• Adopt different strategy...pls suggest with a post

• Replies 137

There's such a thing called admonishing and reprimanding with care and love instead of just plain scolding...what parents should do is this and not just using their anger to apply to the situation and forgetting that somewhere out there, it is LOVE that makes them wanna nurture their children into righteous and worthy citizens... :peace:

Our kids are soft and spolit.....remember the good old days?...my tr will give us a good one if we misbehaved...see how we turn out :lol::lol::lol:

too many ungrateful brats nowadays.... <_<

Seriously, self reflection is good, allows the kid to be disciplined in a dignified manner. But time must be invested to ensure that real authentic learning from the mistake committed.

I think kids need to learn about consequences, it is a learning process . It helps them to make better decisions in the future

Our kids are soft and spolit.....remember the good old days?...my tr will give us a good one if we misbehaved...see how we turn out :lol::lol::lol:

yup...I remembered getting 'double doses' too when teachers told my parents... :paiseh:

some parents take their kids like prince or some 10carat diamond.. I encounter such case b4..

the kid was shaking the whole table n basically misbehaves on a shared table with me n wife at the food court..

I was quite irritated n told the kid off, the dad ask kid to carry onz.. wah pian.. I should have revert to my ah beng style, spit into my finished food bowl, roll upz a wan tan tissue after blowing my nose n see how the parents carry onz eating..

the other day, bunch of sec. school kids walk side by side.. have all the road to them, one bang into me.. wah lan..

I buay tahan.. go n knee one kid in the ###### behind, he see me veri buay song.. LL..

n my primary 2 nephew kenna collect protection from a senior last year.. I only start collecting $ when I was in sec.. kaoz... kids these days..

Here's something... :P

1) best time to nurture kids is during the time when he is one to four...

2) conducive 'emulation' if available, starts from three to five for examples set by 'older' ones

3) they will try to learn from peers from six onwards...

4) 'identity searching' from eleven or twelve onwards

5) progresses to teenage years where the streak of rebellion 'maketh' or 'break' the person...

Okay...someone continues from here? :rolleyes:

I believe,

1. different strokes for different folks

2. Spare the rod and spoil the child

3. Spank with TLC

4. Counsel with reflection.

Remember, no one single method is the best.

yup...agree with Chris. different approaches work for different personalities. Most impt I feel is to get to the root of the problem...why the child misbehaves... ;)

be it...

1) broken family?

2) depression?

3) lack of attention from parents resulting in the engagement of 'vices' to attract their attention

4) peer pressure

5) seeking 'directions' in life with no conducive 'mentor' guiding...

:(

5) progresses to teenage years where the streak of rebellion 'maketh' or 'break' the person...

Okay...someone continues from here? :rolleyes:

tat's why we send the boys to army at 18...get someoen else to whip their a** and make them grow up....

maybe tat's why girls' crime rate is climbing <_<

eh.. I tik if u cannot win em, join em..

haha..

I tik kids get easily mislead from teenage onwards..

got to see any drastic change in behavior.

1) late nite out

2) always have fetish for old furniture (esp. table/chair legs)

3) likes to play with fire

4) play with "bird"..

5) hang ard in kopi tiam (eh..now is starbuck sibo??)

6) practise hand signs n cheem hokkien poems in front of mirror

7) play with setting up of tea cups in different combination

8) start to walk with legs opening wide wide, like his grandfather owned the road

9) dig up your old chow yun fatt "betta morrow" VCD n view them over n over again..

the kid was shaking the whole table n basically misbehaves on a shared table with me n wife at the food court..

I was quite irritated n told the kid off, the dad ask kid to carry onz.. wah pian.. I should have revert to my ah beng style, spit into my finished food bowl, roll upz a wan tan tissue after blowing my nose n see how the parents carry onz eating..

days..

trust you to do this... ;)

hey flubs,

i'm thinking this post is cos of the principal slapping the kid incident?

i say, whack the heck out the little shits!!!!

i've been teaching for more than 5 years,

and i've always maintained that punishments are neceassary.

not the 'take one corner and whack' treatment la,

but definitely need to discipline some errand monsters.

as long as they know the rationale, and the reason behind the

punishments.....whack!!!

all my students whom i 'ahem' disciplined know why,

and they accept their punishments

but now everything is out in the news....

-no corporal punishments <_<

-only disciplne master can cane

-only on the hand and buttocks

-girls cannot be caned

i'm thinking what are the repercussions going to be.

are students going to tell me:

"cher, my mother say the news say you cannot touch me..

neh neh ni boo boo"

or

cher, hit me ah? later i also report police,

u kanna pok tau lor then you know ah....

people principal also kanna pok, u leh :eyebrow: "?

knowing the students these days...

they just might. :angry:

like our jobs so simple nowadays, exams round the corner

work cannot be finished....

this incident will only make it more difficult.

IMO, it has undermined the authority of the teacher as a disciplinarian.

i say:

" IF PARENTS CAN'T F*CKING DISCIPLINE THEIR CHILDREN,

DUN COMPLAIN WHEN SOMEONE ELSE DOES IT.

BETTER ME NOW, THAN SOME LOW LIFE IN JAIL ;) "

get it?

also

"TEACHERS ARE NOT ROLE MODELS,

PARENTS SHOULD BE ROLE MODELS!

