My little new 3 footer...

RAV-65

I saw the bugger literally hugging one of my staghorns, it has all its legs wrapped around my poor defenseless staghorn and THANK GOD (!!!!!) I managed to use my plastic tongs to catch it, one mistake and this bugger would be hiding in the rocks again... :angry:

Now I'm also not sure.... can anyone advise if a crab can cause a SPS colony to RTN over night??

post-34-1128109793.jpg

• Replies 2k

cook it. :lol:

Cook it??? If this fella is indeed responsible for the death of my SPS colonies, it deserves one million deaths... :angry:

I would bake the fella in the sun and feed it with a little water every hour!! :evil::evil::evil:

I really lost count the number of huge crabs I caught in my tank!!!!

I REALLY REALLY HATE CRABS!!!!!

WHO HAS A CLOWN TRIGGER TO SELL?!??!?!?! :angry::angry::angry:

Cook it??? If this fella is indeed responsible for the death of my SPS colonies, it deserves one million deaths... :angry:

I would bake the fella in the sun and feed it with a little water every hour!! :evil::evil::evil:

I really lost count the number of huge crabs I caught in my tank!!!!

I REALLY REALLY HATE CRABS!!!!!

WHO HAS A CLOWN TRIGGER TO SELL?!??!?!?! :angry::angry::angry:

Bro get that hawk fish lah it will kill crabs too. :lol:

6x2.5x2.5 (GEO AQUATIC)

Aquamedic Turboflotor 5000Baby

Aquamedic NR1000

Aquamedic KR1000

Aquamedic Niveaumat

Aquamedic Ozone

RM Fluidised Reactor

Tunze 6060x3

Resun C1000

Aqualight 2x250w + 150w MH

I saw the bugger literally hugging one of my staghorns, it has all its legs wrapped around my poor defenseless staghorn and THANK GOD (!!!!!) I managed to use my plastic tongs to catch it, one mistake and this bugger would be hiding in the rocks again... :angry:

Now I'm also not sure.... can anyone advise if a crab can cause a SPS colony to RTN over night??

Some crabs discover a taste for sps corallites that they crush with their pincers (and eat?). Have you noticed any bald areas on the branches of your staghorns? This can happen overnight.

If unidentifiable, then best to assume it's a nuisance crab. How you dispose of it is entirely up to you... :lol:

:o

I have a few crabs in my tank. I have ignored it and now it becomes 3 inch big. I know there are 3 or 4 that size and some are smaller.

Really must catch them with traps.

I found some even use their claws to pin on the base of the sps.

Hope to catch all.

The moral of the story is be patience. When setting up your tank. Make sure you remove all nusiance pests.

Hope that last time i cook the rocks with kalk powder and make sure the pH drop and also all the pest inside the rocks.

:(

Yup. As well as your shrimps. :D

Haha lucky my shrimp is still alive and kicking. :lol:

6x2.5x2.5 (GEO AQUATIC)

Aquamedic NR1000

Aquamedic KR1000

Aquamedic Niveaumat

Aquamedic Ozone

RM Fluidised Reactor

Tunze 6060x3

Resun C1000

I know there are a few crabs in my tanK... always see them at night, but as they were pinching the rocks for algae, I leave them alone... until I saw this bugger "hugging" my staghorn last night... and I was lucky I managed to catch it with my plastic tongs... maybe bigger crabs more stupid... :lol: :lol: :lol:

But I shall not reveal how I disposed it! :evil::evil::evil:

Anyway, for my new tank, I'm gonna take my time to remove all the damn crabs... really damn sick of them... :( :( :(

Now I tink I better set trap to try to catch the others liao... :angry:

Some crabs discover a taste for sps corallites that they crush with their pincers (and eat?). Have you noticed any bald areas on the branches of your staghorns? This can happen overnight.

