SRC Member angmoh Posted May 13, 2013 SRC Member Share Posted May 13, 2013 Can anyone share your experience of placing a 1/5hp Artica chiller in the living room? Can you feel the heat? Quote >> Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Evolutionz Posted May 13, 2013 SRC Member Share Posted May 13, 2013 i have a teco 1/4 hp in my living room. Recent singapore weather have been really really hot.. chiller kicks in more often than cool days too. honestly the heat puts out by the chiller cannot compare to the humidity of our weather.. i would say before having a chiller and after, i still feel as hot as ever. It also depends on where u place the chiller.. mine is pretty near my main door (4 -5m away) and my main door is usually open to ensure good ventilation.. Quote EvolutionZ's Floating Reef: (Decommed) EvolutionZ's 4ft shallow Mixed Reef Build : Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member angmoh Posted May 13, 2013 Author SRC Member Share Posted May 13, 2013 Thanks Evo for your comment. I'm planning to place it near the balcony window. I hope it will help to dissipate the heat. Quote >> Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member chriskessha Posted May 14, 2013 SRC Member Share Posted May 14, 2013 Bro, by placing near balcony window it will dissipate heat, but dont forget the heat the is gonna be given out by the sun. Is there direct sunlight hitting on the window? I may be right and maybe wrong. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
idle69 Posted May 14, 2013 Share Posted May 14, 2013 U all heng ah...chiller only...i have 2 tahan de chiller's heat in de living room..my dryer's heat from kitchen...plus my front door is always closed...my balcony used 2 have wind blowing in...but goverment decided 2 built flats in de open field opp my block thus blocking de wind...but my 3 fur-kids which r full of fur r not complaining...ya, i can tahan de heat.. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member angmoh Posted May 14, 2013 Author SRC Member Share Posted May 14, 2013 hehe... so jialat ar idle69... anyway since my chiller is in a cabinet i will be getting a KDK exhaust fan to draw in the air... the exhaust will be facing the openings to be dissipated. Quote >> Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member chriskessha Posted May 15, 2013 SRC Member Share Posted May 15, 2013 Idel69, i do feel u bro... But mine not soo jialat... My wife & maid keep the door close everytime ( i think scared kena kidnapped).. Now because of the heat, my wife wants me 2 add aircon in the living room.. Siow.. i using system 3 already, add 1 more need 2 buy system 4.... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
idle69 Posted May 15, 2013 Share Posted May 15, 2013 Y not use ceiling fan in de living room? Even thought i have an air con unit in de living room, i seldom switch it on...unless theres mahjong session or events like CNY..using an exhaust fan is good, only if u r drawing de heat away from a room n out of ur hse..like wat i did in my master bedroom 2 draw out moisture in de toilet as i have a walk in wardrobe juz outside.. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
oqs Posted May 16, 2013 Share Posted May 16, 2013 I'm running a 1/4 hp chiller in my living room. Don't really feel the heat when I sit at the sofa because the ventilation over there is quite okay. Think the overall ventilation of the room is important in order to effectively dissipate the heat. Yeah, my ceiling fan helps too. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
idle69 Posted May 16, 2013 Share Posted May 16, 2013 Or is it de chiller kicks in frequently so generates lots of heat? Also these few days de weather jialat ah...maybe global warming at its peak areadi...so very soon de ocean will experience a rise in temp...de fishes will get used to it dan no requirement 4 chiller liao!!! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member KELVINx3 Posted May 17, 2013 SRC Member Share Posted May 17, 2013 i've a hailea .5 horse in my living room. kicks in often as im using MH and heat generated is acceptable. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...