Power socket overloading

DragonGoby

For the technical gurus:

Does anyone know how much current can be drawn from a typical house power socket before it becomes too dangerous?

Also, if I use an extension (those that can plug 4-5 appliances in a row), will it change the threshold somewhat, or will the safety level still be the same?

Thanks!!

Thanks for the replies, guys. If it's 13A max (let's put it at 10 for good safety), then total wattage allowed should be:

10 A x 240V = 2400W

But I still feel uneasy plugging 3 x 150W MH and 1 x 650W chiller into the same extension. <_<

I think some people go beyond that... but for safety's sake I run my chiller and 250W MH on seperate sockets...

But then again I have my computer running together with my chiller connected to the same socket too... but still that won't exceed 2400W lah...

Maybe a little safer, just make sure you don't load the chiller and MH plugs on the EXACT same socket on the extension cord...

I think some people go beyond that... but for safety's sake I run my chiller and 250W MH on seperate sockets...

But then again I have my computer running together with my chiller connected to the same socket too... but still that won't exceed 2400W lah...

Maybe a little safer, just make sure you don't load the chiller and MH plugs on the EXACT same socket on the extension cord...

For me one supply to a extension with 8 plugs to a extension to 4 plugs.......All together 1105W-1200W running on it, so far so good.

Eric

Hi

If I'm not wrong, it's depend on the MCB fuse rating and the nos. of socket looping. Example: MCB fuse rated 16A and the total sockets in one loop is probably 4 twin sockets and if the total sockets is on at the same time, the total amperes musn't exceed the 16A MCB fuse.

Hope some electrical gurus can verify this. Thanks

huh?? i thought the limit should be 15A with 20A fuse??? me oso blur blur liao...... anyway, juz dun hook up ur tank electrical stuffs onto the kitchen mains..... as kitchen appliances r high power consuming.... e.g. my microwave is rated at 5A liao!!!