Successful keeping of Boxfish

RAV-65

i got a super soft spot for this cute little fish but so far all my attempts to keep this fish has been fatal to the boxfish itself. thus the purpose of this thread is to try to gather more experience and feedback from fellow reefers on how to keep these boxfishes successfully...

The boxfish is one of the fishes that is said to be a ich magnet, as most of the time they kanna ich, anybody has managed to combat that?

Besides the only one person who I know who keeps boxfishes in a species tank ( boxfish only ), are there anyone out there who does the same?

Anyone got pics of boxfishes to share?

Would appreciate any forms of experience or ideas to share... but pls do not post a message to just say " they die easily " or " very hard to keep " ... :)

Vincent Ho :thanks:

my boxfish has been with me for more than a year.....

grow from little marble size to around 8cm mouth to tail

nothing special.. normal feeding..

yes tends to have a bit of ich... worst when I bought one regal tang...

this guy was the sole survivor during an outbreak... :cry:

good to have a clearner shrimp to clear parasite for this felle.... like it a lot...

the only marine fish that "intereact" with you :lol:

post-7-1077806500.jpg

I'm just really afraid of keeping one now because of ich ..

still tempted though... those smaller than marble sized kinds...cute buggers.. but not sure if my lion will just gulp them.

Ah siao,

sorry, I dunno the person personally, so no chance of getting the pic... :)

Boxfish,

seems that at one year, you have the longest record, the longest my boxfish survived is about 2 weeks... have you got any other fishes in the tank?

Btw, you boxfish managed to survive the ich? does the ich come and go? or all the while have ich?

Vincent Ho

Tineng,

where did you buy your boxfish? Actually, I'm planning to start a species tank in the future, once I have an extra tank... :) Might be better for the fellas I guess.... :)

Vincenttan,

hey, can post a pic of your boxfish? the yellow one with white dots? would love to see it... so far i only see yellow with black dots... unless your white dots are white-spots.... hehehe.... anyway, used to have an orange colour boxfish with black dots, loved the fella, but it died too... :(

Vincent Ho

Ah siao,

sorry, I dunno the person personally, so no chance of getting the pic... :)

Boxfish,

seems that at one year, you have the longest record, the longest my boxfish survived is about 2 weeks... have you got any other fishes in the tank?

Btw, you boxfish managed to survive the ich? does the ich come and go? or all the while have ich?

Vincent Ho

I have fire gobies, algae goby, true perc, yellow tang.

peaceful fish..but may not be tubeworm safe when it become bigger...

the ich seems come and go... but not much

Had a cute little one ......

Really was one of my favs in my tank for a long time.

Careful of having domineering or agressive mates.... could easily end up with a wipe out.

Mine nipped at some of my rocks and such but never threatened the tank.

RIP :cry2:

Skimmed to death!

Pump them up with garlic. They should recover in no time. Soak the food in garlic. I recommend the human supplement type. Those are concentrated and can 'penetrate' into the food better.

Had a pair with me since Aug 2002....give up one when they began having voracious appetite...

had them when they were a size slightly smaller than a dice. Now it is like eight times or more the original size...

yup...ich comes and goes for them but if you build up their immunity with garlic soaked food. shouldn't be a problem. Mine carries ich almost every other day... :P

Food-variety wise...really varied...imagine eating also 'batang' meat that I fed my pratas and brains with... :lol:

brine shrimps, cyclops, scallops, tubeworms, mysis...you name it, they like it...except they dun really like flakefood. Nowadays, it will even eat from my hand... :P

used to have six tangs with Boxster and yet it survives... :yeah:

Guess it has to do with it having its 'area of serenity'... :)

see this old photo...I even have a cowfish and puffer back then and they were doing well...now I dun know Puffy and Cowie how liao... :cry2::cry2:

post-7-1077991480.jpg

Hmmm... seeing that there are a few people who manage to keep their boxfish successfully in a tank with other fishes, I would really like to keep mine in the main tank, instead of a a species tank, would be even greater to watch them den... but when i did so last time, the boxfish didn't really eat much, always eat abit only.... and eventually, they die... :(

since the 1st day, i have always fed my fish with garlic-soaked food, but they still can't survive... and I lost 2 emperors and numerous angels that way... :( Not to mention the countless boxfishes.... :(

Vincent Ho

Oh dear...then it would be better for you to get to the 'root' of the problem then to continue buying more fish... :(

My bet is...it has to do with your water parameters or there's a predator in your tank? :rolleyes:

Mantis Shrimps!? Crabs!? Stinging corals? Big worms? :rolleyes:

Hmmm... seeing that there are a few people who manage to keep their boxfish successfully in a tank with other fishes, I would really like to keep mine in the main tank, instead of a a species tank, would be even greater to watch them den... but when i did so last time, the boxfish didn't really eat much, always eat abit only.... and eventually, they die... :(

since the 1st day, i have always fed my fish with garlic-soaked food, but they still can't survive... and I lost 2 emperors and numerous angels that way... :( Not to mention the countless boxfishes.... :(

Vincent Ho

dun eat much?!.. not sure if they are the same but cowfishes eat non-stop..

The yellow boxfish that i had with me for almost a month, eats almost anything. Ranges from Pangchai aka lettuce to mysis, pellet food and ghost shrimps and prawn meat.

It is always following my hands coz it knows that i will have food for them..

It is a pity that it had contract icks now after i introduced P.blue tang inside.

Trying to cure it.. so far quite ok.. still feeding well.. i hope the disease will go.. monitoring like crazy.. at work also think of the tank.. :(

abit :off: though... but are

1.Morrish Idols

2.Flame Angels

3.True Percs.

counted as peaceful fishes? will "attack" the boxfish not huh? thinking of getting a boxfish too :lol:

from what i know, Moorish Idols have very poor survival rate in captivity. If possible, try not to get them...

Generally, those fishes that u have mentioned are quite peaceful. no worries.

my boxfish gimi an impression that they are the marine goldfish.. eat no stop :D

they are not that slow actually... when they cheong at the food, the rest will give way else "STRIKE"!! :lol: , thta's what I see during feeding time