Is sand required in a seahorse tank?

aStRoBo|

Yea..a weipro would suffice. Look at bro chinmo tank..so beautiful. :paiseh::whistle

For sand you could go for DSB to reduce nitrates. If you are doing partial water changes and not that particular about nitrates you could go bare bottom, but my advise would be to invest in a better skimmer to prevent any nitrate buildups. And regular water changes.

came across a comparison between berlin system and ecosystem method yesterday..they din have very good reviews about the berlin system...as it does not remove nitrates that rapidly.

My setup is something like berlin..and my nitrates are 15-20ppm. Growing macro to help reduce the levels now. Deepened the sand in my sump, causing the column of my protein skimmer to be buried. :evil:

Hi aStRoBo|,

skimmer is not a must. I am running my tank without a skimmer & so far so good.

U can go without sand. Some like to add sand for the look, or filtration reason. click on below My Seahorse Tank, can see my tank. Dun intend to add skimmer in the future too.

Wei :)

Hi aStRoBo|,

skimmer is not a must. I am running my tank without a skimmer & so far so good.

U can go without sand. Some like to add sand for the look, or filtration reason. click on below My Seahorse Tank, can see my tank. Dun intend to add skimmer in the future too.

hey thnks! but ur tank i saw u got sand for ur seahorse tank. impressive.

Hi aStRoBo|,

I use the sand for filtration. 2.5 to 3" depth & working very well. I also have a feeding station where I place the frozen mysis. The seahorse will just go there for their meals. I dun get uneaten food on sand, rocks or trap in some dead spot.

hi bro, 2-3 inch sand better, will help filteration, provide a place for pods to reproduce. to me skimmer is a mus! both i'll have in my tank for sure. :rolleyes:

I gotta feeling..Woo...hoo....That tonight's gonna be a good night.....That tonight's gonna be a good, good night!

don noe leh, i read the latest FAMA, under sand mail column, can wor.... or some1 correct me :unsure:

I gotta feeling..Woo...hoo....That tonight's gonna be a good night.....That tonight's gonna be a good, good night!

can find in the latest FRESHWATER AND MARINE AQUARIUM magazine. inside gt sh column 2! :D