SRC Member sugi Posted February 25, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted February 25, 2004 Hi, I am new in setting up Calcium Reactor. Need all your help to advise me what to look for. Thinking of getting the following products from My Reef Creation. Please advise if they are suitable: Picture 1 and 2 : CR1 or CR2 Picture 3: Dual Gauge regulator. Includes dual gauge, solenoid valve, bubble counter, check valve. Includes 3 feet of Co2 tubing Picture 4: MRC-pHc122 Milwaukee pH controller with probe and alarm! Tank: Get from S'pore Pump: Get and fix from S'pore Am I getting the right equipement ? What else do I need ? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member sugi Posted February 25, 2004 Author SRC Member Share Posted February 25, 2004 CR1 = Up to 300G CR2 = Up to 500G My tank is 4x2x2 feet Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Eric Posted February 25, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted February 25, 2004 Hi, I am new in setting up Calcium Reactor. Need all your help to advise me what to look for. Thinking of getting the following products from My Reef Creation. Please advise if they are suitable: Picture 1 and 2 : CR1 or CR2 Picture 3: Dual Gauge regulator. Includes dual gauge, solenoid valve, bubble counter, check valve. Includes 3 feet of Co2 tubing Picture 4: MRC-pHc122 Milwaukee pH controller with probe and alarm! Tank: Get from S'pore Pump: Get and fix from S'pore Am I getting the right equipement ? What else do I need ? How much does the whole project cost? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member sugi Posted February 25, 2004 Author SRC Member Share Posted February 25, 2004 CO2 gauge Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member sugi Posted February 25, 2004 Author SRC Member Share Posted February 25, 2004 PH controller. Am I buying the right apparatus ? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member sugi Posted February 25, 2004 Author SRC Member Share Posted February 25, 2004 How much does the whole project cost? Eric, I estimate it about S$900-S$1100 Depending which creator size I am getting. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member reef2 Posted February 25, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted February 25, 2004 just make sure that any electrical equip (ph controller, solenoid valve) is the correct voltage and suitable to use in Singapore. if u order from US, the volt is different. i got the CR2 with ehiem 1250, Denerlle regulator n solenoid Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member clowntrigger Posted February 25, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted February 25, 2004 my advice is to get the CR2. As for the dual gauge regulator, since it include a solenoid, you will need a setup down transformer for it if you are getting from MRC, same goes to the PH controller. I have the CR1 but have not hook it up yet... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member sugi Posted February 25, 2004 Author SRC Member Share Posted February 25, 2004 my advice is to get the CR2. As for the dual gauge regulator, since it include a solenoid, you will need a setup down transformer for it if you are getting from MRC, same goes to the PH controller. I have the CR1 but have not hook it up yet... Hi Reef2 + Clown trigger, So the CO2 regulator with solenoid need to be power up ? If it is then it must be 110V. Can we modify it, instead of using step down transformer ? As for the PH controller, they are using external 12V Adaptor, so I can just buy the other 12V adaptor in S'pore. Reef2, How is your CR2, good ? Thanks Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
FuEl Posted February 25, 2004 Share Posted February 25, 2004 CR2...dual chamber I think. The 2nd chamber helps to burn off excess CO2 so that the resulting effluent pH will be higher. If you are worried about excess CO2 entering your tank due to high CO2 input then it is best to get CR2 Quote Always something more important than fish. http://reefbuilders.com/2012/03/08/sps-pico-reef/ Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
East Mercy Posted February 25, 2004 Share Posted February 25, 2004 why don't get Joe P to do it for you ? Joe P diy them Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Wei Posted February 25, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted February 25, 2004 Hi sugi, getting a ph controller is not a must. Many CR user not using them. If u looking for korallin clone, can look for alvy. Infact, he just custom made 2 units of CR, bigger than korallin 4002 for 2 reefers. Maybe they will post the pic soon. Very precision workmanship. Cheers! Wei Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member reef2 Posted February 26, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted February 26, 2004 agree that ph controller is not a must, but if u have not got a ph monitor yet, it may be good to consider a controller instead. a solenoid is to start/stop the co2 injection, if you are running a single chamber and be veri kiasu coz excess co2 may lower the ph to a dangerous level, a solenoid is helpful with the aid of a ph controller. another way is to use a timer to stop the co2 during night if u observe that yr ph is very low during that time. another item is A.R.M Ca media. get it from PR. its the best media. pm u my hp. call me if u need more info. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Maxima Posted February 26, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted February 26, 2004 I'll tell you that a PH controller is a must, unless you are buying Reactor that is prove by the gurus and it works well. So what's the definition of working good Even I run Deltec Reactor, I run a PH controller. With a PH controller and measuring yr effluent PH & dkh, you will know that you juz invest in another piece of junk Juz a joke , but there are lots of junk out tere for sure....... Max Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Achilles Tang Posted February 26, 2004 Share Posted February 26, 2004 Max, u dun have to be so blunt. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...