guess you can ask for a refund.

If not you may bring the cylinder and regulator to this place and they might be able to help you.

Teck Siong Huat Hardware Pte Ltd

Blk 28 Kelantan Rd #01-137

Tel : 6292 9385

For those looking for difficult to find tubing & adaptors, you can try there.

As for the pH meter, when you tune that screw, did the reading change? You might like to soak this in warm water (ard 60degs) for 10mins to clean the probe. Like bro Alvy said you might want to check your calibration solution.

Or you wanna bring to my house and I help you take a look at it, you know how to contact me right?

hi bro weileong,

the CO2 cylinder i m using i oso dunno which one........ i only know i bought from petmart........ green in color...... should be made of iron. the source which petmart hv found to custom make the adaptor quoted $90 to $100 for the custom made adaptor....... so expensive!!!!

as for the pH meter, when i tune the screw, the reading changes....... but it cannot seem to go beyond 6.6. i hv used 2 different pH buffer solutions trying to calibrate the meter........ so nothing could be possibly wrong with the buffer solution.......

would like to bring to ur hse....... pls pm me ur contacts and opinions on whether should i go for the bio plast instead...... thks.

:(

Maybe you can bring your SMS 122 to Nature Aquarium at Thomson. They carry Milwakee controllers and might be able to help. But before that, can you try calibrating with either pH 10 or 4 first and followed by pH 7? Might make a difference if the slope is already on the extreme end.

As for the CO2 cannister, I'll say dump it back at Petmart and ask for a refund or trade in for something else. Get a decent aluminium tank. The pitch should always be the same for all regulators and cannisters.

Comments are welcome!