SRC Member ah^siao Posted April 24, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted April 24, 2004 how did u do the bottom of the intake? the part there the air tude is slot in Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member ervine Posted April 24, 2004 Author SRC Member Share Posted April 24, 2004 how did u do the bottom of the intake? the part there the air tude is slot in See here... http://www.sgreefclub.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=14736 Basically it's a normal PVC tubing heated and twisted with a pliers until it starts to bottleneck... then simply drill a small hole just enough for the little air tubing elbow to go in and super glue it in place.. As for the connection to the pump, heat the tubing again and squeeze it till it moulds over the intake of the pump... completely no damage or modification to the pump for this part... The elbow is there coz it's part of my skimmer... so that part can ignore... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member ervine Posted April 24, 2004 Author SRC Member Share Posted April 24, 2004 then i dont think my pump can do it unless i supply it with a control valve and an air pump cos my PH air inlet is a default one.. somehow pushing water out of it.. crazy manz! You have to modify your pump to make it work with the needlewheel impeller, the air inlet for most (if not all) pumps comes at the outlet.. See the pics above... the venturi intake is not at the output but rather at the input... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
desm0nds Posted April 25, 2004 Share Posted April 25, 2004 sorry guys, i am rather ignorance to this. care to explain the need for the "twisted" point? thks! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
huiwen Posted April 25, 2004 Share Posted April 25, 2004 Wah, Nice and thick bubbles =) should be super thick "kopi O" skimmate =) Cheers, Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member ervine Posted April 25, 2004 Author SRC Member Share Posted April 25, 2004 sorry guys, i am rather ignorance to this. care to explain the need for the "twisted" point? thks! It's not so much the twisting, it's the constriction that matters. It's just I achieved that constriction with a simple twist. This constriction forces water to move at a higher velocity through the constriction, this higher velocity in turn sucks in air from the air intake. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
desm0nds Posted April 25, 2004 Share Posted April 25, 2004 thanks ervine. So am i I right to say that with this constriction method, you dont actually need to have an air pump to pump into the air inlet? Its the high speed movement that will eventually draws in the air from the other end of the air tube? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
desm0nds Posted April 25, 2004 Share Posted April 25, 2004 and also. Is the "blade" of the impeller is actually being replaced by the brush construction? If so, how do the water get sucks into the modified impeller and then being push back out to the main tank? All along I thought the blade works like a typical fan. When spinned, it draws air and then pushes it out through the other side cos of the slanted blade structure? This is very intersting. Care to share more about this? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member ervine Posted April 25, 2004 Author SRC Member Share Posted April 25, 2004 Huh... only airstone driven skimmers need an air pump.. so yes, the movement of the water will naturally draw in the air... As for blades, I don't know how to explain it but it still moves water.. although it's notably less than if it were the fans... centrifugal action? shucks cannot remeber the term.. But anyways, the curving of the blades you mentioned (like a typical table fan) works when the movement of fluid is straight past the blades, for the case of centrifugal (not sure if I'm right) the movement is in and then out at 90 degrees.... something like that lah... Aiyah as long as it still moves water lah... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Cedric Posted April 25, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted April 25, 2004 and also. Is the "blade" of the impeller is actually being replaced by the brush construction? If so, how do the water get sucks into the modified impeller and then being push back out to the main tank? All along I thought the blade works like a typical fan. When spinned, it draws air and then pushes it out through the other side cos of the slanted blade structure? This is very intersting. Care to share more about this? Think of centrifugial force. The blades of the impellor does not work like a fan. It draws water into the centre of the impellor and forces it out the circumference to the outlet of the pump. Quote Comments are welcome! Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
desm0nds Posted April 26, 2004 Share Posted April 26, 2004 oki. got it. thks. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member kee Posted April 29, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted April 29, 2004 is it noisY? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member ervine Posted April 29, 2004 Author SRC Member Share Posted April 29, 2004 is it noisY? Yah it hums... although you won't hear it until u're 2 feet away.. Wonder why though.. supposed to be quite silent... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member ryz Posted May 25, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted May 25, 2004 wah ervine... nice mod man... can you help me with mine??? Quote Live and Let Live Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member ervine Posted May 25, 2004 Author SRC Member Share Posted May 25, 2004 wah ervine... nice mod man... can you help me with mine??? Got ur PM... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
RAV-65 Posted December 8, 2004 Share Posted December 8, 2004 Always admired people who can DIY!! I was born with 2 left hands... the only DIY I did to date was to make a wooden stand for my MH, juz simply buy a rack from Ikea and saw off the legs!! Quote People do not plan to fail; Often they just fail to plan... Wat I do to prevent myself from tearing my hair out... My stress remedy... Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member ervine Posted December 8, 2004 Author SRC Member Share Posted December 8, 2004 I took replaced the modded impeller with the original one already... so the modded one is lying around, anyone wants to buy it over from me? Impeller only ah.. the maxijet is now used as a wavemaker (sawed off the output nozzle) Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...