SRC Member PowderTang Posted February 5, 2019 SRC Member Share Posted February 5, 2019 Is there such thing as fishes die due to electrocution ? today I have almost 20 fishes die in the middle of the night and realized have a power trip. called the electrician and he finally concluded that there is stray voltage in my tank ( ie tank water become live even all the devices are plug out)- hence this killed the fishes in future, how to prevent such things from happening ? This is very devastating that should not occur. is there any equipment to “remove” any stray voltage if there is one ? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member PowderTang Posted February 5, 2019 Author SRC Member Share Posted February 5, 2019 In future , before I put my hand into the tank, better to test the water if have any power Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Mahesh Posted February 5, 2019 SRC Member Share Posted February 5, 2019 Omg..so sad to hear. Sent from Singapore Reef Club mobile app 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Solo77 Posted February 6, 2019 Share Posted February 6, 2019 Power trip, if u don't any mean to provide air to your tank, likely is suffocation. Quote Tank : 4 X 2 X 2 with low iron front panel and external overflow Skimmer : BK SM200 with waste collector Return Pumps : Red Dragon 6m3 and Ehiem 1262 FR : 2 X Deltec 509 & powered by AB2000 Nitrate Filter : Deltec NF 509 and tee off from AB2000 Calcium R'tor : Deltec PF 501 with RM secondary chamber Kalkwasser R'tor : Deltec KM500 Chiller : Pansonic 1 HP Compressor with 20m titanium Coil Wave Makers : 4 X Tunze 6055 with 7096 & Vortec MP40w Controller : GHL Profilux Lighting : ATI Powermodule 10 or 8 tubes Water Top-up : Water Top-Up tank powered by Tunze Osmolator External Monitor : American Pinpoint pH and Temp. Monitor for main tank and GHL Profilux Controller to measure temp, pH, Redox Ozonizer : Sander C50 UV : Corallife 6x Algae Scrubbler Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member PowderTang Posted February 6, 2019 Author SRC Member Share Posted February 6, 2019 Hmm really not sure whether they are suffocated or because they are shocked Because every single fish, whether big or small, was stunned and lying on the floor, some of them with gills still moving I do have experienced whereby my pump was not working the whole night but my wavemakers are, so even though they are on with the return pump dead, the fishes still make it through the next morning However this time it feels different...even small hardy fishes like chromis just lie on the floor the electrician said that just one night won’t cause the fish to die but instead they are being electrocuted cos he has also gotten a shock from the tank Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Solo77 Posted February 6, 2019 Share Posted February 6, 2019 Whatever reason, the cause is due to power trip. Step up yr prevention and contingency plan for both, current leak and equipment failure. Quote Tank : 4 X 2 X 2 with low iron front panel and external overflow Skimmer : BK SM200 with waste collector Return Pumps : Red Dragon 6m3 and Ehiem 1262 FR : 2 X Deltec 509 & powered by AB2000 Nitrate Filter : Deltec NF 509 and tee off from AB2000 Calcium R'tor : Deltec PF 501 with RM secondary chamber Kalkwasser R'tor : Deltec KM500 Chiller : Pansonic 1 HP Compressor with 20m titanium Coil Wave Makers : 4 X Tunze 6055 with 7096 & Vortec MP40w Controller : GHL Profilux Lighting : ATI Powermodule 10 or 8 tubes Water Top-up : Water Top-Up tank powered by Tunze Osmolator External Monitor : American Pinpoint pH and Temp. Monitor for main tank and GHL Profilux Controller to measure temp, pH, Redox Ozonizer : Sander C50 UV : Corallife 6x Algae Scrubbler Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Schwantz Posted February 6, 2019 SRC Member Share Posted February 6, 2019 I got this from Ali express.It is battery powered and will sound alarm when there is a power trip.Sent from my CLT-L29 using Tapatalk Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member MarCal Posted February 6, 2019 SRC Member Share Posted February 6, 2019 "called the electrician and he finally concluded that there is stray voltage in my tank ( ie tank water become live even all the devices are plug out)- hence this killed the fishes" Stay voltage even with all devices unplugged? It has to come from somewhere right? Voltage leak should be from faulty equipment? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member JiaEn Posted February 6, 2019 SRC Member Share Posted February 6, 2019 And stray voltage won't actually electrocute fishes. there is no path for current to flow through the fish to the ground. When u put your hand in, it's a different matter coz now current can flow thru you to the ground, then you will feel the shock. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Schwantz Posted February 6, 2019 SRC Member Share Posted February 6, 2019 If there are no electrical component connected to the tank, it is impossible to get stray voltage. Get a better electrician.Sent from my CLT-L29 using Tapatalk Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member PowderTang Posted February 6, 2019 Author SRC Member Share Posted February 6, 2019 1 hour ago, MarCal said: "called the electrician and he finally concluded that there is stray voltage in my tank ( ie tank water become live even all the devices are plug out)- hence this killed the fishes" Stay voltage even with all devices unplugged? It has to come from somewhere right? Voltage leak should be from faulty equipment? Yes from faulty equipment : exhaust fan actually which have 2 pin plug Ya so funny he off all the switches and yet can feel shock so he unplug out one by one and test