anemone placement

ReDDeviLs

hi bros,

got rather curious over the placing of the anemone..

i know that anemone do sting other corals so was advise not to place near other corals except their own kind,however.. i saw some reefers anemone sits beside other corals..like button mushrooms..

1 of the e.g is the display tank at tropical marine pasir ris farmway 1..

they had a pink tip anemone with some buttonmushrooms and other corals right beside the anemone and it have been months both coral and anemone is fine... :blink:

heard from some friends that some coral can take the sting of anemone.. is that true?

can someone clear my doubt.. :thanks:

in the battle between corals and anemone,

the anemone always wins...

cos the anemone can move if its sting is not strong enough.

personally, i have never successfully placed an anemone,

they kinda place themselves.

usually, they pick their choice spot, then i place corals around them,

if at all.

i once had an anemone who decided to move after staying in a particular spot for months, woke up to find some of my beautiful

blasstas and mushies stung <_<

yes bum is right ..

one of my anemone move ard everyday. but there is a way ... get a clown fish to house in ur anemone ... that will stop it from moving ... from my experience...

the one that moves everyday is not housing any clown ... going to get one to house it in ...

is any bro like me here .. an anemone freak... i have 10 anemone in my tank .. and more to come ..

my suggestion, place them in a LFS....

i've heard bad remarks about anemone....

1) they release toxic when stress

2) stings the hell out of your other corals

3) shredded when they move too close to powerheads

4) move too much

5) add to bio load

i used to have 2 anemones, 1 got shredded, the other sold away....not really a good choice for long term.....

i give up on anemone a long time ago

they always move to my powerhead then u all should know wat happen liao lor (milk shake)

anyway now very interested in a rose anemone

lol

jaz cant resist the beauti of it

btw i have clown fish to house my anemone but then they still move leh

oh ... then i should consider myself lucky ... as they dun move that much ...

19percula is rite!!

the beauty of the bubble tip is hard to resist..

i have 2 dwarf anemone hosting 2 ######

4 bubbletips...

rose hosting a tomatoclown

green w/white band hosting a clark clown

pink tip with lumin green stem running ard ..

and a lumin green sitting there for ages ..

and 3 of the red bottom ... dunno wat they are call actually ..