New Tank

Morgan

I ordered a new tank today. It is a 6' x 2' x 2.5' 12mm glass with an external overflow box attached to the side. I ordered from a fish tank manufacturer near my working place.

Downside: Do not know the completion date. The boss will let me know once it is ready.

Upside: Workmanship looks good from the 3 footers at his workshop.

This tank will plumb together with my FOWLR.

I will be setting this one as a reef tank for LPS and some softies.

For fishes intend keep anthias and other reef safe fishes.

Congrats!!!! :)

Looks like big tanks are the way to go (if you afford it!)

Are you putting this outside or inside your home?

Anthias too? Cool... looks like we have the same concept.

You do know the difficulties of sustaining athias right? ;)

My plankton factory will be in commission soon...... !

Hi AT

Yea big tanks are the way to go :D

The tank will be place outside my house together with my other tank.

Anthias

What do you have or tried and diffcuilty in keeping them?

Currently I have 2 dispar, 2 tricolour and 1 square. No problem with them, feeds on frozen food and tetra bit.

And here is the whole sump/refugium...

The Sump's not completed yet... will be siliconing plates at the bottom for support and bracing at the top for the refugium compartment... will update as I go along...

BTW, total specs of sump : 54 by 20 by 24 inches

first compartment : 9 inches length

refugium 29 inches length

last filter compartment/ reservoir : 16 inches..

post-7-1034230204.jpg

Just wan some comments why most ppl is choosing external overflow box rather than the usual internal overflow box? Is it because of the drilled hole might weaken the tank base? ;)

Hey Phang!!

You should be starting your own thread on your own reef project!!!!!

:) :) :)

Don't hijack Morgan's!!!

Oops... Very Sorry.... :(:(:(

Will Start my own thread soon...somehow got stuck with my development due to many unforeseen circumstances so now still waiting...

Excited lah but got nothing to show yet........

Hey Morgan... very Paiseh leh....

I will update very soon... and would definitely need lots of advice from you more experience reefs guys.........

No my friend... I hate to waste space inside the tank and a box inside hampers the water flow!

It's also very ugly to see a box inside the tank! :)

Is a external overflow Safe???

A question that I have been wanting to ask for a very long long time.....

It may not be very safe if you do not have supports for it.

I'll post a pix of my external overflow box supports in my project update thread soon!

We are out of topic here! :ph34r:

Well tank arrived. Look OK.

I might have a problem with the stand. Afraid that it might not take the weight.

Now I am considering making a wooden stand to replace stainless steel.

Any good recommendation?

Will clean up the tank this weekend but will not setup it yet incase I decided to change to a wooden stand.