The Tang Family..

hi bros,saw quite alot of nice tangs recently.. was wondering if i could have purple tang,regal tang,white cheek surgeon tang,powder blue/brown tangs in my 5x2x2ft tank?

or which are the tangs than can be put together..currently have a purple tang in my tang already. please advise..

thanks guys

kena caught by tang police then u noe..... :lol::lol::lol:

hi bros,saw quite alot of nice tangs recently.. was wondering if i could have purple tang,regal tang,white cheek surgeon tang,powder blue/brown tangs in my 5x2x2ft tank?

or which are the tangs than can be put together..currently have a purple tang in my tang already. please advise..

thanks guys

too many tangs in ur 5ft. max 2-3

thanks guys

haha..you really like tang a lot hun..everything tang...even TANK is spell as tang haha,,, yea,...tang are nice fish ..The shape and colour are beautiful ...but too bad they need large swimming space and lots of LR to graze ... :(:(:lol:

too many tangs in ur 5ft. max 2-3

huh....only 2-3 tangs?? 5 feet leh! :huh: I will definately have more than that... :lol:

Reddevils....good question....I have been wanting to ask this as well....hmmm ;)

I think it is more than the number of tangs you can keep in the 5footer, need to check out compatibility as well. IMO, 5 FT can keep more than 3 tangs lah....(then again, coming from a tang lover.....dare you trust me :evil: )

Personal opinion will be if its Juvenile tang, you can keep 4 or 5 happy as long as there's enough hiding area provided compatibilty is taken care of as DB mentioned. However, be prepare to move them once they outgrow your tank unless u intend to upgrade ur tank too.

JC

haha sorry guys too carried away bye the "tangs"

and no tangs have eaten my purple tang! :lol:

so is there any website i can check about the competibility chart about the tangs?dun really trust the lfs when they tell me that which tang is easy to keep and can be be together...

currently got quite some lr but shld be clearning my ls for tangs if they can be together...

think i will got for 3 or 4 tangs only..

Don't meant to be rude, but a full growthTang, even the smallest species can growth up to 7~8inch in 5~7 yrs. One of my Yellow Tang grow from 2 inch to 6.5inch in less than 3 yrs. Some species, like Naso or whatever goes to 16 inch............... 1~3 Tang per 5~6ft is a right choice. I don't recommend more than 1 Tang for 3~4ft tank, less you have a Cube = 3x3x3 or 4x4x4.

Problem I observe here is that everybody kept buying and buying fish? Seems that you guys killing fish as fast as you buy it. Take a look at some of the people here buying fish..........one reefer can easly fill up Underwater World Sentosa :blink:

I personally find some fish like the wrasse family and those fish that tend to hide in sand or rock are caught using cyanide - you are not to blame for their death in our tanks due to wrong mehod in the trade. But as for Tang, I believe they are cuaght using net - they don't hide. The chances of survive is higher. If you are always buying.......... think about it.

:erm:

Max

Tangs are very hardy fishes as compared to other fishes. Once they are established. They are extremely hardy...and aggressive....if anyone wants to keep them, either keep the number down or upgrade eventually..... ;)

Seems that you guys killing fish as fast as you buy it.

That's an assumption.

I hope it doesnt happen to most reefers here.

Maybe guys would like to avoid the tougher ones like the PowderBlues & brown tangs, AT ... ... even regal tang if you are not sure how healthy they are....

All in all....do a bit of research and know your tank very well...that is quite crucial ;)

(I would love to see my tangs swimming in a 6fter too ........who doesnt? :lol::lol::lol:)

(time to go pester my 'CEO')

hm.. if thats the case i can only add 2 more tangs,but what should i do before adding new tangs?

should i purchase both tangs together and put them in?or purchase a bigger size 1 compare to my resident purple tang?

im doing some major rescaping next week.

is it better if i add the tangs right after the rescape?

becareful when you rescape...stirring up the sand may also cause a lot of stress to the LS..if you want to do that...catch the fish while you are rescaping...(assuming you cant catch it before you do that)

If you are getting a zebrasoma like your purple tang, get a very healthy specimen that will endure the harressments from your purple for the first few days...(if the size is smaller, not sure it will survive)

try other tangs? How about one from the acanthurus family?

Tangs are very hardy fishes as compared to other fishes. Once they are established. They are extremely hardy...and aggressive....if anyone wants to keep them, either keep the number down or upgrade eventually..... ;)

That's an assumption.

I hope it doesnt happen to most reefers here.

Maybe guys would like to avoid the tougher ones like the PowderBlues & brown tangs, AT ... ... even regal tang if you are not sure how healthy they are....

All in all....do a bit of research and know your tank very well...that is quite crucial ;)

(I would love to see my tangs swimming in a 6fter too ........who doesnt? :lol::lol::lol:)

(time to go pester my 'CEO')

You did not mentioned clown surgeon being one of the more tough to keep one <_<<_<<_<