SRC Member Reefzzz Posted October 28, 2013 SRC Member Share Posted October 28, 2013 Mine is not a new tank. Change to FOWLR after CFO complain that the chiller is producing too much heat and the location of my tank is unable to connect to a compressor coil. So no choice, finally have to dismantle the chiller and sump and just using a Eheim canister connect to the overflow. Subsequently, me and my CFO run into a series of bad luck. One day i told her i suspect this due to us removing all the corals. Surprisingly, she agreed with me and told me to better 'reinstate' the tank. So here i am, back to reefing again. Buying back all the equipments again and back to the old problems of heat dissipation from chiller. This time round, CFO did not make any more complain. At least for now.... Quote Main Tank: 5 x 1 x 1 Return from overflow: Eheim compact+ 5000 Lighting: 2x 54W T5 Skimmer: Deltec SC 1350 Chiller: Arctica 1/10 Wave Maker: Tunze Nano Wavebox & Tunze 6055 with Photocell Monitor 1: American Marine Pinpoint pH monitor Monitor 2: American Marine Pinpoint Temperature monitor Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Reefzzz Posted October 28, 2013 Author SRC Member Share Posted October 28, 2013 This is how my fowlr looks like. I started off the fowlr with my long time residents, a pair of misbar black clowns. This pair been with me for many years and the only pair i managed to keep alive. I ended my fowlr with the same pair as well. None of the fishes that i bought during the short stint in fowlr survived. Very sad but not sure why. I probably just not suitable to keep fishes. Corals on the other hand is comparatively easier Quote Main Tank: 5 x 1 x 1 Return from overflow: Eheim compact+ 5000 Lighting: 2x 54W T5 Skimmer: Deltec SC 1350 Chiller: Arctica 1/10 Wave Maker: Tunze Nano Wavebox & Tunze 6055 with Photocell Monitor 1: American Marine Pinpoint pH monitor Monitor 2: American Marine Pinpoint Temperature monitor Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member [V]tEc Posted October 28, 2013 SRC Member Share Posted October 28, 2013 Welcome back bro Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Reefzzz Posted October 28, 2013 Author SRC Member Share Posted October 28, 2013 Previous setup: FOWLR Quote Main Tank: 5 x 1 x 1 Return from overflow: Eheim compact+ 5000 Lighting: 2x 54W T5 Skimmer: Deltec SC 1350 Chiller: Arctica 1/10 Wave Maker: Tunze Nano Wavebox & Tunze 6055 with Photocell Monitor 1: American Marine Pinpoint pH monitor Monitor 2: American Marine Pinpoint Temperature monitor Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Reefzzz Posted October 28, 2013 Author SRC Member Share Posted October 28, 2013 Welcome back bro Thanks bro... Got a lot of advice from you on keeping fishes during that period. Your fowlr is always an aspiration for me. keke Quote Main Tank: 5 x 1 x 1 Return from overflow: Eheim compact+ 5000 Lighting: 2x 54W T5 Skimmer: Deltec SC 1350 Chiller: Arctica 1/10 Wave Maker: Tunze Nano Wavebox & Tunze 6055 with Photocell Monitor 1: American Marine Pinpoint pH monitor Monitor 2: American Marine Pinpoint Temperature monitor Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Reefzzz Posted October 28, 2013 Author SRC Member Share Posted October 28, 2013 For the reef tank: Tank - 5x1x1 (low iron front panel) Lights - Change back to T5 Skimmer - Deltec 1350 Pump - Eheim compact 5000. Using Diablo 5500 in the pic but unable to T-off to a few output Chiller - Arctica 1/10 Pic 1: Main tank (changing out the water, putting back the cured LR) Pic 2: Monitors Pic 3: My simple sump Quote Main Tank: 5 x 1 x 1 Return from overflow: Eheim compact+ 5000 Lighting: 2x 54W T5 Skimmer: Deltec SC 1350 Chiller: Arctica 1/10 Wave Maker: Tunze Nano Wavebox & Tunze 6055 with Photocell Monitor 1: American Marine Pinpoint pH monitor Monitor 2: American Marine Pinpoint Temperature monitor Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member surreal1228 Posted October 28, 2013 SRC Member Share Posted October 28, 2013 Hey bro u back! Another amazing zoas collector. Quote :superman: :superman: :superman: Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Supporter tansk Posted October 28, 2013 SRC Supporter Share Posted October 28, 2013 Welcome back bro! Camping here for more updates Quote My little ocean Mix Reef-Main tank 30 inches Length x 32 inches Width x 18 inches Height 2 X Skim DC return pump Aquabee 2000 chiller feeder Hailea 1/2 Chiller 1 X Tunze nano wavebox2 X EcoTech Marine Vortech MP10WDeltec skimmer - Internal Lumenarc 400watt 12K Reeflux8 X T5 ATI Powermodule Prolifux control with external touchscreen displayRefugium keeping chaeto Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
MarcoVan Posted October 28, 2013 Share Posted October 28, 2013 Power lah bro!!! Welcome back! Quote Happy Reefing, Marc J. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
kirbysjb Posted October 29, 2013 Share Posted October 29, 2013 Nice and neat setup bro. What fishes are you intending to put? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member SunkistC Posted October 29, 2013 SRC Member Share Posted October 29, 2013 Ah my sifu is back! The culprit who poisoned me and brought me into marine tank hobby in 1996 Welcome back bro! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Admiraltian Posted October 29, 2013 Share Posted October 29, 2013 Nice setup, the lighthouse is for decor purpose? Quote Display Tank : 36" x 20" x 20" Herbie overflow box design, Sump : 36" x 21" x 17", Frag Tank : 16” x 20” x 16”, custom built by Tank Culture. Lightings : Ecotech Radion XR15 Pro x 2 for Main Display Tank, Inled R80 x 1 for Frag Tank. Chiller : Dalkin 1hp compressor with build-in drop coil. Skimmer : Skimz Octa SC205i Protein Skimmer. FR : H2Ocean FMR75 Fluidised Media Reactor with Hailea HX-2500 (Feeder Pump) running Rowaphos. CR : Skimz Monzter E Series CM122 Calcium Reactor. BPR: Marine Source Biopellet Reactor with Continuum Reef Biopellet Fuel. Main Return Pump : SICCE Syncra ADV 9.0 & Jebao ACQ-10000 Water Pump. Wavemaker : Jebao MOW-9 x2 for Main Display Tank & Jebao SLW-20M Sine Wave Pump for Frag Tank. Water Top Up: AutoAqua Smart ATO Lite. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
spgohjc Posted October 29, 2013 Share Posted October 29, 2013 Welcome back bro! So where's the chiller now? Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk - now Free Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Reefzzz Posted October 29, 2013 Author SRC Member Share Posted October 29, 2013 Hey bro u back! Another amazing zoas collector. Bro, no time so see. Saw you have an amazing selection of collectables now.. Welcome back bro! Camping here for more updates Going slow bro... Got lobang must inform okie... Power lah bro!!! Welcome back! Reefing still hard to resist. Most seems to come back after stopping for a while.. haha Nice and neat setup bro. What fishes are you intending to put? Still sticking with my original black clowns but they are getting big now and territorial. They tends to chase away other fishes crossing their path. Trying one pbt first since i don't have other fishes in my tank except one more royal gamma. If ti survive, then i out in a few more. Bought a very small and cute PT last Sat. Sun morning dead. i suspect probably attack by the black clowns. signzzz Ah my sifu is back! The culprit who poisoned me and brought me into marine tank hobby in 1996 Welcome back bro! Alamak bro. you make it sound we are so old. I am not your sifu la. Your fish keeping record much better than mine.. Your tank should be quite full now. Still yet to visit your tank after so much talk andstaying so near... lol Nice setup, the lighthouse is for decor purpose? Yes bro, just for decorative purpose. i used to put in on a LR protruding out of the water.. 1 Quote Main Tank: 5 x 1 x 1 Return from overflow: Eheim compact+ 5000 Lighting: 2x 54W T5 Skimmer: Deltec SC 1350 Chiller: Arctica 1/10 Wave Maker: Tunze Nano Wavebox & Tunze 6055 with Photocell Monitor 1: American Marine Pinpoint pH monitor Monitor 2: American Marine Pinpoint Temperature monitor Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Reefzzz Posted October 29, 2013 Author SRC Member Share Posted October 29, 2013 Welcome back bro! So where's the chiller now? No choice bro. Chiller still put in cabinet like previous set up. I just attached a fan to the chiller to blow the hot air out. Else, i have to keep changing my adapter every half year or so as the heat in the cabinet spoilt all the equipment circuitry. I left one side of the cabinet door open, tilt the chiller