Tank project 5ft,2.5,2 - Newbie @ punggol 21

blackcell

May be an individual preference but I would like the return to be as far from the over flow otherwise it's like a short circuit (fluid mechanics). Haha

Haha bro..I also think so in the beginning..the return n overflow too near like water once return into the tank straight away go back into overflow..like tank water no filter like that.. But after serious thinking n looking at successful tank setups, its not what I think in the beginning..return n overflow on same side is ok..the importance is the flow of water in the tank..there must not b death spot aka stagnant water..bad things like to grow n stay there..strong flow in tank is the key..happy reefing..

@ 291213

Updated video: Kenyee FOWLR

http://m.youtube.com/my_videos

What problem u face with both at the same end? I believe at same end, lesser pipe to b used thus stronger flow..all piping hidden oso..

My tank still in progress..target after xmas..

The bigger waste is blown away if the return is near the over flow.. need to test a couple of time to fine tune..

Sent from my SM-N9005 using Tapatalk

When you fish for love, bait with your heart, not your brain

Haha bro..I also think so in the beginning..the return n overflow too near like water once return into the tank straight away go back into overflow..like tank water no filter like that.. But after serious thinking n looking at successful tank setups, its not what I think in the beginning..return n overflow on same side is ok..the importance is the flow of water in the tank..there must not b death spot aka stagnant water..bad things like to grow n stay there..strong flow in tank is the key..happy reefing..

As long wavemaker is cut off by half power during fishes and coral sleeling time..

The bigger waste is blown away if the return is near the over flow.. need to test a couple of time to fine tune..

I get what u mean bro..IMHO, the overflow is mainly not for bigger waste to flow into..waste in DT will b break down instead of flowing into overflow..what the sump filter sock mainly do is to filter the "dirty" (waste break down water) water instead of catching the big waste..

think like this, when u feed, will all the food flow into the overflow like the fish waste u wanted it to be?..I believe ideally is the food will flow around in the DT for fish to eat instead of flowing into the overflow..the excess aka uneaten will break down like the fish waste.."clean" water in sump will mix with "dirty" water in DT so higher flow is better..

@ 291213

I get what u mean bro..IMHO, the overflow is mainly not for bigger waste to flow into..waste in DT will b break down instead of flowing into overflow..what the sump filter sock mainly do is to filter the "dirty" (waste break down water) water instead of catching the big waste..

think like this, when u feed, will all the food flow into the overflow like the fish waste u wanted it to be?..I believe ideally is the food will flow around in the DT for fish to eat instead of flowing into the overflow..the excess aka uneaten will break down like the fish waste.."clean" water in sump will mix with "dirty" water in DT so higher flow is better..

The bigger waste get push to the overflow.. trial and error.. i torn off a small plastic to gauge the flow direction and adjust according.. i was looking at the sump tank which i didnt put any filter sock.. you be surpise how clear it is.. you should go check out ATM outbreak system.. weekly dosing and the water system is really clear..

Nice sump n filtration system bro..the best filtration system I see n read about so far is only LR n cheato..no skimmer..no chiller..no fan..wonder how it work till so good..I will definitely go find out more about ATM outbreak system..

Filter sock I find is just a ease of mind filter..the sock will b brown n dirty no matter how clean the tank water is by placing the sock in the last compartment of the sump..being brown n dirty mean the water was filtered n become clean..

Happy reefing..

@ 291213

Yeah.. at the begin was quite worried about not put it.. after i saw jeffery from westcoast aquarium. He has been running his system for years.. his advice is priceless.. what he said is true.. we are suppose to keep this as simple as possible.. spend the time admiring your tank then cleaning it..

Wow bro..AT..nice fish..when's kopi?

Yeah bro.. my AT like weirdo.. spots are gone and it eat anything that my other fishes eat.. i thought AT are vegetarian?

Im from punggol too! No courage to post abt my tank yet. Can meetup share knowledge.

Hi bro, why no courage..just share..beauty lies in the eyes of the beholder..we r all learning here..

@ 291213

There is quite a few of us from punggol.. i think fish farm too nearby.. lol

Haiz the sad thing is most LFS from Pasir Ris will be moved or gone by end 2014??? Ah being already has a branch at LCK and luckily my parents stay in CCK and will go to west side LFS whenever I visit my parents.....

haha, kept having the feel that my tank is so ugly that it will ruin the image of reefing lol

Bro, just share..tell us ur tank specs n info..no need have bad feeling..we all enjoy reefing..

@ 291213

Haiz the sad thing is most LFS from Pasir Ris will be moved or gone by end 2014??? Ah being already has a branch at LCK and luckily my parents stay in CCK and will go to west side LFS whenever I visit my parents.....

SG is not very big..an hour or so can go from one side to the other side liao..haha..

@ 291213

Hi guys, today was epic !! I was cleaning and topple over a rock.. All came crashing down.. I has to rescape it !! Lol

3 hours to shift rock and coral was no joke !!

Do you smell what my tank is cooking..

Im from punggol too! No courage to post abt my tank yet. Can meetup share knowledge.

Bro, share pictures.. We all can share ideas.. I am only a month new into this crazy hobby..

Bro, just share..tell us ur tank specs n info..no need have bad feeling..we all enjoy reefing..

Brother kenyee, how is the your tank coming along ?