Super newbie

joby553

Actually the fish, I bought another tank cos I feel my tank too small for now, reach home this fish was inside, so now I have 2 tanks... After this made me decide might as well get a proper tank with sump slowly build it up better than now. Mean time I will keep this 2 tank for time being learn more about the water parameter

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Hi bro, once you get your tank.. You still need your old tank to quarantine fishes and coral before you move it to your main tank.. The reason why people do this.. As most fishes, coral contain some form of pest, infection etc.. So this way, you don't risk outbreak in your tank.. The other thing you must know is that all live rocks you buy has hitchhikers that often tough to remove as they deep in the holes of the rocks.. Please cure/treat your rocks before scape or placing in your main tank.. Remember to use gloves when handling this, the rocks has bacterial or spikes from the pests which is not visible to the eye, this can leading to bacterial infection. This happen once to me and my poor wife while helping me, we use our bare hands, the infection took 2 months to clear. Let me know if you need help on sourcing tank etc.. We could meet up and have kopi.. My reef friend kenyee will also be a great help and advise you before you start a tank with sump..

When you fish for love, bait with your heart, not your brain

Welcome to SRC. I suggest you stock your tank slowly. Your tank need time to stabilize its parameters. I think your cycle is not complete and you have not gotten your test kits, skimmer etc ready. Adding fishes now is a bit risky. Also you have an anemone inside and if it dies, it will crash your tank. This can be very discouraging when you are new to a hobby. It can be very tempting to keep adding fishes but that is part of reefing..patience. Read up more and get your basics right before adding more livestocks.

cheer

Hi Blackcell, would be very glad to meet up with you for coffee one of these days. I did red up abit on quarantine but was a little bit too late, parts of my hand has rashes now(I thought is my tattoo).

Anyway my plan on the proper tank will be a slow process on saving enough spare cash and studying and sourcing the proper equipment. And also space constraints!

Hey sun, actually I wasn't planning on adding things yet, just wanted to swap the tank over so the 2 had a little more space. In the end now I have 2 tanks with fish inside, will will to study more so when new tank up I won't have this problem again.

And for for tank, salinity is 1.014 only, is it I just top up with saltwater for evaporation? Or do something drastic like add salt in now? The fish now got one white dot on the head. Too fast for me to take a picture.

Bro, you have to do partial water change with salt water at 1.024 - 06, do a 25% change, wait for few hours, measure salinity, another 25% water change, measure salinity... repeat same process till your tank water become 1.024...

子非鱼,焉知鱼之乐... (you are not the fish so you...)

Then: my 4FT low tech selling off tank... (2006)

Now: (2014)

@Sept 2014

Wah bro I cannot answer you this leh. Tank is very small probably one foot. Filter is the hang on type aqua clear brand on box put 450l per hour. Light is 2 one feet aquazonic brand one blue one white

The unusual thing about your tank is that the rocks has no algae ah. If your tank is at least a month old, your rock shall not be this bare de. I would increase the lighting first then work on increasing the water flow. If your anemone tentacles are not waving at you, most likely your waterflow is not strong enough lah.

@Sept 2014

Given that you only have two tubes of T5, 10 to 14 hours shall be ok. No light → blue light → both lights → blue light → no light shall be the way. Why not consider getting another T5 set or LED? Good for your future and existing coral too.

@Sept 2014

Gsp need good waterflow to thrive. Bring it further up to enjoy the flow from your internal filter. Add in good lighting, they will open up in no time. Brighter lighting will help develop more intense colors.

1.5' Cube | Overflow Box | 1' Sump with filter sock and 3L bacteria king | Eheim 1000 return pump | BM 3.5 | Sunsun JVP-110 wavemaker | Full spectrum Par38

Feel pretty assured, did a test yesterday before leaving sg. Ammonia and nitrite 0. But nitrate 80 before water change.

There's another is ph(?) at 8. Not sure is good or no good? And also, next 2 tests I should start is ca and mg and is enough?