to one side. It look awkward but no choice.. The only think i find unbearable is the fan noise. i remember i read somewhere in the forum to connect the fan to the chiller so it only activate when the chiller kicks in. Any bros knows how to do it? Quote Main Tank: 5 x 1 x 1 Return from overflow: Eheim compact+ 5000 Lighting: 2x 54W T5 Skimmer: Deltec SC 1350 Chiller: Arctica 1/10 Wave Maker: Tunze Nano Wavebox & Tunze 6055 with Photocell Monitor 1: American Marine Pinpoint pH monitor Monitor 2: American Marine Pinpoint Temperature monitor Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member angmoh Posted October 29, 2013 SRC Member Share Posted October 29, 2013 bro, perhaps you wish to create an opening at your cabinet to draw out the hot air ? try using ventilation/exhaust fan. I feel that it is far better than those CPU fan. you can check it out in my thread. I'm using that as well. u can get the temperature controller at sim lim square. use that as a controller instead of the chiller's internal controller. both the chiller and fan plug into the controller, when temperature rise, both will be energized. personally i haven't tried that. but i feel that is not necessary as the cost to run a fan is so negligible. i think the cost of getting the controller can offset the electricity bill for the fan for dunno how many years.. one month probably cost you $2-3 bucks.. Quote >> Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Reefzzz Posted October 29, 2013 Author SRC Member Share Posted October 29, 2013 u can get the temperature controller at sim lim square. use that as a controller instead of the chiller's internal controller. both the chiller and fan plug into the controller, when temperature rise, both will be energized. Bro, if i am using an additional temperature controller, how to deactivate the chiller temperature control. Also, i occasionally heard reefers buying probe, temp controller, etc from SIm Lim. But whenever i step into Sim Lim, i only saw shops selling camera, PC and laptop related stuffs. I don;t remember seeing shops selling other stuffs. haha... Maybe i don;t know how to look around. See any bros can help Quote Main Tank: 5 x 1 x 1 Return from overflow: Eheim compact+ 5000 Lighting: 2x 54W T5 Skimmer: Deltec SC 1350 Chiller: Arctica 1/10 Wave Maker: Tunze Nano Wavebox & Tunze 6055 with Photocell Monitor 1: American Marine Pinpoint pH monitor Monitor 2: American Marine Pinpoint Temperature monitor Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
spgohjc Posted October 29, 2013 Share Posted October 29, 2013 Bro, if i am using an additional temperature controller, how to deactivate the chiller temperature control. Also, i occasionally heard reefers buying probe, temp controller, etc from SIm Lim. But whenever i step into Sim Lim, i only saw shops selling camera, PC and laptop related stuffs. I don;t remember seeing shops selling other stuffs. haha... Maybe i don;t know how to look around. See any bros can help Go Sim Lim Tower not Sim Lim Square. Two different places. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member angmoh Posted October 29, 2013 SRC Member Share Posted October 29, 2013 haha sorry my bad...is sim lim tower...not square... if i'm not wrong the idea is to set the chiller temperature at a lower temperature like 20 degrees. so whenever it is switched on/energnized, the chiller will kick in. Quote >> Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Admiraltian Posted October 29, 2013 Share Posted October 29, 2013 Bro, no time so see. Saw you have an amazing selection of collectables now.. Going slow bro... Got lobang must inform okie... Reefing still hard to resist. Most seems to come back after stopping for a while.. haha Still sticking with my original black clowns but they are getting big now and territorial. They tends to chase away other fishes crossing their path. Trying one pbt first since i don't have other fishes in my tank except one more royal gamma. If ti survive, then i out in a few more. Bought a very small and cute PT last Sat. Sun morning dead. i suspect probably attack by the black clowns. signzzz Alamak bro. you make it sound we are so old. I am not your sifu la. Your fish keeping record much better than mine.. Your tank should be quite full now. Still yet to