Davissim Posted August 10, 2016 Share Posted August 10, 2016 Hi Bro and Sis! Started reefing not long ago as inspire by my brother tank as his tank is so colourful when I still keep freshwater in the end switching fresh to salt hahaha! Firstly I started by 2×1×1.5 without and sub tank and just couldn't keep the parameters stable as I thought small tank is easier as I didn't did more research as my bro keep giving me advise and i choose not to listen and believe in myself, In the end my tank crash and some corals has been bleach and some dead and now starting to start slow and don't wanna be a kan chiong spider hahaha hope any sifu and reefer can give me some advise on reefing. Here's my tank and sub system graph. Main Tank Sub Tank Tank Equipments •TANK- 2.5×2×2 •PUMP- Jebao 9000DC, DC 2500 •SKIMMER- Skimz SN123 •WAVE MAKER- 2×RW4 •CHILLER- Hailea 66a •LIGHTING- DE Lighting T5 6×bulb •REACTOR- Skimz BR80 •MEDIA- 2×Marine Pure Block, Marine Pure Balls, Bateria King, Bio Rods •FILTRATION- Filter Wool Here's a pics I took today as I just started cycle my tank today putting raw prawn as a old traditional way to cycle the tank (10082016). Sent from my SM-G935F using Tapatalk Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Supporter Harlequinmania Posted August 11, 2016 SRC Supporter Share Posted August 11, 2016 Looking good .. you are using a dc 9000 as your main return pump? Look like a little bit overkillSent from Singapore Reef Club mobile app Quote 1000 Gallon Tank in the Hole http://www.sgreefclub.com/forum/topic/120957-1000-gallon-3d-hole-in-the-wall/ Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Davissim Posted August 11, 2016 Author Share Posted August 11, 2016 Looking good .. you are using a dc 9000 as your main return pump? Look like a little bit overkillSent from Singapore Reef Club mobile app The flow is ok not so strong!Sent from my SM-G935F using Tapatalk Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Supporter SubzeroLT Posted August 11, 2016 SRC Supporter Share Posted August 11, 2016 Nice setup! Look forward to updates. I noticed that the return pump is in the same compartment as the skimmer. This means that the water level may not be consistent => skimmer performance may vary. It may over skim if water level is higher, underskim if too low. Hence, an auto top up system is probably required. Quote Facebook : https://www.facebook.com/mysliceofnature/ Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Davissim Posted August 11, 2016 Author Share Posted August 11, 2016 Nice setup! Look forward to updates. I noticed that the return pump is in the same compartment as the skimmer. This means that the water level may not be consistent => skimmer performance may vary. It may over skim if water level is higher, underskim if too low. Hence, an auto top up system is probably required. Yeah I do have a tunze ATO gonna install when I have time Sent from my SM-G935F using Tapatalk Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Sherilyn91 Posted August 11, 2016 SRC Member Share Posted August 11, 2016 Yeah I do have a tunze ATO gonna install when I have time Sent from my SM-G935F using Tapatalk There might be micro bubbles being pumped back to your DTSent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Davissim Posted August 11, 2016 Author Share Posted August 11, 2016 There might be micro bubbles being pumped back to your DTSent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Yeah there's micro bubble going to the main tank when the skimmer is on now I still thinking a way how hahahaSent from my SM-G935F using Tapatalk Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Sherilyn91 Posted August 11, 2016 SRC Member Share Posted August 11, 2016 Yeah there's micro bubble going to the main tank when the skimmer is on now I still thinking a way how hahahaSent from my SM-G935F using Tapatalk You can try to do a plate to separate the skimmer Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Davissim Posted August 11, 2016 Author Share Posted August 11, 2016 You can try to do a plate to separate the skimmer Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk I have thought of putting acrylic and a sponge on the top between the skimmer and the return pump but I scared still got the mirco bubble....Sent from my SM-G935F using Tapatalk Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member jimmykj Posted August 22, 2016 SRC Member Share Posted August 22, 2016 On Wednesday, August 10, 2016 at 1:12 AM, Davissim said: Hi Bro and Sis! Started reefing not long ago as inspire by my brother tank as his tank is so colourful when I still keep freshwater in the end switching fresh to salt hahaha! Firstly I started by 2×1×1.5 without and sub tank and just couldn't keep the parameters stable as I thought small tank is easier as I didn't did more research as my bro keep giving me advise and i choose not to listen and believe in myself, In the end my tank crash and some corals has been bleach and some dead and now starting to start slow and don't wanna be a kan chiong spider hahaha hope any sifu and reefer can give me some advise on reefing. Here's my tank and sub system graph. Main Tank Sub Tank Tank Equipments •TANK- 2.5×2×2 •PUMP- Jebao 9000DC, DC 2500 •SKIMMER- Skimz SN123 •WAVE MAKER- 2×RW4 •CHILLER- Hailea 66a •LIGHTING- DE Lighting T5 6×bulb •REACTOR- Skimz BR80 •MEDIA- 2×Marine Pure Block, Marine Pure Balls, Bateria King, Bio Rods •FILTRATION- Filter Wool Here's a pics I took today as I just started cycle my tank today putting raw prawn as a old traditional way to cycle the tank (10082016). Sent from my SM-G935F using Tapatalk great sump.. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Davissim Posted September 3, 2016 Author Share Posted September 3, 2016 Update yi xia Recently had a change of the scape of my reef and of cos algae start to strike like there's no tmr, here's the pics of the tank for the past few weeks).Diatom algae started to come and stay my tank at 18082016And finally starting to disappear today which is 3092016Thanks goodness it gone quite fast as I did a 80% water change on 27082016 as ammonia and nitrite reading has gone to zero and nirate has gone up. And also brought some clean up crew from ah beng to eat all the algae and it really help alot dk if I kiasu or what cos brought 12 Turbo snail and 5 Sally light foot crab and they did their work pretty well Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Admiraltian Posted September 3, 2016 Share Posted September 3, 2016 Nice scape. Going to keep sps? Quote Display Tank : 36" x 20" x 20" Herbie overflow box design, Sump : 36" x 21" x 17", Frag Tank : 16” x 20” x 16”, custom built by Tank Culture. Lightings : Ecotech Radion XR15 Pro x 2 for Main Display Tank, Inled R80 x 1 for Frag Tank. Chiller : Dalkin 1hp compressor with build-in drop coil. Skimmer : Skimz Octa SC205i Protein Skimmer. FR : H2Ocean FMR75 Fluidised Media Reactor with Hailea HX-2500 (Feeder Pump) running Rowaphos. CR : Skimz Monzter E Series CM122 Calcium Reactor. BPR: Marine Source Biopellet Reactor with Continuum Reef Biopellet Fuel. Main Return Pump : SICCE Syncra ADV 9.0 & Jebao ACQ-10000 Water Pump. Wavemaker : Jebao MOW-9 x2 for Main Display Tank & Jebao SLW-20M Sine Wave Pump for Frag Tank. Water Top Up: AutoAqua Smart ATO Lite. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Davissim Posted September 3, 2016 Author Share Posted September 3, 2016 Nice scape. Going to keep sps?Mix reef hahahaHappy Reefing 🤗 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites