Jameshong Posted May 18, 2013 Share Posted May 18, 2013 After the successful of DIYed the acrylic sump, now my hands get itchy again...looking into feasible of DIYing an Acrylic Nano Drop-Off tank(ANDOT) with or without sump(IOS). I am in the midst of planning some new design layout and had submitted the proposal to my CEO liao and basically approved in principal la..lol! I am so excited to lay my hands down....LOL!!! But hor I may or may not go ahead due to the Complexity of building this type of tank but even if I do...it may or may not be successful leh....sigh! If this gets successful, I will be more confident to think big and build another new 3-4ft Drop-Off Tank for my new house when ready in 2015/6. So this is so called a trial nano version or sample set to show my CEO the beauty of it with nano corals and fishes (various of pipe fishes) ...hahaha..! Will update more if my project starts....else will die off from here sigh. Btw, all comments, suggestion and advice will be welcome.. 1 Quote Knowing is not enough; we must apply. Willing is not enough; we must do. - Goethe Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jameshong Posted May 19, 2013 Author Share Posted May 19, 2013 Here is the uncomfirmed hand stretch layout without sump. Quote Knowing is not enough; we must apply. Willing is not enough; we must do. - Goethe Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Terryz_ Posted May 19, 2013 Share Posted May 19, 2013 A small one can be done becos the pressure exerted on the joint is lesser than what a bigger volume tank would have on the single point.. The way you bond the joint also plays a part in the strength and durability of the L joint... But acrylic is more flexible so it might be feasible.. What thickness are you using, From what I remember, my 4x3x3 with a 1.5 drop off requires a minimum 25mm thickness.. Quote Member of: Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jameshong Posted May 20, 2013 Author Share Posted May 20, 2013 A small one can be done becos the pressure exerted on the joint is lesser than what a bigger volume tank would have on the single point.. The way you bond the joint also plays a part in the strength and durability of the L joint... But acrylic is more flexible so it might be feasible.. What thickness are you using, From what I remember, my 4x3x3 with a 1.5 drop off requires a minimum 25mm thickness.. Either 8 or 10mm thickness since it's just a nano tank nia.. ! Quote Knowing is not enough; we must apply. Willing is not enough; we must do. - Goethe Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jameshong Posted May 31, 2013 Author Share Posted May 31, 2013 Just recieved the quotation from DAMA...less than 130 nia so will go ahead to diy soon . Any progress will be updated here...Stay tune.. ! Quote Knowing is not enough; we must apply. Willing is not enough; we must do. - Goethe Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member erikokelf Posted May 31, 2013 SRC Member Share Posted May 31, 2013 Good luck. Will be camping here for more updates. 1 Quote 2x2x1.5 ====== Maxspect Gyre Maxspect Razer 120w 16k H2O FR with Rowa Eheim Universal 2400 BM Nac 5.5 JBJ Arctica 1/10Hp Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member mafacifa Posted May 31, 2013 SRC Member Share Posted May 31, 2013 wow a new project. very looking forward to this. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member mafacifa Posted June 6, 2013 SRC Member Share Posted June 6, 2013 hi, are you using normal acrylic from dama or plexiglas? saw at aquarama those schuran tanks using plexiglas, looked really awesome. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jameshong Posted June 6, 2013 Author Share Posted June 6, 2013 hi, are you using normal acrylic from dama or plexiglas? saw at aquarama those schuran tanks using plexiglas, looked really awesome. Hi bro, Majority of my purchases from Dama was commerical cast acrylic sheets. If I am not wrong, the cast acrylic is also commonly refered to by most in the market as Perspex or Plexiglas leh . Quote Knowing is not enough; we must apply. Willing is not enough; we must do. - Goethe Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member mafacifa Posted June 6, 2013 SRC Member Share Posted June 6, 2013 thanks james. itching to diy too. now planning as well and trying to make time. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jameshong Posted June 7, 2013 Author Share Posted June 7, 2013 Just collected my pre-cut acrylic sheets from DAMA this afternoon...so project will start soon ! 1 Quote Knowing is not enough; we must apply. Willing is not enough; we must do. - Goethe Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jameshong Posted June 8, 2013 Author Share Posted June 8, 2013 Here are the cast acrylic sheets from DAMA. I foresee there will have some leakage near the L joint due to the L shape wall so Acrifix 192 will be stand by to close the leakage. If anyone have spare or used Weld-on #16, #3 or #4 and wish to let go after your project, please let me know too. Quote Knowing is not enough; we must apply. Willing is not enough; we must do. - Goethe Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jameshong Posted June 8, 2013 Author Share Posted June 8, 2013 Media Filter Basket This is use to slot into the 1st compartment (inlet) of IOS so that maintenance will be simple and easy. Quote Knowing is not enough; we must apply. Willing is not enough; we must do. - Goethe Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jameshong Posted June 10, 2013 Author Share Posted June 10, 2013 After sand and polish the edges of all the acrylic sheet, here is the mock up.... Quote Knowing is not enough; we must apply. Willing is not enough; we must do. - Goethe Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member mafacifa Posted June 23, 2013 SRC Member Share Posted June 23, 2013 how the project going bro? looking forward for more pics. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jameshong Posted June 23, 2013 Author Share Posted June 23, 2013 how the project going bro? looking forward for more pics. Tank almost done. Left the IOS portion. Unfortunately dripped a little acrylic glue onto one of the surface of the tank wall so currently looking for stain remover to polish it . Quote Knowing is not enough; we must apply. Willing is not enough; we must do. - Goethe Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jameshong Posted June 23, 2013 Author Share Posted June 23, 2013 Here come the pictures... Quote Knowing is not enough; we must apply. Willing is not enough; we must do. - Goethe Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member mafacifa Posted June 23, 2013 SRC Member Share Posted June 23, 2013 thanks for the update! looks rather big. will it be placed on a custom cabinet? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jameshong Posted June 23, 2013 Author Share Posted June 23, 2013 Shorten the Single Nozzle Loc Line. 1 Quote Knowing is not enough; we must apply. Willing is not enough; we must do. - Goethe Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jameshong Posted July 10, 2013 Author Share Posted July 10, 2013 Going to complete soon. Here is the latest photo taken this morning... Quote Knowing is not enough; we must apply. Willing is not enough; we must do. - Goethe Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gouldian Posted July 10, 2013 Share Posted July 10, 2013 Awesome! Quote "Reefs, like forests, will only be protected in long term if they are appreciated" Dr. J.E.N. Veron Australian Institute of Marine Science -----------------------------------------------------------------------Member of:UEN: T08SS0098FPlease visit us here: http://www.facebook....uaristSocietySG Facebook Group: http://www.facebook....gid=34281892381 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member tropic Posted July 10, 2013 SRC Member Share Posted July 10, 2013 Shorten the Single Nozzle Loc Line. I have a similar locline. How u manage to fix onto the elbow? Does it screw fit nicely? Sent from my Android using Tapatalk2 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jameshong Posted July 10, 2013 Author Share Posted July 10, 2013 I have a similar locline. How u manage to fix onto the elbow? Does it screw fit nicely? Sent from my Android using Tapatalk2 Yes. nice fix when screwed in. Quote Knowing is not enough; we must apply. Willing is not enough; we must do. - Goethe Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jameshong Posted July 10, 2013 Author Share Posted July 10, 2013 Awesome! Thanks. Quote Knowing is not enough; we must apply. Willing is not enough; we must do. - Goethe Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member mafacifa Posted July 10, 2013 SRC Member Share Posted July 10, 2013 great job there. looking forward to the next update! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...