visit your tank after so much talk andstaying so near... lol Yes bro, just for decorative purpose. i used to put in on a LR protruding out of the water.. Nice pc of decor, lighthouse to shine light for your slice of little ocean, ha ha... Quote Display Tank : 36" x 20" x 20" Herbie overflow box design, Sump : 36" x 21" x 17", Frag Tank : 16” x 20” x 16”, custom built by Tank Culture. Lightings : Ecotech Radion XR15 Pro x 2 for Main Display Tank, Inled R80 x 1 for Frag Tank. Chiller : Dalkin 1hp compressor with build-in drop coil. Skimmer : Skimz Octa SC205i Protein Skimmer. FR : H2Ocean FMR75 Fluidised Media Reactor with Hailea HX-2500 (Feeder Pump) running Rowaphos. CR : Skimz Monzter E Series CM122 Calcium Reactor. BPR: Marine Source Biopellet Reactor with Continuum Reef Biopellet Fuel. Main Return Pump : SICCE Syncra ADV 9.0 & Jebao ACQ-10000 Water Pump. Wavemaker : Jebao MOW-9 x2 for Main Display Tank & Jebao SLW-20M Sine Wave Pump for Frag Tank. Water Top Up: AutoAqua Smart ATO Lite. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Reefzzz Posted October 29, 2013 Author SRC Member Share Posted October 29, 2013 Go Sim Lim Tower not Sim Lim Square. Two different places. haha sorry my bad...is sim lim tower...not square... if i'm not wrong the idea is to set the chiller temperature at a lower temperature like 20 degrees. so whenever it is switched on/energnized, the chiller will kick in. Ok bros. Got it now. I been going to the wrong place all along.. haha Quote Main Tank: 5 x 1 x 1 Return from overflow: Eheim compact+ 5000 Lighting: 2x 54W T5 Skimmer: Deltec SC 1350 Chiller: Arctica 1/10 Wave Maker: Tunze Nano Wavebox & Tunze 6055 with Photocell Monitor 1: American Marine Pinpoint pH monitor Monitor 2: American Marine Pinpoint Temperature monitor Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Reefzzz Posted October 29, 2013 Author SRC Member Share Posted October 29, 2013 Nice pc of decor, lighthouse to shine light for your slice of little ocean, ha ha... Its a decommission lighthouse already. Just like Sultan Shoal lighthouse. The rotating lights no longer functioning..lol Quote Main Tank: 5 x 1 x 1 Return from overflow: Eheim compact+ 5000 Lighting: 2x 54W T5 Skimmer: Deltec SC 1350 Chiller: Arctica 1/10 Wave Maker: Tunze Nano Wavebox & Tunze 6055 with Photocell Monitor 1: American Marine Pinpoint pH monitor Monitor 2: American Marine Pinpoint Temperature monitor Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member peacemaker Posted October 29, 2013 SRC Member Share Posted October 29, 2013 Welcome back, bro! Have you ever considered tearing down the tank and building a new one from scratch? It'll be a good chance to change some of the things that have been bugging you for a number of years. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Solo77 Posted October 29, 2013 Share Posted October 29, 2013 Looking good. Quote Tank : 4 X 2 X 2 with low iron front panel and external overflow Skimmer : BK SM200 with waste collector Return Pumps : Red Dragon 6m3 and Ehiem 1262 FR : 2 X Deltec 509 & powered by AB2000 Nitrate Filter : Deltec NF 509 and tee off from AB2000 Calcium R'tor : Deltec PF 501 with RM secondary chamber Kalkwasser R'tor : Deltec KM500 Chiller : Pansonic 1 HP Compressor with 20m titanium Coil Wave Makers : 4 X Tunze 6055 with 7096 & Vortec MP40w Controller : GHL Profilux Lighting : ATI Powermodule 10 or 8 tubes Water Top-up : Water Top-Up tank powered by Tunze Osmolator External Monitor : American Pinpoint pH and Temp. Monitor for main tank and GHL Profilux Controller to measure temp, pH, Redox Ozonizer : Sander C50 UV : Corallife 6x Algae Scrubbler Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
tht79 Posted October 29, 2013 Share Posted October 29, 2013 For the reef tank: Tank - 5x1x1 (low iron front panel) Lights - Change back to T5 Skimmer - Deltec 1350 Pump - Eheim compact 5000. Using Diablo 5500 in the pic but unable to T-off to a few output Chiller - Arctica 1/10 Pic 1: Main tank (changing out the water, putting back the cured LR) Pic 2: Monitors Pic 3: My simple sump Welcome back bro Looks like ultra zoas/paly going to form on the right island soon 1 Quote Passion in reefing! youtube.com/watch?v=qExn-l-t5a4 youtube.com/watch?v=z6LNPWec5zA Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...