Distilled water

Hi all, just decommed my 2 footer and gonna restart the tank with slow setups.

Currently have all I needed to get it back up n running again except live rocks (dumped it into my gf's tank),

And water.

Shut down my tank cause of phosphate/algae issues.

So now trying to tweak a few things for my setup.

Is using distilled water from ntuc/cold storage good enough? Or is it only advisable to get a ro/di unit? (Trying to save the cash on getting a ro unit as I'm only running a 2 footer with sump. Planning to make it a fish only.

All advice are welcomed please. Thanks.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

For FOWLR, need not use RODI or distilled water..use tap water with anti chlorine will suffice..using all new salt mix water is ok by adding bacteria for 7 days..do preserve ur LR, they r very important in all reef system..try to get stable fishes from Reefer..getting from LFS is always a risk..to reduce the risk, QT the fish or get fish that stay in LFS for a few week or must b feeding on pellets..hope to see ur new tank soon..

Btw, 2ft tank a bit small for FOWLR..but ok with proper planning..meaning decide what fish to keep..size of fish..number of fish..do not overstock..cheers

@ 291213

Updated video: Kenyee FOWLR

http://m.youtube.com/my_videos

Hmmmm. Won't that put me on the same issue as well? With having high phosphate/silicate which will contribute to algae growth? When I set up my tank last time, I was using nsw from ah beng, then normal tap water for water change. My corals were actually doing ok. Had a Maroon and a small snowflake. A bta, a sun coral, mushrooms, torch and some other hardy Lps. All were doing great till I had an algae issue. So now all my stock are now in my gf's tank ( just finished cycle) in a 3 footer. Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Intending to keep just 2-3 dwarf lion fish in this fowler, and maybe a small snowflake.

In the market camping for a 2nd hand 3 footer for my next tank, which will be a mini reef.

Current 2 footer has a 2 feet DIY sump as well.

Just checking if u run any GFO to remove ur PO4 in your old tank.

Do remember PO4 will increase over time unless you run some form of GFO or refugium to export them.

I believe your old tank had a case of PO4 leaching from your old live rock.

This is one of the common scenario.

If you need distill water delivery to your place let me know.

I know a honest person doing this.

Do note this is for those 5 Gal commercial distill water container you see in offices.

Fyi, my FOWLR tank have no algae issue given all my saltmix water is using tap water with anti chlorine..my top up tank oso the same..top up ard 5L daily..

algae usually will strives under some requirement..

1. Lighting..I m using normal BW led light..maybe not strong enough..but my tank have some morning Sun though..

2. Flow..I find that with good flow, algae harder to grow..my tank have ard 18000lph turnover n 2 x wp40, providing very good flow..

3. Feeding..I dun overfeed my fish..on auto timer, 2 times a day (11am & 6pm)..drop pellets that fish can eat all within 3min..occasionally hand feed nori seaweed from ntuc or mysis & brine shrimp in between..

4. Luck..

Cheers n happy reefing..

@ 291213

wasn't running any gfo.

Was only running chaeto in my fuge.

And just running small mesh bags of seachem carbon and also phosguard.

How much is it for the 5 gallon package?

Will try calculate if it's more cost effective over buying a ro/di unit.

Was thinking of using dead rocks from madpets for my setup and just let it slowly take it's time to cycle. Prolly buy 1 live rock just to seed the tank and have some coralline algae as well. (Still contemplating)

I was running a 1500l/hr for my return.

And a fluval sea 1000l/hr wave maker.

Running aquazonic t5 lights, actinic bluex1, daylightx1.

Running on a 2 hr blue-6 both-2 blue.

Was it due to excessive light and too little flow?

And also, sorry to add another question, will a 2 footer be sufficient to keep 2-3 dwarf lions? Intending to keep those and also maybe a trigger(haven't read much about it yet, compatibly/ sizing), just a thought.

wasn't running any gfo.

Was only running chaeto in my fuge.

And just running small mesh bags of seachem carbon and also phosguard.

How much is it for the 5 gallon package?

Will try calculate if it's more cost effective over buying a ro/di unit.

Was thinking of using dead rocks from madpets for my setup and just let it slowly take it's time to cycle. Prolly buy 1 live rock just to seed the tank and have some coralline algae as well. (Still contemplating)

For FOWLR, normally dun have coralline algae on LR as it's better to have lower salinity for fish..having a SG of 1.018 will not have coralline algae..depending on what u want, maybe u want a mix reef..once again it's ur choice of spending ur $..I prefer to spend it on fish than on distilled water n salt..cheers

@ 291213

If I may add, I think

a) algae growth is fueled by light and excessive nutrients in the water (especially nitrates and phosphates). Limit the nitrates and phosphates, they got no nutrients to grow. I have no experience with Refugiums or fluidised reactors but I add a pack of Algone in my tank and I have seen very positive results in my two footer.

B) fishes need ample room and a large volume of water. The room to swim around and the large volume of water to dilute the concentration of waste they would produce. Overstocking is the main culprit for fish deaths and poor quality water.

c) from my little knowledge, plants & corals don't mix with fishes if you wish for them to flourish. They have very different requirements.

d) flow around the tank is very important. Dead spots will accumulate deterius and algae will grow in those areas. The flow rate is important but I think the flow around the tank is paramount.

Having said the above, what algae were you having previously?

Different algae may signify different root causes.

Hope this helps :)

Just checking if u run any GFO to remove ur PO4 in your old tank.

Do remember PO4 will increase over time unless you run some form of GFO or refugium to export them.

I believe your old tank had a case of PO4 leaching from your old live rock.

This is one of the common scenario.

If you need distill water delivery to your place let me know.

I know a honest person doing this.

Do note this is for those 5 Gal commercial distill water container you see in offices.

Hi Bro can PM Me The Contact?

.cheers!

300Gallons of Pure Goodness! >Dimensions 6x2x2 (Foot)

1: Maxspect 160 Watt qty-2

2: Vortech MP 40 Wes

3:Jaebao WP40 qty-2

3: Skimz Becket Skimmer/ Ehiem 1260

4: Dymax XC 900 Calcium Reactor

5: American Pinpoint PH Controller

6: Iwaki MD 55 And MD 70 (Return)

7: Hydra Aquatics FR45 Reactor

8:Hailea 10HP Chiller

R2R forum->>>http://www.reef2reef.com/forums/photography-forum/154896-ashwins-reefing-photography.html

Already posted leh ;)

Here's it again.

Patrick(AQ Water) - 91051231.

Thanks Bro! :)

R2R forum->>>http://www.reef2reef.com/forums/photography-forum/154896-ashwins-reefing-photography.html

Already posted leh ;)

Here's it again.

Patrick(AQ Water) - 91051231.

hi bro contacted Him Still no reply at