SRC Member hamannbmw Posted April 18, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted April 18, 2004 I bought a yellow head jawfish today from LCK, after putting in the tank for about 1/2 hour... i start to jump above water n swimming above, without hidding into the caves/rocks. it seems like telling me " HEY YR WATER CONDITION SUCKS " So I have check my water parameter everything seems fine. Ammonia -0.2 NO2 undected NO3 - 10 wonder wat happen ???? does anyone have this experience ? FYI, i do not have any LS other than snails in the tank due to previous crash... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
RAV-65 Posted April 18, 2004 Share Posted April 18, 2004 Bro, wat testkits are u using? Vincent Ho Quote People do not plan to fail; Often they just fail to plan... Wat I do to prevent myself from tearing my hair out... My stress remedy... Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member hamannbmw Posted April 18, 2004 Author SRC Member Share Posted April 18, 2004 Ammonia - Aquamedic NO2 - Sera NO3 - Aquarium Pharmaceuticals , INC Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member tineng Posted April 18, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted April 18, 2004 So I have check my water parameter everything seems fine. Ammonia -0.2 NO2 undected NO3 - 10 I'm a newbie, so please pardon me if i'm wrong...but isn't any traceable level of Ammonia unhealth???? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
FuEl Posted April 18, 2004 Share Posted April 18, 2004 I bought a yellow-head from there before. It did the same thing. I will only buy from ML in future. At least the jawfish he sells don't do the same thing. The 'jumping' at the surface is caused by improper acclimatization process. Don't put too much hope that the fish will survive..normally if it's doing that it will not survive. Quote Always something more important than fish. http://reefbuilders.com/2012/03/08/sps-pico-reef/ Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
RAV-65 Posted April 18, 2004 Share Posted April 18, 2004 Bro, i tink, and i might be wrong.... normally when there is ammonia present, there cant be no no2 present.... so one of ur testkits maybe wrong.... Quote People do not plan to fail; Often they just fail to plan... Wat I do to prevent myself from tearing my hair out... My stress remedy... Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member hamannbmw Posted April 18, 2004 Author SRC Member Share Posted April 18, 2004 The 'jumping' at the surface is caused by improper acclimatization process. Don't put too much hope that the fish will survive..normally if it's doing that it will not survive. I acclimatization this fellow for more than an hour leh , i think this fellow really very very timid.... wouldnt dare to swim towards the LR's.. always near the front glass....... Hope it will be fine tomolo, it not Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
FuEl Posted April 18, 2004 Share Posted April 18, 2004 No...i was referring to the acclimatization when it just arrived in sg. Quote Always something more important than fish. http://reefbuilders.com/2012/03/08/sps-pico-reef/ Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member hamannbmw Posted April 18, 2004 Author SRC Member Share Posted April 18, 2004 No...i was referring to the acclimatization when it just arrived in sg. oh gosh............ Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member hamannbmw Posted April 19, 2004 Author SRC Member Share Posted April 19, 2004 this morning wake up, notice it had make a burrow for itself........... heng arrrrr Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member hmkui Posted April 19, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted April 19, 2004 Yellow head jawfish is a very timid fish and when it keep jumping above the water it signified that it is under stress. Hamannbmw, it is a good sign that the jawfish has burrow itself into the sand bed, do watch out for it and try not to disturb the fish too much and at the sametime try feeding it with live brineshrimp. If its start feeding then it should be stablised and in no time getting used to the captivity enviroment. Most of the time when the yellowhead jawfish is under stress they will developed ich which is quite fatal. Majority of the time the fish just die off. So try not to frighten it ya... and after this phase.. you will enjoy this little fellow cos.. it is a very beautiful fish to have. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member kee Posted April 19, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted April 19, 2004 how much huh hmm just went LCK 110 saw alot jawfish.. very nice Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member hmkui Posted April 19, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted April 19, 2004 Normally the price is around 50 to 60 but that will depends on the individual LFS. Unless the LFS bring in the blue spotted jawfish.. but it is very rare too, haven't seen 1 yet... after so many years of keeping this hobby. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
FuEl Posted April 19, 2004 Share Posted April 19, 2004 blue spotted jawfish...Think will cost around the price of a helfrich.. Quote Always something more important than fish. http://reefbuilders.com/2012/03/08/sps-pico-reef/ Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Ancelot Posted April 19, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted April 19, 2004 this morning wake up, notice it had make a burrow for itself........... heng arrrrr how deep is your sandbed? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member hamannbmw Posted April 19, 2004 Author SRC Member Share Posted April 19, 2004 +/- 3 inches Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
FuEl Posted April 19, 2004 Share Posted April 19, 2004 I pushed alot of sand for my jawfish to play with...only about 1-1.5 inches though. However it's able to build a deep enough burrow (his whole body can sit comfortably in it) due to positioning of liverock and many cobbles for him for construction purposes. My hermits only visit his shelter now..cause all the extra shells are with him.. He became the shell supplier. Quote Always something more important than fish. http://reefbuilders.com/2012/03/08/sps-pico-reef/ Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dispar_Anthias Posted April 19, 2004 Share Posted April 19, 2004 But seriously.... most of the jawfish once added will tend to jump...... Seriosuly, I have seen the jawfish being proerly acclimatize as i was the first customer there during the shipment and i remain until almost to the dawn of next day....... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member hamannbmw Posted April 19, 2004 Author SRC Member Share Posted April 19, 2004 I pushed alot of sand for my jawfish to play with...only about 1-1.5 inches though. However it's able to build a deep enough burrow (his whole body can sit comfortably in it) due to positioning of liverock and many cobbles for him for construction purposes. My hermits only visit his shelter now..cause all the extra shells are with him.. He became the shell supplier. Mine too..... it has a front door n also a back door,, Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Supporter ReDDeviLs Posted April 28, 2004 SRC Supporter Share Posted April 28, 2004 sorry to dig out this old post,but do we have to supply shells and small stones for the goby to play with?? Quote [ ] [ ] Reef Reefing Reefed Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member freddychin Posted April 29, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted April 29, 2004 The nickname for this fish is "Jack in the Box" Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
FuEl Posted April 29, 2004 Share Posted April 29, 2004 sorry to dig out this old post,but do we have to supply shells and small stones for the goby to play with?? Yes. Grade 0 sand itself if not enough if you have a DSB. You need coral chips of bigger grades like 3-4 to help the jawfish stabilise the burrow. Quote Always something more important than fish. http://reefbuilders.com/2012/03/08/sps-pico-reef/ Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member hamannbmw Posted April 29, 2004 Author SRC Member Share Posted April 29, 2004 Yes. Grade 0 sand itself if not enough if you have a DSB. You need coral chips of bigger grades like 3-4 to help the jawfish stabilise the burrow. But i nv put any leh .. anyway its not happy with its current HDB flat.... had since move to Condo liao...... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...