How to tell male or female Seahorse?

chinmo

the pouch colour varies, if he is preggy, the pouch will turn dark colour as the eggs, veins and membrane developing. most of the time will be of skin colour. :)

I gotta feeling..Woo...hoo....That tonight's gonna be a good night.....That tonight's gonna be a good, good night!

oOo..den chinmo, wad if the seahorse going to give birth, must off the filter system to prevent small seahorse from being suck into it? of must take out the pregnant seahorse to a tank? im so blur abt this.. breeding..

if u know when they breed, then u can start to countdown towards the day the male gonna pop, normally they pop when the lights r out or early in the mornin! the babies will rush to the surface to gulp air, they will stay at the surface for the momemt, u have time to catch the baby then. ;)

I gotta feeling..Woo...hoo....That tonight's gonna be a good night.....That tonight's gonna be a good, good night!

if u know when they breed, then u can start to countdown towards the day the male gonna pop, normally they pop when the lights r out or early in the mornin! the babies will rush to the surface to gulp air, they will stay at the surface for the momemt, u have time to catch the baby then. ;)

Dun wait for them to rush to the surface then grab them.

This case, they will suck in too much of the surface air and that will affect their buoyancy training and most of them will die after that. Essentially, they must also learn to grab. And have ready supply of naupii in the nursery.

My two cents... :)

In the mixed reef tank, I will scoop them up with a ladle when the papa is delivering... :angel:

Terryz bro, wat specis those u have?

flubberina13 sis, my sh pop most of the time when i'm sound asleep :lol: , when at times when i c them pop! is like they all over the tank, u still got to spend a bit of time scooping the babies. :P

comes ar.... c if any sh newbies interested, if nt get a male lah, the male be very happy! :lol:

the first pic look like a male to me, second comfrim female. maybe u can focus a bit more on the photo? :)

yap tat's a male, he still young, so pouch small also, but can c the pouch lor... if he inflate wif water he look like he's preggy. :lol:

chinmo...there was a time when I was busy scooping babies till 3am and the next day go to work like this... :ooh::snore::pinch:

anyway, it's rather easy to know when they are giving birth. Just wait for the black discharge... :rolleyes:

Terry...wait till you watch their ritual courtship dance...you will be mesmerized... :P

:lol: sis flubberina13, i truly understand wat u have said! :lol: yah terry bro, nvr miss the courtship and mating! if u have 2 sh decided to make bb, u c them greet each other every morning and if they within greeting distance! best part is when they transfer eggs, they form a heart shape! :yeah: