My humble lions tank

angry

Very nice lions you guys have. Ive been a big fan of lions ever since I was a ######. So far have only seen fuzzy and volitans in LFS.

Anyway gonna setup a 4x1x1.5 tank soon and I was wondering if the tank is big enough to keep them. Afraid that 1 ft width might not be enough for them to make a U-turn in the tank. If cant keep then think i can forget about keeping lions. :cry2:

Hey bro,

i feet for the width of your tank is not enough unless u r thinking of keeping only the dwarf species. Its definitely not enough for volitans thats for sue, and i'm toking about an adult fish here. Bear in mind that they grow damn fast. A juvenile coming to u at 1.5" will jump to 5' or more in half a years time depending again on the amout of food given. I'd say the width should at least be 18". Adult volitans prefer open water so a little bit of height can be used here. How about increasing it to 2ft?

If all else fail to change the specs of your tank, i suggest you go for the dwarf zebre type? They look awesome too if tank is setup properly. Me and P. Volitan are both thinking of getting ourselves dwarf lions but the big 6" buggers :) Hope this helps. I'm not trying to put u away from keeping these amazing fishies, just to share my notes about keeping them and hopefully able to help u:) I'm no expert btw, just constantly learning and sharing.

• Replies 435

Sorry bro, pardon my bad typo error:) Here's the correction before i get nasty replies.

"Bear in mind that they grow damn fast. A juvenile coming to u at 1.5" will jump to 5" or more in half a years time depending again on the amout of food given. I'd say the width should at least be 18".

You are not putting me off dude. Good to hear your opinion. Was a bit shock when i read 5' lion. :blink:

Hey thats what I was thinking of... Dwarf Zebra or Antennata since I dont really fancy Fuzzy. Both should grow to around 7". Still can make U-turn instead of 3 point turn. :P But havnt heard of anyone in this forum keeping Antennata yet. Maybe they are rare in S'pore?

Anyway still have alot of time to decide before I buy my first fish. Must be my luck as I dont get to see the other breeds besides volitan and fuzzy.

Hi bro,

antennata is not rare bro, u do get alot not like the radiatta. I recently spotted quite a few from PR Farm. I have one fiery red one that i acquired not too long ago. Very hard to wean but i'm still trying. They do tend to grow to 7" but i guess the growth rate will start to slow down when they reach 5". I feed mine lions once every three days. Intend to switch to once every four days. Btw, i just got stung by one of the volitans this morning. Hurts like hell and arm gets a little numb. Just came back from the clinic:( Its my carelessness and not their fault:) So do be careful.

Hope your arm is better now bro. Better be careful next time. Keeping lions should be a pleasure and not a pain. So how many days MC did you get? :D

Read somewhere soaking in hot water, blowing hair dryer or rubbing "deep heat" on the arm will help to ease the pain.

do we actually need to see a doc when we get stung? .. or the pain will just go away?..

This is what i came across, might wanna keep this handy for peeps who keep lions.

Lionfish Sting... What To Do

If a lionfish or scorpionfish ever stings you, the very first thing to do is immerse the wound site in hot, non-scalding water (110-113°F) for 20 to 30 minutes, or until the pain subsides. According to Michael (1998), applying rapid heat using a hair dryer will also work. The key point is heat; lionfish venom contains many heat labile proteins, and heat will denature these venom proteins, preventing them from spreading in the bloodstream and decreasing the severity of their effects. Do not use boiling hot water; the burn resulting from boiling water will often be worse than the lionfish sting. The most frequent symptoms of a lionfish sting are pain and swelling. However, a few people may have an allergic reaction to lionfish venom and should be cautious if the pain and swelling get worse over a few hours.

OUch!!! :cry:

you alright? :(:shock:

Yeah dude,

i'm pretty fine by now:) Went to see a doc this morning and hope i dun get a fever haaahaaahaaaa. Thanks for sharing the details for treatment after being stung bro:) I should be fine. Its my carelessness:( I still luv them:)

Very nice lions you guys have. Ive been a big fan of lions ever since I was a ######. So far have only seen fuzzy and volitans in LFS.

Anyway gonna setup a 4x1x1.5 tank soon and I was wondering if the tank is big enough to keep them. Afraid that 1 ft width might not be enough for them to make a U-turn in the tank. If cant keep then think i can forget about keeping lions. :cry2:

Is this a customised tank? 4 footers usually come with at least 1.5' width. Even that, we need to take into consideration the LR scaping. Generally 4 ft is good enough for lions.

i just got stung by one of the volitans this morning. Hurts like hell and arm gets a little numb. Just came back from the clinic:( Its my carelessness and not their fault:) So do be careful.

Bro Angry

U got MC from the sting? :P

Did the lion prick you on the finger or the arm? I wonder which part is more prone to being stung...

Bro Volitan,

i kena prick at my last finger lah. After that see doctor kena prick again lah bro. Both also chialat man. Then gotta take anti biotics for the next couple of days lor:( I'm okay now and thats good news:) Hows everything at your end?

I also not so good. For nothing I kena fever last nite (not from lion sting though), so today MC. :sick:

My dwarf is getting more and more adorable liao, very responsive, esp to food. A little worrying about bioload, if I were to get another lion, tats why someone (you know who) advised me to sell the dwarf...

Bro Volitan,

i kena prick at my last finger lah. After that see doctor kena prick again lah bro. Both also chialat man. Then gotta take anti biotics for the next couple of days lor:( I'm okay now and thats good news:) Hows everything at your end?

Be careful man! :o

first aid on wat to do if pricked/stung by lionfish:

http://web.bryant.edu/~langlois/coastal/lionfish.htm

http://www.beachfamilydoctors.net/firstaid/marine.html

I will kindly take the dwarf if you are selling since its weaned:) heeheeeheee

Noted. :D

I really cannot bear to part with him leh. It has become very responsive. Behaving more like a luohan rather than a lion. How strange...

But if he continue to snatch the angler's food, I may really consider giving him up. Will give you priority if it happens. But don't be too hopeful. :P

Bro volitan, is it a zebra dwarf? I do not mind swopping my fiery red antenatta for it. Reason being its too passive and will not compete for food. My two other volitans always beat him to it so here i go again, target feeding him on a regular basis like i did to your angler. Damn siong man!

Nope, mine's a fuzzy dwarf. I already need to target feed an angler, and you still want me to adopt another target feeder? Wahlao, like that I need to spend my whole lunch time feeding these two. :evil:

How about dropping some food @ 1 corner to divert your volitan's attention, then feed your antenna?

BTW, went to PR earlier. Saw an antenna too, about 3".

Nope, mine's a fuzzy dwarf. I already need to target feed an angler, and you still want me to adopt another target feeder? Wahlao, like that I need to spend my whole lunch time feeding these two. :evil:

How about dropping some food @ 1 corner to divert your volitan's attention, then feed your antenna?

BTW, went to PR earlier. Saw an antenna too, about 3".

Haaahaaahaaaaaa. Maybe i should really isolate the antennatta in another tank first and wean him solitarily. Bro, my other two big volitans are too fast for anything! Trust me. They are worse than luohans! But they are evil and thats good!