• AQUA C EV
    • TUNZE
    • AQUA MEDIC
    • EURO REEF

• Replies 58

[if money is no object, and you can spend as much as you want on a skimmer without making your house look like a giant protein skimmer]

go for the deltec with 6 eheim needlewheel pumps....

...i think cost about EUR3,699.00 ......means about SGD7,584.30

using 1 EUR = 2.05036 SGD

since money is no object to you ;)

For Aquariums up to:

Heavy Stocking 8000 Ltrs (1778 gals)

Normal Stocking 12000 Ltrs (2667 gals)

Water Throughput:

3500 Ltr./ h (778 gall/h)

Dimensions:

L: 680mm W: 680mm H: 1100mm

so powerful until can maybe skim out the salt in saltwater to become freshwater :lol: just kidding :lol:

post-7-1080263267.jpg

[if money is no object, and you can spend as much as you want on a skimmer without making your house look like a giant protein skimmer]

For Aquariums up to:

Water Throughput:

Dimensions:

so powerful until can maybe skim out the salt in saltwater to become freshwater :lol: just kidding :lol:

No lah...I'm not saying money is no object for me. I'm just curious what is the best of the best in the market and how pricey will it be. Holy smoke....$7,500 for a protein skimmer.....I think my whole system also doesn't cost that much..... have to give it a miss.

May be AT or Roidan can buy and we can go visit your place and "leow nwah" (drip saliva). hehehehe

coz i read "money no object" mah...hehehe

i'll buy this skimmer when i have a 12ft next time man....

i guess this deltec skimmer is one of the best of the best liao...wait a minute...i kinda remember there is still one higher model than this :blink:..i dun think we need to know lah...really out of our reach to pay this kinda price for a skimmer

From a neutral standpoint, asking for opinions of 'the best' of any particular item is bound to generate way too many opinions. Even by branding, there are often times when a reputable brand comes out with something really crap or not good value.

Over time, opinions and general ideas may also change (eg: At one time, skimmers were not even considered an essential piece of equiptment to some aquarists). Advancement in technology also will affect percieved values.

Probably best way is to set a budget and minimum capacity required and then shop around.

From a neutral standpoint, asking for opinions of 'the best' of any particular item is bound to generate way too many opinions. Even by branding, there are often times when a reputable brand comes out with something really crap or not good value.

Over time, opinions and general ideas may also change (eg: At one time, skimmers were not even considered an essential piece of equiptment to some aquarists). Advancement in technology also will affect percieved values.

Probably best way is to set a budget and minimum capacity required and then shop around.

That's true. At one time, bioball in a wet/dry system is considered a must to remove nitrate. Look where bioballs are now?

BTW, until today, I'm still not sure if bioball in a dry formation really removed nitrate.

Cheers,

Patrick

For Aquariums up to:

Water Throughput:

Dimensions:

Hm... i think you can probably DIY that with those 5gal water dispenser jar... hehe...

they are not the best...for definitely up there amongst the best

Will too good a skimmer remove away the trace elements in the water as well thus the need to top up every now and then........any opinion?

• 1 year later...

take plastic straw... blow into one of the sump compartments... while taking a plastic cup trying to catch all the foam....

thats the best skimmer!!!!!!! :yeah::yeah::yeah:

seriously...... any continental needlewheel works for me!!!!

cheaper and comparable results to beckett when seasoned....

i'm attracted to your avatar more than ur statement.. nevertheless, it is still pretty funny... now, back to ur avatar.. nice "barnacles"... :P

i'm attracted to your avatar more than ur statement.. nevertheless, it is still pretty funny... now, back to ur avatar.. nice "barnacles"...  :P

:lol: Well it's a new model called 'Skimmer BUNS'...but not for the faint-hearted ! ;)