civic vs mivec mr

sinner

hi guys just got my licence on friday and getting a car this week...

went to megamart in search for civic SIRs but there was none.. so i stumble on a mivec lancer instead... when to test drive it and rammped it up to 7000rpm and little or no "mivec" kicked in... so i was wondering if i should consider my decision or try the sir?

btw the price for sir is about 42k and mivec is 49k

went to megamart in search for civic SIRs but there was none.. so i stumble on a mivec lancer instead... when to test drive it and rammped it up to 7000rpm and little or no "mivec" kicked in... so i was wondering if i should consider my decision or try the sir?

Congrates!!!

I hope my turn is next !!

IMHO, get the SIR... you definitely WUN regret it (performance and mod-ibility)...

but you must get a good mechanic friend to check the car before signing anything... (same for all other brands of car)

however, being a new driver, you may wanna go easy on the VTEC... otherwise 12 pts very fast finish...

just got licence and want to chiong liao? tsk tsk. :P

if I were you, I'd go for a SiR. obviously. and be easy on the car. insurance for new drivers don't come cheap.

actually he didnt say he wanna chiong after he got his license... he just said he buying a car...

For a new P-plater, he is quite good liao... he knows what is SIR and MR. I dun even know these when i passed!

Im sure he realise how fast a SIR really can be... similarly for the 12 pts too...

yup insurance is definately not cheap for cars with sun roof... i could't locate any sir today at megamart... any place have them? the mivec i was looking is a manual and it makes it rare =) quite powerful but no mivec when i rev it high :( will bring it down to my mechanic for a check tomorrow and hope it's fine but alittle choked :eyebrow:

actually he didnt say he wanna chiong after he got his license... he just said he buying a car...

For a new P-plater, he is quite good liao... he knows what is SIR and MR. I dun even know these when i passed!

Im sure he realise how fast a SIR really can be... similarly for the 12 pts too...

i lost my first licecne to hahah speeding :pinch: this is my 2nd one... so i tend to know alittle here and there :whistle

no doubt, a manual MR is very rare.

wah, you quite good leh... coz i heard its very hard to pass the test again after losing license for speeding (kinda like a black-mark thing)

Im not sure where you can find SIR, I've got several friends driving SIRs, in fact one just scrapped his... what;s your budget like? (in terms of depreciation??) can help you ask around...

little boys at the age of 16 already know what a STI is nowadays. very scary. :P

sinner. you looking for what type of cars? I recommend toyotas to you for their superb, and I mean super fuel consumption efficiency. the older corollas *police car types* have the ability to last 18km/L...on average 15km/L. all manual rates of course. on 14inch rims.

my personal experience is that the front windscreen of the SIR (civics) is very curved towards my face....meaning if i ever jam brake or someone hit me from behind...there is very little throw distance from my head to the windscreen...

whereas mivec (lancers) windscreen is a normal distance from the head....

not sure if anyone notice that, but personally that is something i observe about both of them....

but this is a non-perfomance aspect of both cars lah...but i feel uncomfortable knowing my head is so near the front windscreen in the SIR...hehe

looks a cheongster is born eh... ;)

i dunno much about cars but heres my 2 cents.

1. SIR confirm win MR. ask around in car forums, no doubt SIR is the winner. honda got more things to upgrade too, and aftermarket parts are more readily available. so if u are looking for pure horses, SIR is the choice. on paper though, the MR is 175hp and the SIR is 170hp.

2. MR insurance is classifed under turbo/high performance category. that makes it a pretty pricey car to drive, insurance speak. last time i heard insurance for MR is around 3-4k. wonder why tat is, a non turbo car under this type of insurance cover. SIR on the other hand is under saloon i think... haha...

3. MR comes with full kit but SIR dont have. small thing actually, somehow civics can be simply lowered with a front lip to get that fierce look.

4. SIR more expensive than MR. i am surprise you can find SIR cheaper than MR... depreciation for SIR manual should be higher than MR manual. unless u compared a SIR auto with MR manual.

Conclusion - i go for the SIR! B)

disclaimer: as i said i dunno much about cars and stand to be corrected. if i said anything wrong, pls correct me... ;)

Get Paid To Read Emails. Free To Join Now!

http://www.emailcashpro.com/?r=okdk11

was offered 42k for a ek4 yesterday... haha not sure about 3drs coz insurance will sure be damm ex... anyway checking the engine today with my mech hope it's not a big deal as i rather like it =) black interior with black leathers! :rolleyes:

picking up speed was also quite good... i believe a VAFC and a motec ecu together with straight piping and dummy catalyic converter together with heat insulated manifold will do the mivec good =) now how about some speed? :evil:

ek are good too...my friend just scrapped off his ek3 for 29k...if u had post earlier...at least can consider too...

but back to ur choices....if i were to choose..i'll pick sir too..

hi guys the price are for 2nd hand they dun have 1st hands already in sg... kenji thanks for the offer i rather stick to ek or mivec mr...

spidy wats usually the case that they complain not worth the $$$?

my ex-ride was a auto MR. must agree manual is rare.

insurance as usual.1k+ no ncd.

car is very powerful, so is the fuel. full tank 50liters can only covers 350-380km the most.if you want to get MR, must cut away the cat converter.in the other hand,SIR abit too saloon looking.

talk about speed, its how the driver handle his car. i've beaten and been beaten by SIR with my MR. hope this help..

BRO! drive slow.BE LATE THAN NEVER...

guys bad news for me :( went to test the mr out yesterday and found that the 2nd gear is alittle "sticky" or should i say unsmooth... brought down to mechanic and was unable to check the mivec kick in thus he recommends me not to take the car otherwise if i must i should bring it down to C&C... well i've decided a VTEC :evil: ! still looking for a sir though... any spotted lately? might be going down to turf city this weekend to find one :heh:

jus for ur info...spore's lancer mivec MR model is downgraded model so if ppl tell u tat it is 175hp tats false!the 175 hp is the mivec RS which oni sells in japan...

SIR.... :o dohc vtec....can get alot of parts in kedah..high cams at 1500RM :evil:

whahaha i also abit confused...

let me revise the latest price in the market as to what i see la:

1. sir 4dr --->41k

2. ek 3dr vti --->42k

3. mivec mr --->49K

yup this is the price i comfirm =)

but then the sir 4dr sold off liao... now sir no "season" according to my friend a car dealer :cry: