Terryz's Gobies Tank

Terryz_

• Replies 170

my Nitrite just now... Increased to 0.2... What could have caused it huh... I only added a Macroalgae rock from reb***... And three anthias... Could these be the cause...

Your system hasn't mature yet, the fact that nitrite is detectable means your system's ability to process ammonia isn't stabilised yet. Though not as toxic as Ammonia, NO2 is capable of dealing death to sensitive fishes.

As mentioned, leave the tank to mature for a while. Perhaps do some more reading while you're at it :)

Please elaborate

I meant that the tank does not have enough bacteria to handle the breakdown of NH4 and No2 effectively, causing either NH4 or NO2 to be present in the tank.

And I've read it somewhere on the web mentioned that ammonia surge usually occured in the night (or lights off). Something to do with pH level. but I dun have the details now. (need to go and search the information again.)

I meant that the tank does not have enough bacteria to handle the breakdown of NH4 and No2 effectively, causing either NH4 or NO2 to be present in the tank.

And I've read it somewhere on the web mentioned that ammonia surge usually occured in the night (or lights off). Something to do with pH level. but I dun have the details now. (need to go and search the information again.)

That would only mean that the system is barely supporting the LSs and therefore surge at the slightest problem..

The list of fishes i wan to have after my tank is stablised... PLs provide some comments... Thkz...

1 x Red Striped Goby(If got any stock)

1 x Yashia Goby(If got any stock)

2 x Rainfordi Gobies

2 x Black Antenna Shrimp Gobies

3 x Princess Anthias

A few cerith snail..

Leave out the anthias..trust me..active swimers have higher bioloads.

Okaie... Den my top will empty ler... What fish would you suggest...

terry, so what are u planning to sell now?

Nothing liao lor... Leaving the tank to mature lor...

Was thinking of having some sps frags inside after i upgraded my light to 4 x 24w T5... Should be enough right... Using this protein skimmer... Dripping kalkwasser too...

Vjps.gif

VISI-JET-PS® protein skimmer

Visi-Jet®PS is an economical protein skimmer for aquariums up to 70 gallons. Visi-Jet®PS has a Turbo-Venturi™ injector system to mix filtered air and water within the pump impeller chamber, creating a froth of micro-bubbles for maximum skimming efficiency. The built-in flow meter provides accurate visual monitoring of true flow volume through the pump and into the protein skimmer. Micro-bubbles contribute to improved gas exchange. Dissolved organic compounds are separated from water to produce a concentrated foam mixture of waste products that is pushed up the column into the foam collection receptacle where it can be easily discarded. The directional output sends oxygen-rich water down and out into the aquarium. Visi-Jet®PS protein skimmer uses a prefilter to filter out large particulates, algae, and aquarium animals, preventing them from entering the pump impeller chamber.