Suicide bomber; black sea cuke

ocean

Woke up this morning & was preparing to feed my fishes before going to work. Noticed fishes' behaviours were strange. Did a roll call.....black sea cuke MIA. Begin Search & Rescue operation. After 1 minute.....change to Search & Recovery operation.....found it half body lodged at the power head intake, the other half already "diffused into water".

Current tally:

death : 1 yellow tang (favourite fish), 1 black sea cuke

Remaining fishes are not doing very well either.

:cry2::cry2::cry2:

sea cuke and anemones...how stupid can they get!!!that's one of the reason y i dun want to put any extra PH in my tank....i believe it is either use sea cuke to clear dirt on the sand or use a tunze / PHs to keep the sand bed clean

anyway, pls quickly do a 50% water change....u might also need dose NUTRAFIN CYCLE to clear away the ammonia and nitrite....

do another 50% water change over the weekend to clear away the toxic tat the sea cuke release....

alternatively, catch all the LS and dump into my tank.....i have nothing in my tank now....but juz tong pang, when ur tank is ok...u come and catch loh....i stay in woodlands....hotel fee is $2 per head per day....breakfast, dinner and lunch provided...hahahahha...no fee lah.....

hmmm....how did that happen? Is the power head near the sand bed or the sea cuke climb up your tank and insert itself into the power head? How big is your sea cuke? or should I ask how big is your power head....? :huh:

DANGER!!! I was thinking to get 1......hesitating now! :fear:

Yet another cuke nuke. Regular as ever.

Please, all other cuke users. Please practice protected cuking. Ensure there are no gaps big enough on the pumps that can suck a cuke in.

If you have done a complete waterchange, using carbon will help improve the situation.

so sad to hear your loss....me too has a black cuke in my tank, doing ok till he tunnel himself thru a small hole in a piece of LR and the backside got stuck...but now he got himself out liao....so far he hasn't climb tat high to reach the PH..... :fear:

ocean, compared to me, i think you came off as rather lucky. I believe it was a couple of years ago when I replaced a black cuke with another cos it was too big. Only a few days later, my entire tank was wiped out, leaving only a few corals. At least a flame hawk, yellow tang, sailfin tang, 2 ocellaris and a dwarf angel passed on. The black cuke was never found.

Interestingly, the first one which did ok in the tank had little pricks on its body. The one with wmd felt velvety to the touch. Was tempted to get another one at ML recently cos of their small sizes. But they felt exactly like the killer one i had, so it was an awful reminder and I choose to maintain my tank cuke-free. :)

BTW, it was a mere 2 hours between ok and massacre.

Yet another cuke nuke. Regular as ever.

Please, all other cuke users. Please practice protected cuking. Ensure there are no gaps big enough on the pumps that can suck a cuke in.

If you have done a complete waterchange, using carbon will help improve the situation.

haha!! protected cuking .. ?? must use "long" izzit .. (put a cover over the sea ######) :rolleyes: haha .. just joking ...

i think its hard lah ... i tot of introducing a sea cuke ... but after considering the riskk ... dump that idea..

get big sand sifers ... they do a good job too ..

More losses…1 banggai cardinal, 1 yellowtail damsel, 1 3-stripe damsel. It’s a complete wipeout. :cry2::cry2::cry2:

alternatively, catch all the LS and dump into my tank.....i have nothing in my tank now....but juz tong pang, when ur tank is ok...u come and catch loh....i stay in woodlands....hotel fee is $2 per head per day....breakfast, dinner and lunch provided...hahahahha...no fee lah.....

Thanks typrobin for the offer… that was nice of you :thanks: , but don’t think it’s needed anymore.

hmmm....how did that happen? Is the power head near the sand bed or the sea cuke climb up your tank and insert itself into the power head?

The sea cuke must have climbed up the tank & committed suicide... the power head did not moves it's own position.

How big is your sea cuke?

Sea cuke size was about 2.5” long & 1” dia.

Yes, I did place in carbon to alleviate the damage but alas...

i tot there is a sort of filter cap for most PH to prevent large objects from being sucked in?

The spacing between the grilles of the power head’s suction cover is only 2mm wide. How it got sucked in is still a mystery? Unimaginable! :blink:

What a sad day :(

sad to hear that bro..

just got mine from the farm 2weeks ago...

notice this creature start to climb around my tank high and low within the past 2days..

today back onto sand bed liao,my tunze is hanging in the centre of the side glass panel.. was so worried that the cuke might be reduce into juiced...

getting your tank wiped out is not a bad thing actually....my tank got wiped out too, due to disease, spoilt additives and negligence....now my tank is still empty after about 1mth....mom questioning me already....

at least, we now learn what to do and what not to do....its a painful experience but i fully believe u will do better the next time round....now i am aiming for more challenging LS like tangs....the ultimate one will be powder blue tang....at least now my tank does not have aggressive damsels and clowns...

just don't give up because of a mishap, its not entirely your fault....a nuke is unavoidable, juz have to get asea cuke with higher IQ....hahahahaha