Roidan's Reef (II)

roidan

• Replies 1.6k

Bro, u using distilled water to do the water-change?

not distilled...just de-ionised water

yeah AP,

since december set up tank till now, never change water till today...

actually also dun wanna change water, but scared got unknown parameters out of whack, so better change...

actually i wanted to change water at the one year mark one...haha..but never mind lah...every half a year change water, not so tiring also :lol:

distilled water? Bro Roidan.....pay somebody bring RO/DI one liao..... :lol:

even my top up water is straight from the tap add some dechlorinator to get rid of chlorine and chloramine only....

if newater has substance that is not suitable for marine, then after about half a year of non water change and continual daily top ups straight from the tap, i think alot of things would have died already...

so i can safely say that in my opinion, newater is safe...at least water supply to my sengkang unit is safe....and i dun have any proper RO/DI equipment

so those who wanna blame newater for problems in their tanks, i think better look elsewhere for other factors.....dun blame newater :lol:

dun even use my DI chamber for daily topups....first time use DI chamber last night to store a whole large toyogo tub of water, this morning mix salt and let it settle down and afternoon just now did the water change :lol:

even my top up water is straight from the tap add some dechlorinator to get rid of chlorine and chloramine only....

if newater has substance that is not suitable for marine, then after about half a year of non water change and continual daily top ups straight from the tap, i think alot of things would have died already...

so i can safely say that in my opinion, newater is safe...at least water supply to my sengkang unit is safe....and i dun have any proper RO/DI equipment

so those who wanna blame newater for problems in their tanks, i think better look elsewhere for other factors.....dun blame newater :lol:

dun even use my DI chamber for daily topups....first time use DI chamber last night to store a whole large toyogo tub of water, this morning mix salt and let it settle down and afternoon just now did the water change :lol:

wah really ah...bro.Roidan? Newater that good ah?..... :blink: Only your area or everywhere?

not distilled...just de-ionised water

yeah AP,

since december set up tank till now, never change water till today...

actually also dun wanna change water, but scared got unknown parameters out of whack, so better change...

actually i wanted to change water at the one year mark one...haha..but never mind lah...every half a year change water, not so tiring also :lol:

:bow: roidan :bow: , your water parameters must be really good then change every half year...... :whistle

i think there are slight variations in water quality across the island depending where the reservoir is tapped from....

even PH of tapwater differs from place to place...i know my tapwater ph is around 8.7 to 8.8 straight off the tap...whereas dispar's tapwater ph off the tap is around 8.0..

i am not sure why the ph difference...but there will be slight variations...

but at least i can say newater is not a problem for sensitve marine invertebrates, let alone for our drinking...

3 cheers for newater...hehe

u can thank my 2 skimmers to export waste mud out of the system before they break down into nitrates and other substances....

i got my inspiration from a bro here who never changes water for his sps reef for more than a year...yet no algae problems, no sps problems...but of coz his fishload is much much less than mine

but better be safe than sorry lah...maybe when i upgrade my skimmers, really can push for one year....

for now, better dun push my good fortune too far, to stock so much and so fast is nothing short of a small miracle :lol:

like i said, initially wanted to wait till one year then change water as nothing seems to be out of whack in the system...but something tells me not to be complacent although nothing is wrong, changing some water wun hurt also...

maybe my fish sense is at work here, no complicated IKS system to manage my reef...only RKS (roidan kontrol system) :P

then i can move on to 2ft sps cube....no fish feedings...no worries about nutrient levels....400W MH of light....hmmm....i can envision the colours of my future sps reef liao *building air castles again* :lol::snore::lol:

Bro, u sure u changed the water or u maid do it for u :evil:

haha....er...share the workload lah...

the new saltwater was in the bathroom...i was in charge of draining the sump and the tank....

my maid in charge of going to the bathroom and getting the new saltwater and pouring into the sump....everytime the sump water level goes high, i turn on the return pump and pump water to the tank....

a few trips...and all is done....

now, i wonder, why am i so lazy for the past half year <_<

haha..okok..dun scold me..i have indeed done my first water change :lol:

yeah...the lightening of the skin is not unusual...know it sometime back...

but i never knew bloodshrimps do cleaning also...this is the first time i saw... :blink:

tat's why i quite surprised to see the bloodshrimp instead of the usual cleaner shrimps

sorry..i sua gu....hahaha :lol:

before I even had a cleaner shrimp in my tank *owing to the great CS shortage late last year*, my 6 bloodshrimps actually set up cleaning posts to clean my Dispars. (=