sand from changi beach

ashidiq

i am currently looking sand for my sand bed in main tank and sand for my lunem in my sump ... tank size 3 by 1.5 by 2 (sump 2 by 1.5 by 1.5) so can i use the sand from changi beach ?(those fine sand i mean

you sure? Its so coarse and dirty.. get from sentosa lah... hehe.. BTW why not buy?

KAKAKA.... he already say the fine sand liao lor... :P

opps.. but really.. been to Changi. never liked the beach there. So dirty..

sentosa so far ... haha if can go maldives island better hor.... i haven got the answr if i can or cannot take sand from changi...

no go dive and take from sea's sandbed better..

DUH.. sentosa so near you said far.. if your meaning of can or cannot in an ethical fashion, I would say no.. else we would see in papers again regarding unruly behaviours of Singaporeans..

Negative effects mainly is on YOU!! if ganna caught will get a very hefty FINE. taking sand from the beach wether reef save or not is ILLEGAL. ke ke... do at own risk. wait try to save a few bucks you might end up paying the price of a chiller!! ke ke... :P

no they are not aragonite base.. they r just normal coral sand..

which can later become live sand..

u know aragonite sand cost how much or not.. they cost over 100++ leh...

..for <10kg :evil:

errr normally aragonite sand come in 10kg per bag wa..

how to get < then 10kg..??

last time sea life got sell now dont know.. i need to check with them...

Here: http://www.eaquanature.com/store/product_i...products_id=605

where got sell cheap and aragonite based sand ?

Any crushed coral or coral chip sand is aragonite.

Anyway, if you really wants to get Grade sand from Changi, you need to go right to the end of the beach, facing the jetty which you board boats to Ubin. Please DO NOT take those sands which is by the shore, but take from the place just after the grass. The sand is really fine... However, after bringing back, you need to wash them clean, as the sand is very dry and might be acidic as well.

Carefully rinse it with salt mix or NSW if you like, I used to "wash" the sand at the sea before bringing it back.

I'm a newbie myself, but I believe that sand at any beach in Singapore is imported from places like Indonesia etc where they quarry the sand. This might be silica based sand which is bad for reef. Anyone know anything specific on this? All I know is a great deal of reclamation took/takes place and is unlikely that the sandy beaches are coral based in Singapore...hope this helps...