If unidentifiable, then best to assume it's a nuisance crab. How you dispose of it is entirely up to you... :lol:

Dan...

i got some colonies STN, showing the white skeletons... happened overnight, could it be the crabs????!!!!

i jus did my tank today!..

and i found a big 3cm crab runnning about too!..

i then decided to wash out my rocks..and guess what i found

1x Pistol Shrimp!!..now i know whose the culprit who have wake me up from my sleep every night

4x 3cm big crab

7x 1-2 cm crab

lots of teeny tiny crabs!!

they must be eating like greedy..

and i suspect they might be the cause for the death of my smaller fishes

*sobs*

Dan...

i got some colonies STN, showing the white skeletons... happened overnight, could it be the crabs????!!!!

If you see irregular white/bald patches on branches and/or the base, and it happened overnight, it is very possible that the crabs are the culprit. I am assuming your water parameters are fine. ;)

i jus did my tank today!..

and i found a big 3cm crab runnning about too!..

i then decided to wash out my rocks..and guess what i found

1x Pistol Shrimp!!..now i know whose the culprit who have wake me up from my sleep every night

4x 3cm big crab

7x 1-2 cm crab

lots of teeny tiny crabs!!

they must be eating like greedy..

and i suspect they might be the cause for the death of my smaller fishes

*sobs*

Wow! at least now ur tank got lesser crabs.... important to get rid of the big ones... smaller ones u can always deploy those hawkfish that we're using to exterminate them... :evil::evil::evil:

If you see irregular white/bald patches on branches and/or the base, and it happened overnight, it is very possible that the crabs are the culprit. I am assuming your water parameters are fine. ;)

I'm also not sure if the parameters are fine... I'm trying to pin the fault on the crabs... :P

Actually wat happened is that last week my CO2 tank ran out... although I already anticipated in advance, it ran out faster than I expected and was without co2 for 1.5 days... after dat I tink the kh dipped to about 5.7... :(

Not sure if the recent STN/RTN is due to this... :(

Tank Update:

All in all lost 5 colonies of SPS due to RTN... :(

Mostly hit are the millis, lost 4 colonies of millis, including one red millis... lucky I got 2 colonies of red and luckily my pink millis not affected... :) Thankfully out of those SPS that are lost, only 1 colony is my favourite, which I managed to frag successfully... :)

Another reason why all the STN happened came to mind : Suspect that last week when I tried to remove some pulsing xenia from my tank, as they are growing all over the place, the xenia could have purged some toxics into the water, I had to "forcibly" remove them...:(

Anyone can confirm??

Nonethelss, will be selling away all my Xenia eventually as I dun wan them in my new tank... they grow like weeds... :(

Think you must plan for contingencies for CR issues in your new tank (especially so since it's gonna be a bigger tank)..... ;)

else monies loss and effort on getting those gems are really painful..... :cry:

Actually already have a spare co2 tank to standby, but didn't know the co2 ran out sooo fast...., hence causing the delay... :(

Cam ehome today to find another colony STN... really sad... :(

Tank Update:

The STN didn't stop.... :( :( :(

However, manage to discover today that my SG is too high... tested it to find it at 1.028! :blink::blink::blink: Once again I overlooked and made such a newbie mistake... was overconfident as I measured it about 3 weeks ago and it was 1.024...:(

Learned another lesson today... :nc::nc::nc:

Immdiately did a 5 percent water change, followed by another 5 percent 12 hours later....

Hopefully the STN would finally stop, and of my SPS are clearly stressed... :(

Tank Update:

The STN didn't stop.... :( :( :(

However, manage to discover today that my SG is too high... tested it to find it at 1.028! :blink::blink::blink: Once again I overlooked and made such a newbie mistake... was overconfident as I measured it about 3 weeks ago and it was 1.024...:(

Learned another lesson today... :nc::nc::nc:

Immdiately did a 5 percent water change, followed by another 5 percent 12 hours later....

Hopefully the STN would finally stop, and of my SPS are clearly stressed... :(

Bro i think u r very stress too. :lol:

6x2.5x2.5 (GEO AQUATIC)

Aquamedic NR1000

Aquamedic KR1000

Aquamedic Niveaumat

Aquamedic Ozone

RM Fluidised Reactor

Tunze 6060x3

Resun C1000