DerrickLim Posted October 18, 2013 Share Posted October 18, 2013 Can get rotifer from lck201. I think is $5 per packet. U check the sponsor thread for detail. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member cutebarra77 Posted October 19, 2013 SRC Member Share Posted October 19, 2013 Finally hatched So now where do i get the rotifer ? Congrats!!! That makes u a nanny! Yes, can call Steven from lck201 to chk the availability first at 81134618. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member cutebarra77 Posted October 19, 2013 SRC Member Share Posted October 19, 2013 Lifted from marine breeder forum: Following hatch, the best bet for attempting to rear these larvae is utilizing greenwater techniques including phytoplankton such as Nannochloropsus, Nannochloris, Tetraselmis or Isocrysis (T-Iso). Zooplanktons could include SS-Strain Rotifers and Copepod nauplii - copepod nauplii seem to be one of the better performing routes to take - these nauplii must be free swimming, so most folks are focusing on the Calanoid copepod species. Think can also try getting green water from ah beng or iwarna as well. Depending on where u stay. Lck201 may carry as well. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member cutebarra77 Posted October 19, 2013 SRC Member Share Posted October 19, 2013 http://reefcentral.com/forums/showthread.php?t=824111&page=4 Check out the above link on this reefer's 40 pages mandarin breeding log. Page 4 kinda gives u an idea on his battle plan - feeding larvea. Happy reading and baby mandarin sitting. Getting very exciting... More updates yeah... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Marvin Wang Posted October 19, 2013 Author Share Posted October 19, 2013 http://reefcentral.com/forums/showthread.php?t=824111&page=4 Check out the above link on this reefer's 40 pages mandarin breeding log. Page 4 kinda gives u an idea on his battle plan - feeding larvea. Happy reading and baby mandarin sitting. Getting very exciting... More updates yeah... Lifted from marine breeder forum: Following hatch, the best bet for attempting to rear these larvae is utilizing greenwater techniques including phytoplankton such as Nannochloropsus, Nannochloris, Tetraselmis or Isocrysis (T-Iso). Zooplanktons could include SS-Strain Rotifers and Copepod nauplii - copepod nauplii seem to be one of the better performing routes to take - these nauplii must be free swimming, so most folks are focusing on the Calanoid copepod species. Think can also try getting green water from ah beng or iwarna as well. Depending on where u stay. Lck201 may carry as well. haha i guess we are reading the samething. might pop by ah beng or irwana tmr. These guys came at such wrong timing man, got a paper on monday to study for Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Marvin Wang Posted October 19, 2013 Author Share Posted October 19, 2013 its kinda getting harder to picture the larvae with my phone now as they starting to move faster. Thus a video it shall be, 39hrs after spawning 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Evolutionz Posted October 19, 2013 SRC Member Share Posted October 19, 2013 wow amazing! i just got a female (fat) mandarin today to hopefully pair with my lone male whos is alone for 8 months with me.. Quote EvolutionZ's Floating Reef: (Decommed) EvolutionZ's 4ft shallow Mixed Reef Build : Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Marvin Wang Posted October 20, 2013 Author Share Posted October 20, 2013 wow amazing! i just got a female (fat) mandarin today to hopefully pair with my lone male whos is alone for 8 months with me.. dunno if size matter , my pair is around 2" and 1.5" in length. Haha wish u luck Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Marvin Wang Posted October 20, 2013 Author Share Posted October 20, 2013 66hrs after spawning Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member cutebarra77 Posted October 20, 2013 SRC Member Share Posted October 20, 2013 So cute. Survival rate of the larvae? Btw, good job! Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member cutebarra77 Posted October 20, 2013 SRC Member Share Posted October 20, 2013 Care to share the setup of the larvae tank? Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Marvin Wang Posted October 20, 2013 Author Share Posted October 20, 2013 So cute. Survival rate of the larvae? Btw, good job! Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk Hatch rate is around 98% Survival rate of larvae= unknown seems like all still doing well. Think up to this stage is still easy to care for as no feeding is necessary. Its the next 24hrs that crucial when feeding starts to kick in. coz i dun have the right feed to do it. checked with Junkai yesterday if wanna get the right strain of copepod to raise them have to import them from US and its will take more then a week and think its around 100plus. Also they do not have the smaller strain of rotifer right now. Care to share the setup of the larvae tank? Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk haha talking abt larvae tank. There's no TANK involved lei. This is the setup. A used chye xin bottle....... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member cutebarra77 Posted October 20, 2013 SRC Member Share Posted October 20, 2013 So how often u change the water in jar? Any harm to experiment with cooked egg yolk? That's what I used for most of the fresh water fries species last time... Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Marvin Wang Posted October 22, 2013 Author Share Posted October 22, 2013 pictures taken 97hrs after spawning . updates at 113hrs after spawning. -dying off started. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member cutebarra77 Posted October 22, 2013 SRC Member Share Posted October 22, 2013 What are those white particles? Food? Well done so far, dude! Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
tks 13 Posted October 22, 2013 Share Posted October 22, 2013 Well done and all the best. If you willing to let go some aft they grow, I love to have it.thank in advance Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Marvin Wang Posted October 22, 2013 Author Share Posted October 22, 2013 What are those white particles? Food? Well done so far, dude! Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk rotifer+tank water. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Marvin Wang Posted October 22, 2013 Author Share Posted October 22, 2013 118hrs -massive dying off spotted . Think by tmr no larval liao ... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member cutebarra77 Posted October 22, 2013 SRC Member Share Posted October 22, 2013 Did u aerate the water? Is the water dirty as a result of unconsumed food? Siphon off the dirt at the bottom. Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Marvin Wang Posted October 23, 2013 Author Share Posted October 23, 2013 Did u aerate the water? Is the water dirty as a result of unconsumed food? Siphon off the dirt at the bottom. Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk yap keep changing the water after feeding .... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Marvin Wang Posted October 23, 2013 Author Share Posted October 23, 2013 alright as expected. Batch 3 all died off. Batch 4 dint hatch well. only left with one larvae Batch 5 just collect. i guess i can only spend more time doing this after my exam... haizzz Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member cutebarra77 Posted October 23, 2013 SRC Member Share Posted October 23, 2013 U have done well so far. just keep doing it and I'm sure you will hit the jackpot. and good luck for your exams!!! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
spgohjc Posted October 24, 2013 Share Posted October 24, 2013 The chances of survival is almost zero but don't give up. Keep the water clean as you don't have filtration. Good luck! Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk - now Free Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Royston Posted October 24, 2013 Share Posted October 24, 2013 Congraz and don't give up. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
dnsfpl Posted October 24, 2013 Share Posted October 24, 2013 assuming you have no experience in breeding this is a very good start liao nothing more impt than exam holiday have more than enough time for 2nd attempt cheers Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...