SRC Member Siaokia Posted March 13, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted March 13, 2004 Hi..i would like to noe..how long does it take for the bulb to warm up and reach its optimum? Also what is the best distance between the tank and the light? And 1 more thing..do u guys drill the holes on the ceiling(for those pendant ones) urselfs?.. or ask a professional to do it? Cos i`m afraid that the hooks might easily drop out of the ceiling cos its upside down... Thanx bros Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member ervine Posted March 13, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted March 13, 2004 I think it takes a min or two for the bulb to completely warm up... not very long lah... distance I leave mine around 1ft from the water surface, or is it more.. hm... And my MH is on a stand, also had my reservations about hanging.. some more mine is false ceiling... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Siaokia Posted March 15, 2004 Author SRC Member Share Posted March 15, 2004 Hmm..can anybody gif me info on how to drill the holes in the ceiling so that my lights wun end up on the cabinet and the tank in bits and pieces...o.O Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member ben Posted March 15, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted March 15, 2004 cover ur tank first with big big plastic. becareful dont drop into the tank, hehe. dont siao siao. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member jd_n Posted March 15, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted March 15, 2004 Hmm..can anybody gif me info on how to drill the holes in the ceiling so that my lights wun end up on the cabinet and the tank in bits and pieces...o.O U will need power drill and drill bit for drilling walls and make sure u get the proper size wall plug to support the weight of ur MH. U could check with the hardware shop for more details. Quote There are 2 types of person, those that chose learn n do it rite the first time and those tat chose to learn it the hard way. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member anakjoh Posted March 16, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted March 16, 2004 I'm not handy man myself so I suggest you get pro service to do it - too much at risk to take the chance if u r not sure at all I can't imagine damage MH plus tank crash n have to cycle all over again. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Siaokia Posted March 17, 2004 Author SRC Member Share Posted March 17, 2004 Yeah, can`t imgaine that too..the MH sure will spoil oso... One more question, if the the MH now uses 150watts bulb, can i change the bulb to a higher watt one? or i haf to change the ballast? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member hotsoup Posted March 17, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted March 17, 2004 u need to change the ballast to the correct wattage too Quote 2ft cube with 2.5 sump 400w MH with 6 x 24w blue T5 Hydor wavemaker controller Aquatronica controller Daikin compressor with double coil RM CR H&S out sump skimmer Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sponsor Glare Posted March 17, 2004 Sponsor Share Posted March 17, 2004 Yeah, can`t imgaine that too..the MH sure will spoil oso...One more question, if the the MH now uses 150watts bulb, can i change the bulb to a higher watt one? or i haf to change the ballast? The holes in the ceiling can easily be drilled. Just make sure the size of the hole is correct and the wall plug that you use fits snugly into the hole. Once you put the screw in, the whole rig will be very strong. I have tried suspending myself from the cable without any damage. DO NOT drill a false ceiling. Not enough strength to hold the fixture. If you want to change to higher wattage, you will need a ballast that matches the wattage you want to use and also the holders for the bulbs needs to be changed cause DE bulbs higher than 150W require ceremic holders and the connectors are also different. If you have no electrical knowledge, I suggest you get a professional to do it as DIYing something like this involving electricity is something that you should not save upon. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Siaokia Posted March 17, 2004 Author SRC Member Share Posted March 17, 2004 thanx for the info....me nt gonna change the bulb, was jus wondering if i haf to change the ballast... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Eric Posted March 17, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted March 17, 2004 Hi..i would like to noe..how long does it take for the bulb to warm up and reach its optimum?Also what is the best distance between the tank and the light? And 1 more thing..do u guys drill the holes on the ceiling(for those pendant ones) urselfs?.. or ask a professional to do it? Cos i`m afraid that the hooks might easily drop out of the ceiling cos its upside down... Thanx bros If you dont want to drill hole on ceiling in case next time upgrade ur lights.....etc I suggest you make or buy a stainless steel stand to hang ur MH pendant like this. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member kopee Posted March 17, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted March 17, 2004 not a bad idea... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
tahiti paradise Posted March 17, 2004 Share Posted March 17, 2004 Do be careful if u wanna hang fr the ceiling. Suggest to use those big metal wall plugs for celing. if for walls, buy those elbow hangers and use the green or red wall plugs with screws should do. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Siaokia Posted March 18, 2004 Author SRC Member Share Posted March 18, 2004 Hey bros, sorry to bother again...i juz finished reading a book abt reefkeeping and was looking at my tank when a question pop in my mind...i am now currently using a 150 watt 10000k MH light on my two feet tank(only sometimes i use), i`ll be upgrading my tank very soon..my new tank will be deeper, will there be enuff light reaching the bottom of the tank?..enuff to keep clams at the bottom? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member jd_n Posted March 18, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted March 18, 2004 Before u start throwin ques....its better u fill us in on the proper info so tat we can advise u better. Deeper as in how deep? 2ft, 3ft????? If u tokin abt ur present tank being 1ft deep and ur deeper meanin 1.5ft deep then the present 150W is gd enough. btw, wat do u meant by (only sometimes i use), is urs a reef tank or fowlr ? Quote There are 2 types of person, those that chose learn n do it rite the first time and those tat chose to learn it the hard way. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Siaokia Posted March 18, 2004 Author SRC Member Share Posted March 18, 2004 haha..okie...firstly, i can`t fully determine wads the height of my new tank will be as i haf to move in to my new house first, secondly, my current tank is a fowlr tank but inside gt 1 rock of buttons and 1 rock of mushies..and thirdlly, wad i meant that i seldom use my MH is becos i only use my fl lights as they are good enuff for now, i wanted to set up a reef tank at first but my tank is too small and only make use of my MH once in awhile... I`m askin all this question is part of my peparations for my upgrade, at least i know how deep my tank should be with my current MH lights so that i would nt make any costly mistakes... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member jd_n Posted March 18, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted March 18, 2004 haha..okie...firstly, i can`t fully determine wads the height of my new tank will be as i haf to move in to my new house first, secondly, my current tank is a fowlr tank but inside gt 1 rock of buttons and 1 rock of mushies..and thirdlly, wad i meant that i seldom use my MH is becos i only use my fl lights as they are good enuff for now, i wanted to set up a reef tank at first but my tank is too small and only make use of my MH once in awhile...I`m askin all this question is part of my peparations for my upgrade, at least i know how deep my tank should be with my current MH lights so that i would nt make any costly mistakes... icic.....ok, most of the reefers here r using 250W MH for their 2-2.5ft depth tank so u can seriously consider the 250W. Unless u going for 3ft depth which u will nd to put on a mask and snorkel to do ur setup, a 400W will be good. But of coz, if u can afford the 1000W MH in terms(PUB bills, chiller....n not forgettin the amt of heat produce)by all means..get it. Nuthin beats the sun. Quote There are 2 types of person, those that chose learn n do it rite the first time and those tat chose to learn it the hard way. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Siaokia Posted March 28, 2004 Author SRC Member Share Posted March 28, 2004 wow..okie..thanx for the info..but like now my i haf the 150watts 10000k bulb...if i were to use a 150watts 20000k bulb without changing the ballast can rite?..as long as the watts stays the same i can change rite?...or am i wrong? having headaches abt lights... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member CalciumReef Posted March 28, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted March 28, 2004 yes u can Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...