SRC Member hanafi_weeseng Posted June 9, 2013 SRC Member Share Posted June 9, 2013 Can I check what's the different between pure distilled drinking water and pure drinking water. Which one is better to use in the long run.Currently using life brand (pure distilled water).Last night went to ntuc and happen to pick up fair price brand (pure drinking water). Thanks Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hiromilizard Posted June 9, 2013 Share Posted June 9, 2013 I noticed most drinking water states on the label RO filteration Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Patrick Posted June 9, 2013 SRC Member Share Posted June 9, 2013 I use cold storage distilled water two bottles for 95 cents. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member jxlex Posted June 9, 2013 SRC Member Share Posted June 9, 2013 Correct me if im wrong but from what i gathered, <br /><br />Drinking water = water good enough for drinking BUT continues to contain dissolved solids, minerals etc<br /><br />Distilled water = water than is produced through distillation and is suppose to contain nothing or close to nothing in the water<br /><br />Spring/mineral water = water collected from spring or mineral infused water. Continues to contain minerals but the former thens to be softer (more alkaline, higher ph)<br /><br />RO/DI - reverse osmosis/deIonised water... Again a process thing but suppose to show up with 0 tds and it is the water of choice.<br /><br />If using for ur tank, first option ro/di followed by distilled.<br /><br /> Quote :: just a noob :: Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member hanafi_weeseng Posted June 9, 2013 Author SRC Member Share Posted June 9, 2013 Correct me if im wrong but from what i gathered, <br /><br />Drinking water = water good enough for drinking BUT continues to contain dissolved solids, minerals etc<br /><br />Distilled water = water than is produced through distillation and is suppose to contain nothing or close to nothing in the water<br /><br />Spring/mineral water = water collected from spring or mineral infused water. Continues to contain minerals but the former thens to be softer (more alkaline, higher ph)<br /><br />RO/DI - reverse osmosis/deIonised water... Again a process thing but suppose to show up with 0 tds and it is the water of choice.<br /><br />If using for ur tank, first option ro/di followed by distilled.<br /><br /> Thank bro, i guess just stick with life brand then Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
kraken Posted June 10, 2013 Share Posted June 10, 2013 distilled are free or has minimum dissolved solids/minerals in them, while drinking water has minerals added for drinking. use only distilled water which states nothing added in the label. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
yourdi3 Posted June 17, 2013 Share Posted June 17, 2013 Me too also buying 1 carton by 1 carton of "LIFE" distilled water. so far so good with mixing of D&D salt Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
kraken Posted June 18, 2013 Share Posted June 18, 2013 Me too also buying 1 carton by 1 carton of "LIFE" distilled water. so far so good with mixing of D&D salt how much water do you change each time, it is more economical in the long run with RO/DI water done at home. Plus you can save the environment by using less plastic bottles from the distilled water you bought. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member angmoh Posted June 18, 2013 SRC Member Share Posted June 18, 2013 i'm thinking where can i get a large quantity of RO water for my new tank at a reasonable price ? I need bout 200litres.. if based on what NTUC is selling, i need to spend S$60 for water. that's expensive for water.. Quote >> Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kakani Posted June 18, 2013 Share Posted June 18, 2013 i'm thinking where can i get a large quantity of RO water for my new tank at a reasonable price ? I need bout 200litres.. if based on what NTUC is selling, i need to spend S$60 for water. that's expensive for water.. It about that price. Iwarna sell DI water for 500 litres - 800 litres about $100 - $120. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
patricklhc Posted June 18, 2013 Share Posted June 18, 2013 i'm thinking where can i get a large quantity of RO water for my new tank at a reasonable price ? I need bout 200litres.. if based on what NTUC is selling, i need to spend S$60 for water. that's expensive for water.. Madpetz sells ro/Di water but I'm not sure how much they are charging. If I did not remember wrongly they don't deliver ro/di water Sent from my LG-E975 using Tapatalk 2 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
kraken Posted June 18, 2013 Share Posted June 18, 2013 i'm thinking where can i get a large quantity of RO water for my new tank at a reasonable price ? I need bout 200litres.. if based on what NTUC is selling, i need to spend S$60 for water. that's expensive for water.. Why dun u invest in a RO/DI unit? If u conduct wc 10% (in your case 20L) each time, it's better to make your own water. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member angmoh Posted June 18, 2013 SRC Member Share Posted June 18, 2013 kraken, I do not have the facility to store/keep the RO/DI water...understand RO/DI water need to be stored in an fully enclosed environment to avoid any direct contact with air. I'm actually thinking to use tap water treated with rowa. Quote >> Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
kraken Posted June 19, 2013 Share Posted June 19, 2013 Angmoh, do you have space for one 60L black tub measuring about <40cm in diameter? space taken is not all that big really, you can mount the RO/DI unit also. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Evolutionz Posted June 19, 2013 SRC Member Share Posted June 19, 2013 get a simple 3 stage DI filter. i use crystal pro 3 stage filled with 1 carbon block and 2 resin block. connect it to my kitchen dishwashing area everytime i want to use and i get 0 TDS. Quote EvolutionZ's Floating Reef: (Decommed) EvolutionZ's 4ft shallow Mixed Reef Build : Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ramonc Posted July 18, 2013 Share Posted July 18, 2013 can i use my alkaline water from my hexagonal alkali? it gives a higher ph....Is it safe for salt mixing for water changes? tnx..... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member youdontnowm Posted July 18, 2013 SRC Member Share Posted July 18, 2013 can i use my alkaline water from my hexagonal alkali? it gives a higher ph....Is it safe for salt mixing for water changes? tnx..... Hexagonal alkali from cosway ? Haha i also have 1 , not good for tank but good for us. Contain alot mineral leh, they got 1 cartridge purposely to add mineral in the water. Unless you dont mind algae lo hahaha Used tds pen, measured 80~90 Quote | Display : 48x30x22 Skimmer : SK-201 skimz | Sump : 30x24x18 Wavemaker : 2x RW-15 , 1x RW-8 | Cooling : 1HP titanium drop in coil ATO : JBJ | Lighting : ATI Sunpower 8x54w + 48x cree xte royal blue Return : Jebao dc-6000 | Dosing : Jebao dosing pump [ CaCl2 + NaHCO3 ] Pump : | Reactor : FSZ Z160 zeolite reactor & phosban 150 | System : ZEOVIT decomm-ed : Ydkm SPS reef >><< Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ramonc Posted July 24, 2013 Share Posted July 24, 2013 Hi.. What is d minimum TDS reading for water that can be use before salt mixing.. Tnx guys... I'm Just a newbie... 48 liters tank Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Endorrachua Posted July 24, 2013 Share Posted July 24, 2013 if possible go as low as possible. i ever use di with 0.04,that is when resin end of life. otherwise will be 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
sheristopher Posted July 25, 2013 Share Posted July 25, 2013 Ideally 0 but slightly above still managable. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member mafacifa Posted July 25, 2013 SRC Member Share Posted July 25, 2013 TDS level. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
reefer6 Posted December 17, 2013 Share Posted December 17, 2013 RO unit makes sense if you change large quantity and frequently. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...