Blue Squamosa

nicreef

Intro:

Having problems with my SPS probably due to alk. Cal n mg is stable but alk reading is as follows:

20/04: 7.8

21/04: 7.6

22/04: 8.3

am using redsea so decided to go irwana get salifert test kit. When i was there, i saw the blue squamosa posted here:

tempted to get it...actually already got it (well i also received and sms from ML that they have them too and already reserved 1 from henry arriving tml or day after - somehow trust him more thou probably both source are the same).

Question 1: worried about water parameters. From the threads i read i only know cal is important for clams but beside that would my alk affect my soon to come clam?????

tank info: my LPS and Zoas are doing well...only problem i am having is SPS (still cant be 100% sure it is just the alk)....

other para:

no2, no3, po4, ammonia: 0

ph: 8.3

sal: 1.024~1.025

Lighting: aqua illumination colour set at 58% white, red and green, 100% royal blue, blue and deep blue for a 14kk look (dunno what the hell this means but is just info provided by reef depot would be great if someone can enlighten me...might be why my sps is suffering).

tank size 2x1x1

equipment: bm curve 7, po4 and biopellet.

Question 2: placement of clam: so far my understanding is place them mid tank than slowly shift down. should i place it on rock or life sand at the end? read that water flow should be low to moderate? can i use bsi gel so that it wont fall off?

Question 3: food? i am feeding birghtwell zooplanktons -M, Reef nutrition: oyster feast, actipods and phytofeast, phycopure and henry reef gourmet + henry frozen food. any particular other ho liao i should add for my clam?

pardon the many question.... :)

Keep your KH between 7 to 7.9 since your system is ULNS. Ca keep slighty on the higher side as a precaution, 430- 450ppm would be fine. Monitor KH & Ca closely & regularly after adding in the clam. U might want to consider increasing your white light very slowly since u are keeping SPS & clam soon. Keep a photo period of minimum 7hrs. Feed coral food as frequently as much possible, maybe every alternate days as your tank no nutrient at all but keep track of your NO3. Don't crash the tank with too much feeding. In nature, clams are found attached to the rock but placement on sand bed is ok so long that there is enough light reaching there, your current white might not be enough for placement at bottom. I don't like to use bsi gel or any expoy to fix it in one place. If u want, make sure u glue at the correct place so that it can still open up. After i dose lugol's, my clam open up more. Before, it was not so good. But lugol dosing must be with care. Don't recommend if your clam is doing well. I place my clam at mid level. Don't know the light requirement for this clam but some needs more. Clams, IMO, not that easy to keep. A few died at my hands for no reason till recently, this one is doing very well. Good luck. Btw, how high is your tank? What is the distance of your lightset to the tank?

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk 2

Keep your KH between 7 to 7.9 since your system is ULNS.

ehh what is a ULNS?

Feed coral food as frequently as much possible, maybe every alternate days as your tank no nutrient at all.

Sorry for another noob question...but how to know if no nutrient?

but keep track of your NO3. Don't crash the tank with too much feeding. In nature, clams are found attached to the rock but placement on sand bed is ok so long that there is enough light reaching there, your current white might not be enough for placement at bottom.

ok will do i got a nice large rock to place him...btw is it ok to place them near zaos and anemone?

I don't like to use bsi gel or any expoy to fix it in one place. If u want, make sure u glue at the correct place so that it can still open up. After i dose lugol's, my clam open up more. Before, it was not so good. But lugol dosing must be with care. Don't recommend if your clam is doing well. I place my clam at mid level. Don't know the light requirement for this clam but some needs more. Clams, IMO, not that easy to keep. A few died at my hands for no reason till recently, this one is doing very well. Good luck.

ok probably wont use if i place on that rock coz it is large enough....i really hope mine survive...20 red notes for 1 is not cheap!

Btw, how high is your tank? What is the distance of your lightset to the tank?

1.2 feet high to be exact. Light is 20cm away but can be lowered easily. also can ramp up white. currently at 7hrs fully on + 6hr (3 hr morning and evening) of ramp time.

ULNS is ultra low nutrient system as your no3 & po4 as u mentioned is zero. No nutrient ocurs in ULNS where there is not enough nutrient/ dissolved organics in the water for corals to feed from. Your light should be ok since only 1 feet plus, maybe no need to increase too much on white. Increase bit by bit every 2 weeks on the light and observe if there is any improvement. Reduce back if the corals show stress like zoas closed up and won't open for days.

Also, place your clam surround by rocks temporary till it secures itself. Normally a few days if it likes the position. Placement of clam is a technique to learn too as they sometimes can be fussy. U might need to relocate them if they dun want to settle down. I got so fustrated one time that i juz leave it on the sand bed, which it did not survive due to not enough light from my previous previous lightset. Good luck. This clam is a heavy investment. Don't place it near anemones, they will 'attack' the clam. Give it enough space to grow.

And remember, don't pull out the clam after it has settle down. It could get killed due to injury. Clams choose their fav. position, not we choose for them.

Also, place your clam surround by rocks temporary till it secures itself. Normally a few days if it likes the position. Placement of clam is a technique to learn too as they sometimes can be fussy. U might need to relocate them if they dun want to settle down. I got so fustrated one time that i juz leave it on the sand bed, which it did not survive due to not enough light from my previous previous lightset. Good luck. This clam is a heavy investment. Don't place it near anemones, they will 'attack' the clam. Give it enough space to grow.

How to see if they have settled down?

Darn the rock i was thinking of is out of question liao 2 anemone there. probably take a fts when i go down to ML and seek henry advice on placement.

And remember, don't pull out the clam after it has settle down. It could get killed due to injury. Clams choose their fav. position, not we choose for them.

roger that.

Becareful of the backside for the clam. alway cover his backside some fish will nip the backside and the clam will up heaven.

going to ask henry show me the backside i need to protect when i get the clam :) cover it swee swee pom pi pi (else i kill the fish that ji siao it :chair: )

An article that can provide more info:

http://animal-world.com/Aquarium-Coral-Reefs/Squamosa-Clams

Thanks reading now :)

Try using less biopellets or stopping it altogether. Most problems I have seen in common with new tanks is the use of biopellets. With mature tanks usually not much issue.

i am lost on this...thought to maintain sps need to have 0 no3? (good for fishes too). at least that is the idea i had on no3....which is why i bought the biopellet reactor...

yet the idea i am getting now is need to have some no3 traces in water...

:wacko:

How to judge whether they have settled down is they will stopped jumping around & secures themselves firmly to the surface they are being placed at, also meaning they have found a suitable position.

ok thanks...kinda of excited to recieve henry sms today to go collect hehe hopefully is today...

also glad to read from http://animal-world.com/Aquarium-Coral-Reefs/Squamosa-Clams that squamosa are one of the more hardy, less light intensive clam....only worry is alk..

just got my clam today. delayed it a few days due to schedule and also to moniter alk.

would this placement be ok?

worried about the fact it is near anemone and also wavemaker but the rock seems to be the best with its concave hole holding the clam securely.

post-19782-0-46085900-1367231685_thumb.j

• 7 months later...