blueheaven Posted April 13, 2004 Share Posted April 13, 2004 Hi guys, i thought of an idea for making your own reflector. it is to use those car windscreen cover(those with a very shiny surface) it is also bendable and can be made into a U-shaped parabola but my only concern is whether it can "tahan" the heat given off by the bulb. just to share my idea Quote But if you tame me, we shall need each other. To me, you will be unique in all the world. To you, I shall be unique in all the world... You become responsible, forever, for what you have tamed. -Antoine de Saint-Exupery Keep our hobby sustainable, participate in fragging NOW CHAETO Farmer Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member CalciumReef Posted April 13, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted April 13, 2004 Isnt it better off using just a normal FL light reflector?No difference IMO Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member trader_best Posted April 13, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted April 13, 2004 haha...use aluminium foil lor...cheap cheap, just kidding kae... i have a spare reflector, about 1ft in length....you wan i i can let go to you...hehe Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
blueheaven Posted April 13, 2004 Author Share Posted April 13, 2004 well, i believe that the car windscreen cover is much more reflective than the normal FL reflectors and aluminium. furthermore, it can be bent to a parabolic shape much like the spider reflectors Quote But if you tame me, we shall need each other. To me, you will be unique in all the world. To you, I shall be unique in all the world... You become responsible, forever, for what you have tamed. -Antoine de Saint-Exupery Keep our hobby sustainable, participate in fragging NOW CHAETO Farmer Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
giantbicycle Posted April 14, 2004 Share Posted April 14, 2004 erm...are your reffering to the window sheet that reflects the sun from getting into the car...i think cannot tahan the heat produce ...will melt Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
desm0nds Posted April 14, 2004 Share Posted April 14, 2004 If it can be used in a car, it should be able to withstand the heat. Just my 2 cents worth. A non-started car parked under the sun can actually raised the temperature inside the car to way above 32 degree celcius. And cos of that, the "rubber" used for making the steering wheel is of heat resistant standard. Apparently, they are being tested for heat above 40 degree or so. So logically, that film you are talking about should be able to withstand the heat produced off by the light. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Eric Posted April 14, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted April 14, 2004 If it can be used in a car, it should be able to withstand the heat. Just my 2 cents worth. A non-started car parked under the sun can actually raised the temperature inside the car to way above 32 degree celcius. And cos of that, the "rubber" used for making the steering wheel is of heat resistant standard. Apparently, they are being tested for heat above 40 degree or so. So logically, that film you are talking about should be able to withstand the heat produced off by the light. Normal lights should be no problem, Metal Halides I think too hot liao, my wooden hood without the aluminium foil sticker can even burn at a distance. There must be at least 100C for MH lamps. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member moron_clown Posted April 14, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted April 14, 2004 yup.i once got a blister when i touched them after they were on for 8 hours...u should'nt try... Quote Reef Journal Gf's 6ft FOWLR My previous 4X2X2.5 (Retired) Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
blueheaven Posted April 15, 2004 Author Share Posted April 15, 2004 whoah! i wouldn't imagine my lights burning Quote But if you tame me, we shall need each other. To me, you will be unique in all the world. To you, I shall be unique in all the world... You become responsible, forever, for what you have tamed. -Antoine de Saint-Exupery Keep our hobby sustainable, participate in fragging NOW CHAETO Farmer Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...