each pin with a pen tester so funny, still have current in the tester so means the water is live the electric can’t flow out ? he was telling me exhaust fan is not meant for aquarium use and as the fan has much salt deposits on it and being a 2 pin plug, so dangerous Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member MarCal Posted February 6, 2019 SRC Member Share Posted February 6, 2019 Wow..... I used to hv a pump tt always trip my whole hse. Electrician changed my circuit breaker n all is gd now.... touch wood Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member JiaEn Posted February 6, 2019 SRC Member Share Posted February 6, 2019 Maybe your plug live wire and neutral wire are wired wrongly. Switch is on live wire. So when u switch off, it's not live. But if your extension or house circuit is wired wrong. When switch off the test pen will still light up. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member PowderTang Posted February 6, 2019 Author SRC Member Share Posted February 6, 2019 Oh so it’s not because of the 2 pin plug but rather, being wired wrongly ? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member PowderTang Posted February 6, 2019 Author SRC Member Share Posted February 6, 2019 Cos the electrician was telling me aquarium equipment with 2 pin plugs are being properly insulated as meant to be near water or in water non- aquarium equipment with 2 pin plugs are not meant for aquarium use and being 2 pin, there is no earth wire... so the electricity cannot flow out of the tank...so maybe flow into the water and flow down by some other equipments or what lah then stunned the fishes Lor true ? moving forward , is there any ground probe that can prevent such things from happening ? Meaning to bring all kinds of current down to earth ? haiz Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member JiaEn Posted February 6, 2019 SRC Member Share Posted February 6, 2019 1 minute ago, PowderTang said: Non- aquarium equipment with 2 pin plugs are not meant for aquarium use and being 2 pin, there is no earth wire... so the electricity cannot flow out of the tank...so maybe flow into the water and flow down by some other equipments or what I think lots of aquarium equipments are two- pinned. For example: submersible pumps, submersible heaters etc. If there is stray voltage, and you have a grounding probe, it will form a leaking current. Which can potentially trip your whole house. If there is no ground, stray voltage will just remain in the tank, more or less harmless, until you dip your hand in and get shocked. Either way. Your fish should not be affected. When I have my first aquarium, I accidentally disloged a cooling fan into the tank, the whole house tripped. But the fishes are unharmed. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member PowderTang Posted February 6, 2019 Author SRC Member Share Posted February 6, 2019 Erm I see but this thing could have happened in the middle of the night for goodness dunno how long haha i woke up at 6am and to my horror saw all the fishes lying on the ground so does it mean that kena electrocuted for a very very long time until some didn’t make it ? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member PowderTang Posted February 6, 2019 Author SRC Member Share Posted February 6, 2019 I just wanna know why so many fishes are dead if its because return pump and wavemakers not working, then I can fix the problem by getting a battery backup but if it’s because of electrocution, then how ? haiz Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member JiaEn Posted February 6, 2019 SRC Member Share Posted February 6, 2019 It's because the pump and wavemakers. Once the power trips in the house. There is no more electric current. On the other hand. Without circulation, live stocks dies fast. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Schwantz Posted February 6, 2019 SRC Member Share Posted February 6, 2019 That's why I always wear rubber slippers when placing my hands in the water. You don't want to be the pathway to ground if there is a current leak.Rubber slippers not 100% but will help.Sent from my CLT-L29 using Tapatalk Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member PowderTang Posted February 6, 2019 Author SRC Member Share Posted February 6, 2019 Yup will do that too already reefing for 4 years ++, this is the first time happened and scare the hell out of me usually i I dip my hands, I never think twice i think I will get more paranoid after since yesterday haha Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Indeco Posted February 6, 2019 SRC Member Share Posted February 6, 2019 Bro, if u manage to find the safety measure to handle this stray voltage. Do share.I guess I also need to do something about it. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Jimmy75 Posted February 6, 2019 SRC Member Share Posted February 6, 2019 How can electrocution occurs when power is cut off? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member PowderTang Posted February 6, 2019 Author SRC Member Share Posted February 6, 2019 It was tripped but of cos the plugs are still intact while tripped apparently the test pen still lights up Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Skrumpy Posted February 6, 2019 Share Posted February 6, 2019 There is a ground probe called "ULTRALIFE ULTRA GROUND (TITANIUM GROUNDING PROBE)" that you can buy. However you might need some DIY skills to hook it up to a 3 pin plug head. My tank used to have stray electric and each time i do maintenance i would get a shock. After i got the probe and DIY it, plug it into a power socket WITHOUT turning the power on, no stray electric any more. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...