weileong Posted February 21, 2004 Share Posted February 21, 2004 Been starring at these two fishes for quite sometime already. The more I look, the more I seems to find the red fire goby must nicer, especially with the bright purple stripe on it's head and the long dosal fin. The more I see the more I fall in love with them Quote Weileong's 4ft tank Part I Weileong's 4ft tank Part II Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member marinebetta Posted February 21, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted February 21, 2004 I didn't vote 'cause I can't decide....... Used to like the red much more than the purple, maybe because it was the only one known many, many moons ago when I started but also because I thought the purples did not have that "x" factor. This was until I saw a mature purple! A large mature purple really looks good, much nicer IMO than those small ones you usually see in LFS. Now I'm undecided.....probably get both when my tank's up Quote Intelligent people talk about ideas...... Average people talk about things...... Small people talk about other people...... Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member dravan Posted February 21, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted February 21, 2004 to me the red one is more swee haha.... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member SharkBait Posted February 21, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted February 21, 2004 The yellow ones are the nicest Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Golden Tooth Posted February 21, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted February 21, 2004 Actually both oso swee mah... Quote Bevor Sie das Licht sehen, müssen Sie sterben! Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member jc85 Posted February 21, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted February 21, 2004 If $$ not an issue, go get the helfrichi from PR. Cheers Quote Earth Conservation Blog My Marine Blog For All Sengkang Residents Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Kalib Posted February 21, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted February 21, 2004 I like purple firegoby more than the red firegoby. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member element Posted February 21, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted February 21, 2004 If $$ not an issue, go get the helfrichi from PR. Cheers yeah... totally agree man. they are really nice! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
FuEl Posted February 21, 2004 Share Posted February 21, 2004 I didn't vote 'cause I can't decide....... Used to like the red much more than the purple, maybe because it was the only one known many, many moons ago when I started but also because I thought the purples did not have that "x" factor. This was until I saw a mature purple! A large mature purple really looks good, much nicer IMO than those small ones you usually see in LFS. Now I'm undecided.....probably get both when my tank's up Hmmm...I thought as they grow older their colors fade? My teenage one is very colorful already. Saw some adults before, color like was paler compared to smaller specimens. Or are they diff species? Quote Always something more important than fish. http://reefbuilders.com/2012/03/08/sps-pico-reef/ Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member marinebetta Posted February 21, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted February 21, 2004 Hmmm...I thought as they grow older their colors fade? My teenage one is very colorful already. Saw some adults before, color like was paler compared to smaller specimens. Or are they diff species? ....maybe because these were "fresh". Quote Intelligent people talk about ideas...... Average people talk about things...... Small people talk about other people...... Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
FuEl Posted February 21, 2004 Share Posted February 21, 2004 ah ok..maybe also due to the water conditions or lighting they were kept under. Quote Always something more important than fish. http://reefbuilders.com/2012/03/08/sps-pico-reef/ Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
terryansimon Posted February 22, 2004 Share Posted February 22, 2004 in this example, PR = Paradiz or Pasir Ris? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member hypervtec Posted February 22, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted February 22, 2004 PR...paradiz reef..... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member hypervtec Posted February 22, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted February 22, 2004 already got 4 fire gobies,2 purple fire gone liao . still lookin for this fish,can any1 know where got sell? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member gtrigger Posted February 22, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted February 22, 2004 I have two purple firegoby. Nice an cute. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
terryansimon Posted February 22, 2004 Share Posted February 22, 2004 my gobies got hammered by crabs. then again. it maybe due to the LFS. hmm. shan't say anymore. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member ryan Posted February 22, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted February 22, 2004 here is my purple... its colours look faded tho Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member ryan Posted February 22, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted February 22, 2004 another one... is it faded? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
FuEl Posted February 22, 2004 Share Posted February 22, 2004 here is mine. Bought it when it was only a 2cm bugger being bullied by other fish at pasir ris farms. Quote Always something more important than fish. http://reefbuilders.com/2012/03/08/sps-pico-reef/ Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member jc85 Posted February 22, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted February 22, 2004 Hope this pic helps u to compare. Quote Earth Conservation Blog My Marine Blog For All Sengkang Residents Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member ah^siao Posted February 22, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted February 22, 2004 is that a purple adult? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Yellowbelly Posted February 22, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted February 22, 2004 I love both the fire goby and flame goby but seems to have no luck with them, they always goes missing after a few days whereby I won;t see them anymore...but other type of fish no problem. I want my gobies Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weileong Posted February 22, 2004 Author Share Posted February 22, 2004 I oso got the same problem, suspect the crabs got them. Will try them in my 2ft cube and I will use LR that confirm no crabs ie, maybe soak in freshwater for one day or dry them under the sun to make sure I kill all of them. Quote Weileong's 4ft tank Part I Weileong's 4ft tank Part II Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Nickel Posted February 24, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted February 24, 2004 Like the colors of the purple goby. But the orang ones more cute with their super long dorsal fins..got 2 in my tank now for quite a while now.....raise the flag whenever want stop swimming as if a handbrake. BTW, where got sell purple goby now ? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sponsor eaquarist Posted February 24, 2004 Sponsor Share Posted February 24, 2004 ....maybe because these were "fresh". Fire gobies have been a favourite because of their colours and seeming docile nature. I like both of them! Just to add my 2 cents...However, if kept in small numbers like twos or threes as they often are...one individual will soon emerge as a dominant fish (explains the brighter colours)and possibly kill all the rest.I have also noticed purple fires to be more aggressive too. The case of mysterious deaths could easily be attributed to Mantis or Bristleworms but might sometimes be really a victim of aggression. On the reef, large numbers congregrate but an invisible hierarchy exists. If possible, keep these beauties in a larger group. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...