Anemone Shrimp

jesperlam

no they are not picky.. my anemone shrimp eats dried krill.. as long as there is food on the coral its hosting on, it will eat..

BTW mine is hosting on my Yumas and Jewel coral..

Ask Weapon_Master.. he just saw my anemone shrimp feeding.

they use the anemone's slime to cover their bodies.. not to eat.. its to make them immune to the anemone.

BTW you got the male or female? They both look different.. one hase very broad body while the other is slim..

they use the anemone's slime to cover their bodies.. not to eat.. its to make them immune to the anemone.

BTW you got the male or female? They both look different.. one hase very broad body while the other is slim..

Erm....i tink its broad body...quite fat looking for its size! :lol:

So broad body is male or female?

mine also $10.. I think .. :P.. forgot..

I think the broad body is the male.. might be wrong.. I made a mistake not getting the other one when I was buying mine.. I tot it dun look as nice.. now I'm looking for it :P.. anyone seen anemone shrimps anywhere? I'm looking for the slim body one..

hmmm 10 bucks for a shrimp????? think i will tell myslf to get a hard coral instead

at least not $40 for a worm.. :lol:

mine also $10.. I think .. :P.. forgot..

I think the broad body is the male.. might be wrong.. I made a mistake not getting the other one when I was buying mine.. I tot it dun look as nice.. now I'm looking for it :P.. anyone seen anemone shrimps anywhere? I'm looking for the slim body one..

Haha...same same.....wasted ar u...shld get both ma...scully mated pair? Is it? :D

I don't know where else got leh...think the ginza there bringing in some more....but dunnoe when :P

ya lor.. I'm trying to find mates for most of my LSs now..

Found this in www.liveaquaria.com

The Glass Anemone Shrimp will do best in a tank with anemones or sea cucumbers that can serve as a host. The shrimp will generally stay close to its host anemone or sea cucumber. If it does not see any larger fish nearby, it will sometimes venture out and forage for food. Otherwise, it shares its food with the anemone. It is protected from the stinging cells of the anemone by the mucus secreted by the anemone, which coats the shrimp's body. Every time the shrimp molts to grow, it has to hide from the anemone since it loses its mucus-covered shell. It then has to slowly approach the anemone and re-cover its body with the mucus. If there are several Glass Anemone Shrimp in the aquarium, the males will tend to have more white spots and be larger than the females.

In the aquarium, it will eat most meat or fish-based diets.

$10 for that is very expensive. The max I would pay for the species you are talking about is $8.

I've given up on that shrimp. They just seem to do well for a month or two before turning opaque and die without a reason. My other shrimps are fine, with 2 of my ###### shrimps being with me for 3-4 months already.