SRC Member Boltthrower Posted March 29, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted March 29, 2004 Hi Guys! Just want some comments on reefers using T5s by Dymax. They are quite cheap but wondering how good they are. Thks. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Acanthurus pyroferus Posted March 29, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted March 29, 2004 well....for some reefers that have tried it , there were alot of nagative comments. Personally I feel it's a worth a try because I am currently using a 2 footer and it's doing a great job for my refigium system. Haven't been able to grow algae with other lights until the T5's arrived... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member aStRoBo| Posted March 29, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted March 29, 2004 my corals still able to open up.. but not recommanded for those who have a much deeper in depth tank.. Quote Everything's sold. Back in 2yrs time. If it's a WRX, it gotta be STI. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member moron_clown Posted March 29, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted March 29, 2004 yup they are quite good.my clams are depending on them now since my mh set is not with me..but if the dymax can sustain all my lps(before i bought my mh) i dun see why it si'nt good.for the price,it's worth a try as pl or fl easily comes to that price. Quote Reef Journal Gf's 6ft FOWLR My previous 4X2X2.5 (Retired) Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Acanthurus pyroferus Posted March 29, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted March 29, 2004 it's worth it for sure and it hasn't given way on me after purchase.... For a 2ft. X 2 X 20watts each bulb it does it's job well. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Boltthrower Posted March 29, 2004 Author SRC Member Share Posted March 29, 2004 Thks Guys! So far very good comments about the T5s! By the way for 2 feet the price is $45 ?? I was told by a reefer here! I sthis true?? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
giantbicycle Posted March 29, 2004 Share Posted March 29, 2004 sorry for the how much raftly is it ?? THANKS Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member moron_clown Posted March 29, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted March 29, 2004 price wise will be $4X for 2 feet,$5X for 3 feet and $8X for 4 feet..if u wanna noe where to buy pm me,i dun think its nice to reveal the places selling..not fair to sponsors..wait kena whack by AT Quote Reef Journal Gf's 6ft FOWLR My previous 4X2X2.5 (Retired) Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member jd_n Posted March 29, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted March 29, 2004 Edwin(PR) told me the new dymax T5 is of newer generation so most probably some R&D had been dn and it had outperform (nvr heard any complain so far) the first batch. Quote There are 2 types of person, those that chose learn n do it rite the first time and those tat chose to learn it the hard way. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Boltthrower Posted March 29, 2004 Author SRC Member Share Posted March 29, 2004 Yup hear good reviews so far! Any negative ones?? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
lightningstrike Posted March 29, 2004 Share Posted March 29, 2004 i think the only difference is it is not a HO T5. for 3ft, dymax T5s r rated 30W whereas ATI & Aqualight T5s r rated 39W. i believe the fixture for dymax T5s r not using e-ballast oso right? Quote Austin the Westie: "I may be your best friend, but you are my everything". Lightning Strike's Back!!! Reefkeeping Is Not My Hobby, It's My Obsession. Austin's Birthday Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
benny Posted April 12, 2004 Share Posted April 12, 2004 I heard from the shops that the ballast is built in at the sides of the light set. Hence the ability to accomodate a longer tube. Can anyone verify this? Cheers, Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
giantbicycle Posted April 12, 2004 Share Posted April 12, 2004 yesh..its true...i heard from reborn ...that boy....Ah boy.. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member sunny03 Posted April 12, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted April 12, 2004 this is wat it look like inside mine gone after using 2 week Quote Selling big game fishing equipment. Stella 20k / 17k .. made in Japan jigging blue rose / kabuzu popping rod... pm for prices Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
benny Posted April 12, 2004 Share Posted April 12, 2004 It melted!!!??? Thank goodness your house didn't burnt down!!! Was this the first or second batch? Cheers, Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member bawater Posted April 13, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted April 13, 2004 moving out of product reviews. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
giantbicycle Posted April 14, 2004 Share Posted April 14, 2004 OMG!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! when u bought this set ?? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...