• Replies 1.6k

Alfa: i know u like it...will see one in your tank soon

AP: Halloween Hermit Crab

(Ciliopagurus strigatus)

http://www.liveaquaria.com/product/prod_Di...=23&pCatId=1639

The Halloween Hermit Crab originating from the Hawaiian Islands, is bright orange with red banding. They are a very colorful addition to the marine aquarium, and they aid in eating any left over food that may settle on the substrate. These crabs live in abandoned snail or triton shells, or it may resort to attacking and eating a snail so it can use the shell for its home.

The Halloween Hermit Crab is a valuable addition to an aquarium because it will eat algae including green hair algae and cyanobacteria. In addition, it provides valuable aeration by sifting through the sand. These Hermit Crabs can become destructive in a reef aquarium when they attain a large size.

If there is an insufficient amount of algae present, the Halloween Hermit Crab will need to be fed dried seaweed, as well as meaty items such as mysis shrimp.

i think they are pretty cool..although the article above says they eat cyano and hair algae....i never directly see them eating small cyano spots about 20 cents coins last time....and din see any hair algae before they came or after they are introduced...

so whether they are as effective as the article states, i cannot verify...if all i can say is that you can see from my pics that my rocks are pretty clean :)

post-34-1084249425.jpg

AP:

I think the article and url link has the answers to your questions :)

Care Level: Easy

Tank Conditions: 72-78°F; sg 1.020-1.025; pH 8.1-8.4; dKH 8-12

Temperament: Peaceful

Max. Size In Aquarium: Up to 2"

Reef Compatible: Yes

Diet: Omnivore

Origin: Hawaii

Family: Diogenidae

The Halloween Hermit Crab originating from the Hawaiian Islands, is bright orange with red banding. They are a very colorful addition to the marine aquarium, and they aid in eating any left over food that may settle on the substrate. These crabs live in abandoned snail or triton shells, or it may resort to attacking and eating a snail so it can use the shell for its home.

The Halloween Hermit Crab is a valuable addition to an aquarium because it will eat algae including green hair algae and cyanobacteria. In addition, it provides valuable aeration by sifting through the sand. These Hermit Crabs can become destructive in a reef aquarium when they attain a large size.

If there is an insufficient amount of algae present, the Halloween Hermit Crab will need to be fed dried seaweed, as well as meaty items such as mysis shrimp.

to trust them or not..up to the reefer personally lah..but i feel that in any case when i decide to remove them...just pop into the tank and get them out...they dun dive into dens like fishes do....so it's much easier to remove them as and when you like :)

AP:

I think the article and url link has the answers to your questions :)

Tank Conditions: 72-78°F; sg 1.020-1.025; pH 8.1-8.4; dKH 8-12

Temperament: Peaceful

Max. Size In Aquarium: Up to 2"

Origin: Hawaii

Family: Diogenidae

to trust them or not..up to the reefer personally lah..but i feel that in any case when i decide to remove them...just pop into the tank and get them out...they dun dive into dens like fishes do....so it's much easier to remove them as and when you like :)

hv 2 of the hermit in my tank 2... same az u, nvr seen them eatin' any green hairy algaes or cyanoz

yeah....

anyway...the hermit crabs are the only crabs in my main tank together

sallyfoots are in my clam tank and some i place in the sump, and pass some away already :)

roidan,

how doez the sally lightfoot helpz in a reef set up??? advise...

hi heckers, in a reef setup i am not too sure, maybe u can ask AP who has used it in a reef tank...

i am using them to clean my clam shells and provent algae from growing in the clam tank where there are no natural algae eaters..

http://www.liveaquaria.com/product/prod_Di...d=23&pCatId=625

Sally Lightfoot Crab

(Percnon gibbesi)

Tank Conditions: 72-78°F; sg 1.023-1.025; pH 8.1-8.4; dKH 8-12

Temperament: Semi-aggressive

Max. Size In Aquarium: Up to 3"

Origin: Caribbean, Atlantic Ocean

Family: Grapsidae

The Sally Lightfoot Crab is also known as the Nimble Spray, Short, or Urchin Crab. It has a brown body, with orange to yellow rings on the legs. It actually belongs to a family of shore crabs, however, it is less likely than the other genera to go on land. Its carapace is very flat. which allows it to hide in small crevices within rock work.

It prefers a strong current and will require a large aquarium with large amounts of rock work where it can hide and scavenge for detritus. It will also eat algae. When large, it can become aggressive and catch and eat small invertebrates and fish.

If insufficient algae is present, its diet may need to be supplemented with dried seaweed. Meaty items should also be offered

roidan,

how doez the sally lightfoot helpz in a reef set up??? advise...

the SallyLightFoots helped clear some nuisance algae blooms when my tank was going through it's natural phase and at present clearing my LR of any unsightly growth that may occur from time to time.... :)

I can sometimes find them on the sandbed picking at diatoms that may have appeared , so naturally they are helpful and run away from my fishes when they get too close. I have also been able to feed them from my hands ocassionally when I feed my fishes sometimes. They look like spiders to me which are none my favorites..... :lol:

the SallyLightFoots helped clear some nuisance algae blooms when my tank was going through it's natural phase and at present clearing my LR of any unsightly growth that may occur from time to time.... :)

I can sometimes find them on the sandbed picking at diatoms that may have appeared , so naturally they are helpful and run away from my fishes when they get too close. I have also been able to feed them from my hands ocassionally when I feed my fishes sometimes. They look like spiders to me which are none my favorites..... :lol:

Acanthurus pyroferus,

thkz!!! so these crabz of urz dun attack ur fishez huh??? veri scare tat they will harm my fishez leh...

btw, saw them in LFS once den nvr seen them again... r they commonly found???

Acanthurus pyroferus,

thkz!!! so these crabz of urz dun attack ur fishez huh??? veri scare tat they will harm my fishez leh...

btw, saw them in LFS once den nvr seen them again... r they commonly found???

Eaquarist sometimes bring them in , so you can check with them from time to time..... :D Don't worry , they are mostly among the LR's and busy picking any algae they chance upon..... ;) My small gobies always sit next to them and when I headcount all of them are still there , so no they don't attack..... :D most welcome by the way.