CHILDREN ARE EXTENSIONS OF THE PARENTS,

IF THE KID IS A LITTLE SHIT,

CHANCES ARE...THE PARENTS ARE TOO"

wah...did i say that much?

had to get it off my chest,

i feel sad for Mr Ng, he's a good man.

notice how no one focused on the girl?

the media is just milking this. :angry:

how about:

1st offence - clean glass walls of tank

2nd offence - clean glass walls of tank and skimmer

3rd offence - clean glass walls of tank and skimmer and rearrange rockwork

4th offence - clean glass walls of tank and skimmer and rearrange rockwork and drink skimmate

5th offence onwards - cannot help e kid oredi, may as well use a pair of extra hands to help in cleaning e house... WORK IT! :)

Get Paid To Read Emails. Free To Join Now!

http://www.emailcashpro.com/?r=okdk11

i say:

" IF PARENTS CAN'T F*CKING DISCIPLINE THEIR CHILDREN,

DUN COMPLAIN WHEN SOMEONE ELSE DOES IT.

BETTER ME NOW, THAN SOME LOW LIFE IN JAIL ;) "

get it?

also

"TEACHERS ARE NOT ROLE MODELS,

PARENTS SHOULD BE ROLE MODELS!

CHILDREN ARE EXTENSIONS OF THE PARENTS,

IF THE KID IS A LITTLE SHIT,

CHANCES ARE...THE PARENTS ARE TOO"

wah...did i say that much?

had to get it off my chest,

i feel sad for Mr Ng, he's a good man.

notice how no one focused on the girl?

the media is just milking this. :angry:

:bow::bow::bow:

Can you autograph for me? :rolleyes:

on a serious note...you know how I feeling now also, right? :(

this is not just about hitting any kid anymore... :(

I 'ache' for the future generation to be... :cry:

And maybe we shall be more discreet...never know wo and what is reading in... ;)

teacher not easy these days..

haha,... my old teachers should b grateful I bring my problems outside school.. but still got spanked for it in school..!!

They should love me alot when I drop to visit them..

at least I dun cry mother father whenever I get spank in school.

I tik I only get a few guys to push the teacher's car from one end to another.. :evil:

Bum...I totally agree...was a DM once....very siong...parents can be so unreasonable....

I have handled so many parents who are aggressive, would not hesistate to threaten to call MOE even when their children are at fault.. .

I remember a case where the child hit a classmate..the parent told me that it must be the other boy who started...ask me to reprimand and warn the other boy instead when I called her

(the best part was...it happened in school, the parent dun even know what happened yet..her child was still having lesson at that moment :angry: )

BTW...bwilly ...remember last time...got punished in school..go home tell parents will get second round....nowadays...so different

aiyo DB,

kids these days....no manners.

smoking at pri 5, gang activities in pri 6, stealing at pri 4,

having ###### at pri 6, extortion at pri 5....

last week, some idiot brought a knife to school,

can you beat that?

the punk prob hasn't finish growing his pubic hair!!

sigh, in my time...

whats the worst we did?

best thing is parents so busy these days,

they just chuck the kid at home or in school,

i have students in afternon session coming to school

at 7am cos 'my parents work mah"----BULLSHIT!

cannot afford the time? dun have kids. <_<

last time families very big, people have 7-8 kids.

1 die? never mind la, got 6-7 more.

now 2 parents have 1 or 2 kids...

precious little shits....

plus grandparents...

total 6 adults focus on 1 little shit.

no wonder kids nowadays spoilt la ;)

classic example,

2 weeks back,

1 boy kanna reprimanded for theft,

know what the parent told me?

"never mind, whatever he take, i can pay...

i got money. please dun scold him anymore.

if he's too stressed, later he go home and jump how?"

i was dumbfounded....

i told that @$$hol# ,

"uncle, i'm just trying to tell him the meaning of

right and wrong, i didn't even raise my voice at him

i call you hoping that YOU can disciplne him"

BUT in my heart:

"You worthless piece of trailer park trash,

what kind of father are you?

why? got money big **** ah?

how long can your money protect your worthless

excuse for a son?

he who is going to be the future of Singapore?

the pillar of our nation?

if he really jump. Good riddance."

I on the other side...Pastoral Care... :P

You do the 'humtum' I do the 'sayang'... :lol:

Sometimes, I dun blame the child but the parent...ever got one kid who chased another kid along an overheard bridge just to 'wallop' him who called her names and when I called in the mother, she said they are just kids...sigh... but then I started 'brainwashing' the mother and told her that if she condoned such behaviour at such an age, she should expect what will come out from her child few years down the road and yadah yadah...she heard already...very scared...then she worked with me...now the daughter has turned out into a fine young lady... :)

Now turning eighteen and I still see her often and she also helps me now and then whenever I call...child exploitation... :P

Bottomline...if they think they are smart..let them be...you just outwit them lor... :eyebrow:

BTW...bwilly ...remember last time...got punished in school..go home tell parents will get second round....nowadays...so different

hehe.. I tried to keep my parents away from school lah..

they so busy with their work, still come to school see Principal veri

bo eng.. I more scare of my parents then the teachers.. maybe the DM, cause he's a ex-CID planted by MOE to curb gangsterism.

so i collect $$ on the side to help on the household..

N now the parents at times got to be blamed, if not the kids won't boast abt complaining to their parents regardless of their behaviour.

oki.. give me contact of the young n 18, hot n wild lady contact.. :evil: