giantbicycle Posted March 17, 2004 Share Posted March 17, 2004 hi just want to update ..I just bought 3 purple queen antihis today .. after 30min of aclimatising, i set them free.. Immediately , all swam into the LR and hid there..Still cant find... never come out and eat nor..swim around..all still lost Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Terryz_ Posted March 17, 2004 Share Posted March 17, 2004 They are like that one... If you go find will stress them up more... Just leave it and they will come out eventually... Quote Member of: Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member 19percula Posted March 17, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted March 17, 2004 bro this is very common for fishes they tend to hide coz afriad of danger just like u in a new enviorment u will tend to familar the surrounding first give its some time bro they will turn out fine Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member beaver Posted March 17, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted March 17, 2004 Dun wori abt it. My athias likes to hide initially but when food's in the tank, they will appear in feeding frenzy! Give it some time to get use to the environment Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member 19percula Posted March 17, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted March 17, 2004 don worry don worry be happy happy reefing Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member ryz Posted March 17, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted March 17, 2004 If you buy many anthias and introduce at once they would be more daring... I bought 2 dispar anthias initially... they keep hiding... then two days later I buy 4 more, they nv even hide... all come out... Let them be for a whille... they'll come out in a few days... Purple Queens hard to feed leh.. Quote Live and Let Live Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
IanJ Posted March 18, 2004 Share Posted March 18, 2004 I bought 4 in one go, all hid in the rocks. Three came out after days, weeks to feed. the fourth never came out for 2 months. Now i have all four eating well. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member coralreef Posted March 18, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted March 18, 2004 I bought 2 purple queen a few days ago.....initially all go hiding...didn't bother abt them..few hrs later.....they come out eating....not to worry.....if it's already eating at the LFS Quote Tank: 5 X 2 X 2.5 Sump : 3 X 1.5 X 1.8 Tunze 6060 Tunze TF08 Oceanrunner 6500 Deltec AP 902 Protein Skimmer I-Aquatic Calcium Reactor Arctica Chiller Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
giantbicycle Posted March 18, 2004 Author Share Posted March 18, 2004 ..Thanks for all the replies Not worry too much ..cost it is a special breed purple queen bought from CF ..So $$$$$$ hopefully it will come out.. But if it comes out , what should i feed it with ? Thanks.. i have a suply of frozen (brime shrimp)(mysis shrimp) flakes, pellets, dried krill.. and all these are soak with garlic guard..so any other food to recomand if my purple queen dosent eat all this Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member coralreef Posted March 18, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted March 18, 2004 try cycopees ( not sure if it';s correct spelling) Quote Tank: 5 X 2 X 2.5 Sump : 3 X 1.5 X 1.8 Tunze 6060 Tunze TF08 Oceanrunner 6500 Deltec AP 902 Protein Skimmer I-Aquatic Calcium Reactor Arctica Chiller Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member aStRoBo| Posted March 18, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted March 18, 2004 purple queen very picky about food, they rather starve to death sometimes.. cyclopeeze should be fine.. Quote Everything's sold. Back in 2yrs time. If it's a WRX, it gotta be STI. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dispar_Anthias Posted March 18, 2004 Share Posted March 18, 2004 purple queen very picky about food, they rather starve to death sometimes.. cyclopeeze should be fine.. Nope even cyclopeeze, its still hard to get them to eat... Thumb rule- nv buy PQ unless you know it is already eating Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member aStRoBo| Posted March 18, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted March 18, 2004 Nope even cyclopeeze, its still hard to get them to eat... Thumb rule- nv buy PQ unless you know it is already eating ya lor.. tat's wad i tot too.. but worst come to worst i just suggest to feed cyclopeeze lor.. maybe roidan bro can advise? Quote Everything's sold. Back in 2yrs time. If it's a WRX, it gotta be STI. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dispar_Anthias Posted March 18, 2004 Share Posted March 18, 2004 ya lor.. tat's wad i tot too.. but worst come to worst i just suggest to feed cyclopeeze lor.. maybe roidan bro can advise? I think the best bet to get PQ to eat is to use frozen zooplankton, thats the food PQ eat in the wild. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
roidan Posted March 18, 2004 Share Posted March 18, 2004 yeah..my pioneer batch were feeding from CF, the rest, all just followed even though they are from different places.... i feed them small size food like cyclopeeze..some even eat mysis shrimps... .....they eat them all up...but....can you feed them 3 to 5 times a day? and each time flooding the water with food? especially if you are at work? Quote Advanced Aquarist (March05) Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
giantbicycle Posted March 18, 2004 Author Share Posted March 18, 2004 but the reason is that it is not in sight at all ?? will try cyclopeeze ... thanks to all the replies.. will update everyday.. thanks Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
giantbicycle Posted March 18, 2004 Author Share Posted March 18, 2004 yea.........fed some brime shrimp just now and i saw it peeping out... BUT still not eating :cry2: ..will moniter it at least i know where is its hiding place..THANKS Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member typrobin Posted March 18, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted March 18, 2004 relax man...all my fishes hides like tat....previously when i haf a bicolour dottyback in the tank, my fire gobies hide even underneath the rocks...now that i removed the dottyback, they are swimming freely around. Quote MY OLD 3ft!! My Latest Plan!! Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
lightningstrike Posted March 18, 2004 Share Posted March 18, 2004 IMO, of most anthias available in LFS here, dispar and canberryi anthias should be the easiest to feed. initial coaxing might be required though. Quote Austin the Westie: "I may be your best friend, but you are my everything". Lightning Strike's Back!!! Reefkeeping Is Not My Hobby, It's My Obsession. Austin's Birthday Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
giantbicycle Posted March 18, 2004 Author Share Posted March 18, 2004 orh...can dispar anthias mix with my 4 cruently purple queen ? VEry happy to see them peek out ..but once i go near..they (choieng)/(rush) back to their hiding place... Still not eating my frozen brime shrimp.. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
giantbicycle Posted March 18, 2004 Author Share Posted March 18, 2004 I think the best bet to get PQ to eat is to use frozen zooplankton, thats the food PQ eat in the wild. may i know where to get this food ?? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dispar_Anthias Posted March 19, 2004 Share Posted March 19, 2004 may i know where to get this food ?? R used to have them but now it an out of stock.... Hmm iheard ML bring them in..... Anyway i would suggest try not to use cyclopeeze, have been trying some for sometime and then stop using.... water is really polluted and i seen one of my fren bloom with hair algae when he use cyclo as his staple food for his anthias tank. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
roidan Posted March 19, 2004 Share Posted March 19, 2004 yeah...cyclopeeze full of nutrients..good for anthias...bad for your system if can't export out in time Quote Advanced Aquarist (March05) Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dispar_Anthias Posted March 19, 2004 Share Posted March 19, 2004 yeah...cyclopeeze full of nutrients..good for anthias...bad for your system if can't export out in time Oh yah, he is using a h&S and still ca't cope with the nutrient Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
roidan Posted March 19, 2004 Share Posted March 19, 2004 which model he using ah...same as mine? mine is outsump 150-F2001 Quote Advanced Aquarist (March05) Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...