Dispar_Anthias Posted July 22, 2004 Share Posted July 22, 2004 Wah your tank super zai leh... kinda crowded like mine liao oh ya wheres that pocillopora eydouxi.. can't seem to see it Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
DeepBlue Posted July 22, 2004 Author Share Posted July 22, 2004 macro said: The tip coloration look weak..is it bcos of the pic? actually..I am really not sure this one has pulled through....the piece of acro is pretty new, abt 3-4 weeks. dun talk about growth tip, I heard from many reefers that it is tough to keep without 400W and good wave control...it probably wont make it. Keeping the colour is also another thing... Background: the shipment was lost and spent extra time visiting Australia before turning back. Many reefers have lost their purchase. I was actually thinking about my acros coloration for quite a while possibly 2 X 250W 14000KMH alone is not enough....still waiting for the T5s to be up(just to lazy to make the call and arrange the setting up) I will most likely follow what scarab has done...adding a good supplement to the tank. I'll post another pic of the stressed piece...still hoping it will do well eventually. (well, a learning process about this kind of acros) Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
DeepBlue Posted July 22, 2004 Author Share Posted July 22, 2004 for a brighter growth tip ....I am hoping they will all look like that.... but with so many tangs in my 4footer...nutrient level can be rather high.... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
DeepBlue Posted July 22, 2004 Author Share Posted July 22, 2004 anyone able to help me id this piece...I think it is a staghorn....that's all....keeping the coloration is another challenge.... I am eagerly waiting for the arrival of the new pumps by Mic Young...hopefully they will provide more movt and flow in the tank. I do have a couple loses in areas where the currents are very weak... overworking the 6060 tunze pump...find the controllered ones too exp... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member bubble_gum Posted July 22, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted July 22, 2004 DeepBlue said: July 21stupdate wah chio lineup in the front Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weileong Posted July 22, 2004 Share Posted July 22, 2004 DeepBlue said: anyone able to help me id this piece...I think it is a staghorn....that's all....keeping the coloration is another challenge.... Deepblue... I think I've the same colony as yours. Does this appears purple or blue? Can't really tell from the photo. Mine is purple. Quote Weileong's 4ft tank Part I Weileong's 4ft tank Part II Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
DeepBlue Posted July 22, 2004 Author Share Posted July 22, 2004 I also noticed not all acros will have a different coloured growth tip.... I thought normally when a piece of acro grows further..the more colourful tips can be seen... apparently it is not the same for my blue tenius......it just grow slightly thicker and bigger ..but colour is the same blue colour. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
DeepBlue Posted July 22, 2004 Author Share Posted July 22, 2004 WL.... that piece is more to milk green..kind of like when you buy honeydew-w-milk juice kind... maybe a closer pic for id...(if cant get any confirmation...will have to go back to RC for help again...knowledge of guys there are awesome) Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
DeepBlue Posted July 22, 2004 Author Share Posted July 22, 2004 this is the last piece that needs id... source: Iwarna the actual piece is yellowish with a little suggestion of orange at the tip.... I suspect it is a yellow tenius as well......but polyps and coralite form seems to be different from the blue one... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member scarab Posted July 23, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted July 23, 2004 Bro, The staghorn one, I think is A. Abrolhosensis. Check this link Acropora Abrolhosensis The yellow one is confirm A. Tenuis. Got a frag myself which was from the previous shipment and ID confirm from an experienced reefer. Your blue Tenuis............. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member danano Posted July 23, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted July 23, 2004 Your tank is looking awesome DeepBlue! don't mean to sound like a broken record but... Your blue Tenuis.............. Seriously, however, it's looking a bit stubby. You may want to give it more flow. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
macro Posted July 23, 2004 Share Posted July 23, 2004 Coloration is in the water not in the amount of light thought a balance specturm is important.500W oif lighting is definately more than enough for a 100G.phospate level different of only 0.01 you can see the different in coloration. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
DeepBlue Posted July 24, 2004 Author Share Posted July 24, 2004 Danano, I may move the blue tenius to get more flow... I dun see huge growth rate for this little fellow... macro, thanks for sharing...I'll try to monitor and see the RM Fluidised Reactor I am running can further bring down the phosphate level like to thank scarab for the ID helpout as well so this yellow stag is also an Acropora Abrolhosensis. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
DeepBlue Posted July 24, 2004 Author Share Posted July 24, 2004 oh yah....danano...you know the id of this little guy...came from JoeP as well...apologies the pic doesnt show well, it has that electric blue coloration at the tip like yours... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member danano Posted July 24, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted July 24, 2004 Yup, that's it! From what I've seen, the colour will be darker and somewhat deeper under MH. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
DeepBlue Posted July 24, 2004 Author Share Posted July 24, 2004 yup....if it will color and grow like yours.... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member scarab Posted July 24, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted July 24, 2004 Bro, That same piece from Joe_P in my tank. Don't know ID Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member flubberina13 Posted July 24, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted July 24, 2004 Wah! Joe really has lots of jewels... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
DeepBlue Posted August 2, 2004 Author Share Posted August 2, 2004 oing a little update of some of my acros, my slow growing tenius.... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
DeepBlue Posted August 2, 2004 Author Share Posted August 2, 2004 my messy acro garden Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Creetin Posted August 2, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted August 2, 2004 DeepBlue said: my messy acro garden hey bro, u are right. Its really messy. Lemme clear it for u.... very nice corals!!!!!!!! Quote Get Paid To Read Emails. Free To Join Now! http://www.emailcashpro.com/?r=okdk11 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...