lightningstrike Posted September 3, 2004 Share Posted September 3, 2004 the I-box by Ian, virtually noise free. Quote Austin the Westie: "I may be your best friend, but you are my everything". Lightning Strike's Back!!! Reefkeeping Is Not My Hobby, It's My Obsession. Austin's Birthday Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member XPeriment 626 Posted September 10, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted September 10, 2004 Melvin, this is a really good design. I'm highly impressed. Quote Be teachable always, nobody has a monopoly on wisdom. But learn to distinguish "fact" from "opinion". Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member moxa Posted September 11, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted September 11, 2004 Hi fellow reefer, Is a great gadget. i got one from Melvin. Even came to my house to fix up everything. Works fine everytime turning off the return pump to do maintenance for the sump. (washing the dirty cotton wool) thumbs up cheers Moxa Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
chuahs Posted September 11, 2004 Share Posted September 11, 2004 what is the diameter of the pipe u use 2 diy the overflow? what is the flow rate it can support? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member moxa Posted September 11, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted September 11, 2004 Hi bro chua_hs, Not sure. Melvin fix up everything for me. looks to me like 1" size. check with Mevlin for confirmation. I am using Ehiem 1250 for the return pump. Seems able to go for 1260 or 1262. cheers Moxa Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Cedric Posted September 11, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted September 11, 2004 Wow! Great design Melvin!!! I'm very very impressed!!! Quote Comments are welcome! Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Melvin Posted September 11, 2004 Author SRC Member Share Posted September 11, 2004 Thank Bro...... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
macman29 Posted September 12, 2004 Share Posted September 12, 2004 Hey melvin ..... very nice man .... ###### .... bro can u tell me where u bought the tubing and all the stuff u used to make your overflow ... and if u can provide the bluprint will be a great help . i want to try making it myself . as i want it to first run into my canister then go to my sump. is that wise ??? if i run into any probs can ask u ??? u can PM ... cheers bro ... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Melvin Posted September 12, 2004 Author SRC Member Share Posted September 12, 2004 Hi macman29 ...U can get the stuff at hardware shop but......some parts need special machine to make it... regards Melvin Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
macman29 Posted September 13, 2004 Share Posted September 13, 2004 Hi macman29 ...U can get the stuff at hardware shop but......some parts need special machine to make it... regards Melvin alamak ..... can u give me details ??? PLEASE hee hee hee .. i looked around the diy shop .. dont have le ... what kind of hardware shop ?? the old apek kind ah .. haa haa haa .. where did u go fir yours ??? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member jinners Posted September 13, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted September 13, 2004 hey all ya gurus out there can you look at the set up i'm tryin to duplicate and tell me of any errors visible, before i stick it all in place... thanks!! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member rockfish Posted September 14, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted September 14, 2004 do u have a surface skimming tube.. to be place in the tank ... if not ... when ur pump stop, it's going to drain all the water in ur fish tank .. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member rockfish Posted September 14, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted September 14, 2004 hi i built this design but i have problems with water noise, any comment/solution? thxs i can just add a end cap at the top of the open tube.. then make a small hole about 3-5 mm ... like that, the air flow will be lesser then not so much noise. the noise is like "Orm..Orm..Orm" rite.. ?? after that will be "...................." Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member jinners Posted September 14, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted September 14, 2004 um...so are we meant to make a hole in the endcap or not?cause i tot initially its said not to have the hole....umm..... and rockfish...yeah, will be having a surface skimming tube, just want to check that the length of everything is correct (ie, the t joint and stuff) thanks again Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member rockfish Posted September 15, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted September 15, 2004 the end cap i refered to is the one cirled in red in ur photo. if u dun make a hole.. when the water run out, ur water level in ur tube will be drain completely. therefore when u restart ur pump, the siphon is broken already. so it will not auto start the flow.. understand.. ?? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member rockfish Posted September 15, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted September 15, 2004 this is wat i mean.. a hole in the end cap. u need the atm pressure to maintain the siphon... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member jinners Posted September 15, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted September 15, 2004 ahhh... okay shall do that too thanks! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Domino Posted September 16, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted September 16, 2004 Wow, Nice drawing... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member rockfish Posted September 16, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted September 16, 2004 i have a 3D drawing on that too ... but hee .. better dun show off .. later got ppls better than me .. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
gerald28 Posted September 24, 2004 Share Posted September 24, 2004 just to ask you guys if i didnt put the skimmer part will water still flow if i off and on the pump agaim , cause i had a overflow in my tank and can skip the skimmer part tks Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member jc85 Posted September 24, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted September 24, 2004 i have a 3D drawing on that too ... but hee .. better dun show off .. later got ppls better than me .. Bro, what software u use to draw huh? I also need to do some schematic drawing. Quote Earth Conservation Blog My Marine Blog For All Sengkang Residents Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member rockfish Posted September 24, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted September 24, 2004 i use "solidworks" from my office.. hey man..!! if u need to draw anything just email me a sketch lah .. i'll draw it out for u in 3 D .. haha .. For u only .. haha wat are friends for 13 yrs for .. ?? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member rockfish Posted September 24, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted September 24, 2004 just to ask you guys if i didnt put the skimmer part will water still flow if i off and on the pump agaim , cause i had a overflow in my tank and can skip the skimmer part tks hey gerald, wat do u mean overflow in the tank .. u mean a partition for the top water to overflow into it .. ?? if u have that then u dun need a surface skimmer tube. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
lightningstrike Posted September 24, 2004 Share Posted September 24, 2004 i use "solidworks" from my office.. hey man..!! if u need to draw anything just email me a sketch lah .. i'll draw it out for u in 3 D .. haha .. For u only .. haha wat are friends for 13 yrs for .. ?? huh??? u mean u do it during office hrs? Quote Austin the Westie: "I may be your best friend, but you are my everything". Lightning Strike's Back!!! Reefkeeping Is Not My Hobby, It's My Obsession. Austin's Birthday Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
gerald28 Posted September 24, 2004 Share Posted September 24, 2004 hey rockfish ,how are u ,yes you right there a square overflow system at my tank on the back left corner that where i can insert my whole pipe in without the skimmer part .But my concern is that when i off my pump to feed the fish will the water level still able to maintain ans also will it auto-flow again when i switch on my pump again tks bro .Cause i thought once the pump suck finsih the water it be enpty inside and i had to pur in water agaian when i start the pump again. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...