Terryz_ Posted February 24, 2004 Share Posted February 24, 2004 Looking for these Seahorses and pipefish... 1. Hippocampus comes Tiger Tail Seahorse 2. Hippocampus barbouri Barbour's Seahorse 3. Hippocampus fuscus The Sea Pony 4. Corythoichthys haematopterus Dragon Pipefish Pls advice on the price and where to get them... Thkz... Quote Member of: Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member chinmo Posted February 24, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted February 24, 2004 almost all marine lfs will sell h.comes, h.barbs u got to go pasir ris or CF Quote I gotta feeling..Woo...hoo....That tonight's gonna be a good night.....That tonight's gonna be a good, good night! Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
FuEl Posted February 24, 2004 Share Posted February 24, 2004 H.comes can be found in local waters. Dragon pipefish I kept before..but got killed by whitespot a long time ago. Have yet to buy another one..but dun think i should. Tank overstock liao. Nah...i include my copyright pic below. Taken around last July. Quote Always something more important than fish. http://reefbuilders.com/2012/03/08/sps-pico-reef/ Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member chinmo Posted February 24, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted February 24, 2004 tat one a alligator pipe lah, dragon pipe larger and swim ard while tis fellow crawl on the bottom. Quote I gotta feeling..Woo...hoo....That tonight's gonna be a good night.....That tonight's gonna be a good, good night! Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
FuEl Posted February 24, 2004 Share Posted February 24, 2004 Huh...... Alligator pipe is the bigbig one swimming that look like a big seagrass one. The one in the pic is dragon pipe..check up the scientific name you know what i mean. Amazing something so small can be called a dragon pipefish. Quote Always something more important than fish. http://reefbuilders.com/2012/03/08/sps-pico-reef/ Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Terryz_ Posted February 24, 2004 Author Share Posted February 24, 2004 What abt the price... Depend on the color or species... can advice which is the more expensive ones... Thkz... Quote Member of: Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member chinmo Posted February 24, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted February 24, 2004 comes, 3-6sgd, barbs, 5-8sgd. Quote I gotta feeling..Woo...hoo....That tonight's gonna be a good night.....That tonight's gonna be a good, good night! Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Terryz_ Posted February 24, 2004 Author Share Posted February 24, 2004 Thkz... Can Sea Pony be found in SG... What abt the price of dragon pipefish... Erm.. Where have stock of these seahorse now... Wan to take a look...BTW while reading up in Seahorse.org... I came across this seahorse... Seems cute... Can be found in SG... Quote Member of: Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member chinmo Posted February 24, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted February 24, 2004 have nt seen one for sale, if it's in fuel's pic, tat's 8sgd. u can go reborn, comes and kudas, PR, barbs, pasir ris, kudas comes and pipes, WC REIDI Quote I gotta feeling..Woo...hoo....That tonight's gonna be a good night.....That tonight's gonna be a good, good night! Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Terryz_ Posted February 24, 2004 Author Share Posted February 24, 2004 Okaie... Thkz Bro.. Quote Member of: Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
FuEl Posted February 24, 2004 Share Posted February 24, 2004 The dragon pipe i got for $6 nia..at reB**n. Sometimes not stable..observe the fish. It should not be dazed for prolonged periods of time, they should slowly 'crawl' curiously and gracefully around the tank. That's a pygmy seahorse. Impossible to keep if you do not have the time to obtain food resources for it. The smaller the seahorse the more times it has to be fed a day. Quote Always something more important than fish. http://reefbuilders.com/2012/03/08/sps-pico-reef/ Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Terryz_ Posted February 24, 2004 Author Share Posted February 24, 2004 Oh... Better stick to the big boys... Quote Member of: Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Wei Posted February 24, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted February 24, 2004 Hi Terryz, Pygmy seahorse/ h. bargibanti is near impossible to get even in other countries like US. They live deep beneath the sea, more than 13m. Normally found on gorgonians. They are temperate seahorses. Maintaining a temp no more than 22max. There is very little info on the husbandry of the pygmy seahorses, but I assume they will feed like their close cousin, dwarf seahorse/ h. zosterae. Recently, pple have discovered a new species of pygmy, h.denise. It is found at the indo pac. We might be able to get them since its found ard our region. but still, chances are very very slim. Cheers! Wei Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
RAV-65 Posted February 24, 2004 Share Posted February 24, 2004 Wei, is the pygmy seahorse you are refering to the one with the red spots on its body posted above? Vincent Ho Quote People do not plan to fail; Often they just fail to plan... Wat I do to prevent myself from tearing my hair out... My stress remedy... Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Wei Posted February 24, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted February 24, 2004 yes Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Terryz_ Posted February 25, 2004 Author Share Posted February 25, 2004 Hi Terryz, Pygmy seahorse/ h. bargibanti is near impossible to get even in other countries like US. They live deep beneath the sea, more than 13m. Normally found on gorgonians. They are temperate seahorses. Maintaining a temp no more than 22max. There is very little info on the husbandry of the pygmy seahorses, but I assume they will feed like their close cousin, dwarf seahorse/ h. zosterae. Recently, pple have discovered a new species of pygmy, h.denise. It is found at the indo pac. We might be able to get them since its found ard our region. but still, chances are very very slim. Cheers! Wei Hmm... Okaie... Think will stick to the normal ones... Quote Member of: Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member chinmo Posted February 25, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted February 25, 2004 bro, it is better to start wif low cost hardy sh, when i came into sh last yr till nw i have at least 20 dried specimem in my hse, jus inmagine, u get reidi! Quote I gotta feeling..Woo...hoo....That tonight's gonna be a good night.....That tonight's gonna be a good, good night! Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Terryz_ Posted February 25, 2004 Author Share Posted February 25, 2004 Huh... So many huh... If get reidi and die i will faint... Quote Member of: Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
RAV-65 Posted February 25, 2004 Share Posted February 25, 2004 Wei, its a pity if they are really as rare as you mentioned, coz those fellas are real cute!! Vincent Ho Quote People do not plan to fail; Often they just fail to plan... Wat I do to prevent myself from tearing my hair out... My stress remedy... Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weileong Posted February 26, 2004 Share Posted February 26, 2004 bro, it is better to start wif low cost hardy sh, when i came into sh last yr till nw i have at least 20 dried specimem in my hse, jus inmagine, u get reidi! You actually dry them up after they died? Not bad, can sell to chinese medicine shop Quote Weileong's 4ft tank Part I Weileong's 4ft tank Part II Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member sinner Posted February 26, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted February 26, 2004 wahahah can boil soup le! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member ah^siao Posted February 26, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted February 26, 2004 per seahorse is only few gram... u keep kilograms to sell to medicine shops.. per kilo few hundred i think... not more then 200 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member chinmo Posted February 26, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted February 26, 2004 yah, so as to remind me nt to be careless in the future. Quote I gotta feeling..Woo...hoo....That tonight's gonna be a good night.....That tonight's gonna be a good, good night! Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...