Disruption of NS for studies

SpiderOne

Hey spidey....u servin only 2yrs NS? or 2.5yrs. If the latter, then ur ORD will be like in Nov/Dec. Else it will be july-june/july. Check with CMPB for more confirmation details than askin here. U will ended up with lots of info tat may nt be accurate. :lol:

yes it is possible to disrupt earlier

but after yr studies have to come back and serve finish

Apply for Deferment (Overseas Studies)

Deferment from full time National Service to pursue an overseas course can be granted provided:

a. The course commences before the age of 17 ½ AND

b. A bank guarantee of a minimum of S$75,000 or 50% of the combined annual gross income of the parents for the preceding year, whichever is higher, is furnished.

However, the bank guarantee may be waived for those NS liables who accompany their parents on overseas employment. Instead, they can be bonded by a Deed (Personal Guarantee) with two sureties.

The deferment is only granted for the completion of the course he has commenced before the age of 17 ½ years and no further extension of deferment will be allowed unless he commences another fresh course of studies before 17 ½ years of age.

If you are in Singapore, you have to be registered for NS before your application can be considered.

Above is extracted from mindef website so the info is accurate to date. Since ever read tat u r driving so tats make u above 18....NS here u go, bro. :P

Hey spidey....u servin only 2yrs NS? or 2.5yrs. If the latter, then ur ORD will be like in Nov/Dec. Else it will be july-june/july. Check with CMPB for more confirmation details than askin here. U will ended up with lots of info tat may nt be accurate. :lol:

now still 2 and 2.5 yrs meh? :unsure: .. I tot extended liao..

OK , deferment can be done at any time depending on the person.

If that person is a scholar, he can just defer anytime..... if he is not deferment is normally granted within the last half year of amry regardless of 2/1/2 or 2. But those mostly applicable for local studies.

If you are going oversea.... i remember that dont allowed you to defer without a bond.

But there are case whereby you can use ur leave to cover the so call early leaving of army service.... but that is totally subjected to the camp commander.... But if he dont allow you to do that.... by all mean go and look for the Member of Parliment. They can help you with it

IMO, just try to use leave to cover the last month.... if cannot then go 2 week later lor... Cause if it is ur first yr, 1 week is orientation, and the next 1 week is quite free one.....

If i enter NS at july . and i finish in july. but my semester starts in june. is it possible to disrupt to go off and study Overseas? How much bond do i have to pay?

whats the date gotta matter? If you like just disrupt and go study lah.. but I would advise go NS first coz, firstly after studying and then NS would make you forget what you learnt in school. Secondly with a higher education, the possibility of getting a 'men' status is lower. That means you will be thrown the bloody responsibility/crap of an officer easily. That would also mean you'll need to serve a longer NS and thereafter serve a longer reservist (only for officers).

just my thoughts... :P

anyway why do you say need to pay bond? :unsure:

im 19. Waiting for enlistment. checkup done long long ago . shld be june going in . i will come out at 2006 june . but i want to get out at 2005 dec to go start my foundation studies on january in WA . so i was wondering if need to pay bond to DISRUPT not DEFER. its too late to defer :P . worst come to worst i start in 2007 jan . then graduate in 2010 . I'm going to be 26 . damn . old man. hopefully go in june. then june come out . Can make it to July semester. then during vacation take extra CUs . if all goes well 25 can get out

from what i understand is that, you need to service a full 2yrs.

if you only service 2yrs NS...no disruptment is allow. if 2.5yrs...you can "own" them the 6mths and go for furthur studies. when you finish you can come back....my friend is of such cases. he still own his last few mths now....he disrupted in 1999. should be back this yr and he may become an MO..as he's a medical student at UK.

Tank: 5 X 2 X 2.5

Sump : 3 X 1.5 X 1.8

Tunze 6060

Tunze TF08

Oceanrunner 6500

Deltec AP 902 Protein Skimmer

I-Aquatic Calcium Reactor

Arctica Chiller

Ya u can SpiderOne Bro...Got a live example at home... :D

My bro went to UK for his degree 2 yrs back...he served his NS and left 1mth be4 his semester commence. He applied for his NS deferment thru PNS (He's from the police NS).

He carry on serving his remaining mths/yrs during his holidays back.

Hope this helps! :lol:

Hope this can help