SRC Member five for fighting Posted March 13, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted March 13, 2004 aloo....im upgrading my 2ft to 2x1.5x1.5 tank..erm...issit okay if i use the water frm the 2ft tank and transer to the new tank? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member bubble_gum Posted March 13, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted March 13, 2004 y not??? den ur tank will cycle faster Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member ben Posted March 13, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted March 13, 2004 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member danano Posted March 13, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted March 13, 2004 aloo....im upgrading my 2ft to 2x1.5x1.5 tank..erm...issit okay if i use the water frm the 2ft tank and transer to the new tank? absolutely... what are you upgrading to? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
FuEl Posted March 13, 2004 Share Posted March 13, 2004 Sounds like he's upgrading from a 2x1x1 to a 2x1.5x1.5? Quote Always something more important than fish. http://reefbuilders.com/2012/03/08/sps-pico-reef/ Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member bubble_gum Posted March 13, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted March 13, 2004 maybe thicker tank? or tank wif sump? never know.... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
FuEl Posted March 13, 2004 Share Posted March 13, 2004 Hmm..okie..actually a 2X1.5X1.5 is rather safe with 6mm glass. Quote Always something more important than fish. http://reefbuilders.com/2012/03/08/sps-pico-reef/ Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member bubble_gum Posted March 13, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted March 13, 2004 ya lor. mine is 2x1x1.5 6mm wif 8mm base but my mums tank 10 mm all ard liao n 2.5ft onli Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member jd_n Posted March 13, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted March 13, 2004 aloo....im upgrading my 2ft to 2x1.5x1.5 tank..erm...issit okay if i use the water frm the 2ft tank and transer to the new tank? I believe ur old tank is still running while ur new tank is in the midst of cycling. Let say u perform 20-30% water changes on ur present tank weekly. Use tat 20-30% water u removed and pour it into ur new tank (of coz u nd to remove water accordingly by volume frm ur new tank before u top up or u'll flood ur new tank). Repeat the same for the second wk so tat u will ended having either 40-60% of old water frm present tank mixing with those in ur new tank. To play safe, let the new tank cycle as usual, test all necessary parameters and perform 50% water changes before u do the migration process. U might wan to transfer one of those sensitive coral u have into ur new tank and observe for 1-2days before finally transferring everythin. Quote There are 2 types of person, those that chose learn n do it rite the first time and those tat chose to learn it the hard way. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member danano Posted March 13, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted March 13, 2004 Sounds like he's upgrading from a 2x1x1 to a 2x1.5x1.5? Thanks for the enlightenment Fuel... it's getting late, I should probably just go to bed. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
FuEl Posted March 13, 2004 Share Posted March 13, 2004 Heh..yea..I'm starting to see things too....Now i sleep earlier...I have tendency to see things I should'nt see if I stay up too late. Might be my own imagination...but...dun like the feeling of my hair standing up. Quote Always something more important than fish. http://reefbuilders.com/2012/03/08/sps-pico-reef/ Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member ben Posted March 13, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted March 13, 2004 Hmm..okie..actually a 2X1.5X1.5 is rather safe with 6mm glass. its a must at least 6mm or else face breakages in future. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...