DIY of 2ft T5

terryansimon

I'm a complete idiot when it comes to stuff like that. heck I'm a complete idiot when it comes to anything.

I've just set up a refugium and I realised that PL isn't going to be enough for the algae to grow properly. so decided to get some T5s but realised the cost for a unit from EAqua is. well. a bit out of my reach money wise.

so anyone can do it? please PM me your price and the specifications. (=

Items to buy:

1 x e-ballast - $48 (can call/PM orgasbt, he can definitely help)

2 x tubes - $40 (2x10KK, dun need 20KK since its in refugium, can call/PM glare)

4 x non-waterproof endcaps - ??? (call/PM orgasbt also... or buy from Sinter, Sim Lim <$2-3 i think)

1 x industrial reflector (good fit for 2 tubes) - can't remember how much, call orgasbt, he gave me a damn good offer i can't refuse.

Approx. 5ft single core wire - also very cheap, should be <$3 (can't remember liao)

If you dun mind the looks, just use a piece of wood to place the ballast on top, and the tubes on the opposite side. (plus reflector)

If you need nice casing... eh... buy the dymax and modify...

The connection is really really really simple. You can just follow the wiring diagram on the ballast. If not, im sure orgasbt can tell you how to do it when he delivers the ballast to you...

I just completed my 2nd set of T5, should have took some time to take some pix of the process... anyway, its really simple...

if you need help, there are also some DIY kings here who can help you for a nominal fee...

hi, this my DIY t5 and hood... Very ugly i know... but it's still effective.. jus to give u guys an idea only. :paiseh:

post-9-1078893303.jpg

I gotta feeling..Woo...hoo....That tonight's gonna be a good night.....That tonight's gonna be a good, good night!

Wah bro freewill, urs very nicely done! the one i having nw is ard 5 mths old liao, gonna do a 4 ft ones for my clam plus refugium, also got the reflector from Orgasbt, shld be reflecting better lights! :lol:

I gotta feeling..Woo...hoo....That tonight's gonna be a good night.....That tonight's gonna be a good, good night!

Wah bro freewill, urs very nicely done! the one i having nw is ard 5 mths old liao, gonna do a 4 ft ones for my clam plus refugium, also got the reflector from Orgasbt, shld be reflecting better lights! :lol:

where got nice? those which are housed within casing are better.

i think yours is very nicely done as well... the new reflector you got will look even better. (coz ive done the same too...)

Im planning to do some rewiring... hopefully can find time to do it...

is it possible to convert a normal fl casing to t5 using the stuff u mension? :blink:

depends on the FL casing.

i was hunting for a casing, but gave up... coz i already custom made my own hood.

Honestly, I've yet to fit T5 into a casing before... it definitely can be done... but have to figure out a way to place the ballast.

For me, i prefer to have the ballast outside and use an industrial reflector... this allows the heat to dissipate out faster...

if you wanna fit the tubes into casing, i think there are some other reefers who has done it before...

is it possible to convert a normal fl casing to t5 using the stuff u mension? :blink:

it is possible, as i spoke to orgabst bro just now, he told me tat the ballast will be held at the top of the casing, and the tube of T5 is slimmer than of FL. credit to orgabst bro.