SRC Member Cedric Posted April 25, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted April 25, 2004 First of all, I like to thank a very important person, thc. Without him, this project would not have materialise. Thanks bro! Quote Comments are welcome! Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Cedric Posted April 25, 2004 Author SRC Member Share Posted April 25, 2004 more pix . . . Quote Comments are welcome! Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Cedric Posted April 25, 2004 Author SRC Member Share Posted April 25, 2004 Close up, sorry for the blur pic, no mini tripod lah! Quote Comments are welcome! Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Cedric Posted April 25, 2004 Author SRC Member Share Posted April 25, 2004 Front view Quote Comments are welcome! Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Cedric Posted April 25, 2004 Author SRC Member Share Posted April 25, 2004 Impeller disassembled. Quote Comments are welcome! Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member thc Posted April 25, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted April 25, 2004 Wow, look very good lei.....very impressive ...ehhh do you have test run pic?? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Cedric Posted April 25, 2004 Author SRC Member Share Posted April 25, 2004 Well, the pics I took are not reflective of the actual situation. My sump is very cramp and I cannot get a good shot. The pics doesn't say anything. What can I say is the bubbles seems smaller, but the noise is louder! Quote Comments are welcome! Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Terryz_ Posted April 25, 2004 Share Posted April 25, 2004 Neat man... Quote Member of: Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member ah^siao Posted April 25, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted April 25, 2004 where u got those parts from? wad did u use to glue them? super glue? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Cedric Posted April 25, 2004 Author SRC Member Share Posted April 25, 2004 The blue brush from bro thc. The translucent spacer was sawed off a ball point pen. Used lots of superglue to put it together! Quote Comments are welcome! Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
RockyBoy Posted April 26, 2004 Share Posted April 26, 2004 Which pump are you using, bro? Quote Member of : UEN: T08SS0098FMASS in Facebook Reefing in LED Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
desm0nds Posted April 26, 2004 Share Posted April 26, 2004 How do you remove the assembly from the pump? I tried opening up mine. I can see the entire blade part but i just couldnt pull out the entrie assembly. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Cedric Posted April 26, 2004 Author SRC Member Share Posted April 26, 2004 I'm using an Atman 105 pump. The impellor cannot be disassembled. I had to file and saw it apart. Quote Comments are welcome! Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
desm0nds Posted April 26, 2004 Share Posted April 26, 2004 file and saw it apart?! saw wat apart? the pump itself? cannot be right? i think my mistake cos my question very misleading. actually i am asking you how you remove the whole impeller out from the pump? Not how you disassemble the impeller itself. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Cedric Posted April 26, 2004 Author SRC Member Share Posted April 26, 2004 Well, if you are refering to how to remove the impellor from the Atman pump, I simply twist off the cap to remove it, and pull out the impellor. Should not be difficult. Are you using an Atman? Quote Comments are welcome! Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
desm0nds Posted April 27, 2004 Share Posted April 27, 2004 oki will explore mine more. Nope its not an Atman though. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Eric Posted April 27, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted April 27, 2004 Well, if you are refering to how to remove the impellor from the Atman pump, I simply twist off the cap to remove it, and pull out the impellor. Should not be difficult. Are you using an Atman? Cedric, have your test run the impeller? How is it going? Just curious, is the super glue strong enough to hold the centrifugal force of the rotating impeller? Eric Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
roidan Posted April 27, 2004 Share Posted April 27, 2004 one of the glaring weak points of the needlewheel skimmers is the weakness of the needlewheel impellors... as there is considerable load on each pin of the impellor compared to the normal impellor that the same pumps were made for....so premature failure is to be expected.... those single piece needlewheel impellors already face such weakness, let alone glued together impellors..no matter how strong the bond is...it's running the impellor 24/7, months....year.... but just make a few to keep in hand in case they fail, just change to another impellor lor... Quote Advanced Aquarist (March05) Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Cedric Posted April 27, 2004 Author SRC Member Share Posted April 27, 2004 Cedric, have your test run the impeller? How is it going? Just curious, is the super glue strong enough to hold the centrifugal force of the rotating impeller? Eric I've running it for the past 3 days. Seems fine (so far). I'll let you guys know if and when it fails. *cross fingers* Quote Comments are welcome! Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
firestream Posted September 20, 2004 Share Posted September 20, 2004 can show how the pump look like as a whole picture ? Interesting on how to make the air hole for the needle wheel to suck in air ... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
sunny130y Posted October 13, 2004 Share Posted October 13, 2004 Hi Cedric, Just came across this interesting thread. How is it functioning so far? I'm using a Weipro venturi skimmer, can I replace the normal impeller of my skimmer powerhead with this DIY needle wheel impeller? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Cedric Posted October 13, 2004 Author SRC Member Share Posted October 13, 2004 Hi Sunny, the impeller is working fine. However, for it to work on a Weipro, you need to move the venturi to the pump inlet so that the air gets chopped up. Quote Comments are welcome! Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
sunny130y Posted October 13, 2004 Share Posted October 13, 2004 Hi Sunny, the impeller is working fine. However, for it to work on a Weipro, you need to move the venturi to the pump inlet so that the air gets chopped up. Will look for some cheap circular hairbrush to fabricate one Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member rockfish Posted October 14, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted October 14, 2004 hi all, this topic is indeed interesting, but why is there to make into a needle wheel..?? i just install a few air tube at the intake of the power head, and the bubbles that it produced are so fine that make the water look like milk, and the skimmate is very thick .. like soya sauce.. the only thing is that the weipro volume is too small so the capacity very little .. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...